We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable rooms, pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had a poor experience with Westin in Mumbai once, and an average one in Thailand so my expectations of the Westin Convention Center were not very high. However, the hotel proved to be much better than my expectations - it appears that the rooms have been re-furnished in the last few months. Large TV, comfortable and good beddings, and good shower.

The hotel location is also convenient for those who have work in the city.

Overall, I would recommend those coming to Pittsburgh can consider staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santosh654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center. We are very energized to hear that we exceeded your expectations and were able to bring a good name back to the Westin brand. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 794 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our experience here was awful. We had a question for the manager, the front desk was rude and ignorant. I have never experienced such rudeness. The restaurant had terrible service and no one was even in the place. The elevator service was another experience. It took 20 minutes to get an elevator every time we had to leave. We used the steps most of the time. Also, couldn't sleep cause the heating unit in the building banged all night.
The Hampton Inn is 2 blocks away, I've stayed there last year and will go there next year. They were much nicer, free breakfast and coffee offered all day.
This Westin Inn was purely a joke for the money!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott4433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we take your concerns very seriously. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and what you mentioned is certainly not up to our standards. Our management team has been made aware of the issues you encountered. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to restore our brand and quality of service to you. Thank you.

Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel rooms are showing their age. Small TV, running toilet, inoperable heat, stained finishes. Unremakable stay. Fish Market was nice with good sushi. However, bar is also dated with brass finishes, etc. This could be a great hotel if a lot of money is spent making it current.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to tell you that our hotel will be undergoing some changes in the next year to really rejuvenuate and restore our property. We hope that you come back and visit us again and let us know what you think of the upgrades! Thank you.

Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was at the Westin for a conference, and didn't get to spend much time in the hotel. However, the bed in my room (631) is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I am picky about beds, and nothing has beat out the bed I have at home. Until I stayed at the Westin. Now, I'm trying to convince my husband to buy us one for our own bedroom!

Overall, the room was beautiful—modern, updated, and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! Our staff is elevated to hear we have exceeded your expectations and have taken notice to our enhancements. We hope that our property has changed your stance of Westin brand hotels and we look forward to your next visit to Pittsburgh! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just finished staying at this hotel after 5 months of weekly visits. Overall, this is a marginal Westin property, that unfortunately seems to be like too many other Starwood properties these days... aging and lacking consistency. For downtown Pittsburgh, this is a decent choice, but there are better properties out there (I recently moved to one of them!).

The Good:
-Check in and room service staff are very friendly
-Gym is one of the best equipped hotel gyms I have ever seen* (I star this because it is also allows locals to have a membership which causes severe crowding at times - see the bad!)
-Location for downtown is pretty good
-Heavenly bed, comfortable, though aging

The Bad:
-Rooms can vary immensely in quality. Half of them have this weird BO smell to them (left side of building as you get off elevator). Rooms closest to elevator are very loud.
-Service can be inconsistent at times. Check in is VERY slow some nights. Have waited over 10 minutes on multiple occasions. Why this hotel hasn't adopted the have the keys premade for guests with status approach is beyond me. It's like they are surprised when 100 guests all show up within an hour on a Monday night around 7-8 pm. Have also had room service forget to bring my food on more than one occasion.
-Bathrooms are beginning to become dated. Showers have no place to rest anything
-Hotel will randomly do service on the floors without telling guests. I finally 'quit' the hotel after the third time being on a floor they decided to paint unannounced mid-week.
-The gym, while well equipped, allows locals as I mentioned. Sure, they have 10 treadmills. Locals will use 8 from 6-7:30 in the morning, leaving two for a massive hotel. Had to wait 20 minutes on more than one occasion. Understand the desire to generate revenue, but as guests we have no other choice - locals do. Think this was bad choice on behalf of the hotel.
-Room service menu is very limited. Some items, such as a pot of coffee can really break the expense account bank unnecessarily
-The hotel is clearly convention focused. If you plan on staying here regularly, make sure to book several weeks in advance. As such, the hotel seems to focus more on convention guests happiness than others. I have received exactly one upgrade in the 5 months I have stayed at this hotel as a platinum 100. Most of the times it has been a low floor dingier room despite my loyalty.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel that smells like BO. Just ask at the front desk - they will know what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin and making it your home for the past few months. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. Our front desk and housekeeping staff will be very happy to hear the positive comments from you. We are very lucky to have such prime location to all of the hot spots in Pittsburgh! We are very sorry for your experiences with the odor in the rooms and the long waits and our management staff has been notifed of your concerns. Our hotel is energized to welcome new enhancements coming this year to our property, so we hope that you give us another chance in the future to restore our brand and loyalty to you. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We picked the Westin because it is close to the Consol. Our room was 1822 it was large and clean. Bed was soft, room had big windows to see around the city. When booking the room I requested extra pillows sure enough they were in the room. I forgot my earplugs cannot sleep without them. It was very late all of the stores were closed, asked at the desk if they had some, YES!!!! The nice girl with the long blonde hair at the desk even asked if noise on our floor was the reason for the earplugs. It was not but thought I that was so nice of her to ask. We ordered dinner at the Original Fish Market in the hotel the food was good. We did not get to stay long to look around much. Many elevators and very large lobby. The gift shop was very nice many snacks to choose from. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back.

Room Tip: 1822 is a great room. It is large with couch, 2 closets, to soft chairs and a desk with chair. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our hotel strives to make every guest experience and stay a personal one, and Elizabeth at the front desk will be very pleased to hear you noticed her passion for truely caring about the guest. We too hope your stay is longer next time so you can experience all that we have to offer. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I highly recommend the Westin Convention Center Hotel in Pittsburgh. This is a wonderful hotel with every conceivable amenity. With ample parking below (extra charge), the rooms are spacious and linens, towels and pillows are first class. We enjoyed the Sunday breakfast buffet in a relaxing atmosphere with superb service. From top to bottom, this is the place to stay in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: Select a room above the 12th floor and request a view of the river. Spectaclular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisingDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! We are inspired to hear such great things from our guests. Our heavenly bed is one of the top reasons why our hotel excels in the industry and we are happy you hear you enjoyed it along with our spacious rooms and amenities! We are energized to hear you enjoyed our Westin Weekend atmosphere, as Starwood hotels designed it to make our guests feel more relaxed and at home. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#38 of 72 in Pittsburgh
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $194 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown energy meets restorative sleep at our Pittsburgh hotel. Immerse yourself in the heart of the Pittsburgh with a rejuvenating stay at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. Explore the downtown area with a stroll through the Strip District, dine in great restaurants, or take in a game in one of America's greatest sports cities. Directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, we are steps away from countless local attractions. Welcome to the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing