We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveler rating
369
297
139
55
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
297
139
55
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrain showerwithin walking distancepenn avenuestrip districtroom servicebed was comfortableself parkingcommon areasnice roomconvenient locationpnc parkvery nice hotelshower headthe shuttle drivercultural districtfree shuttlepirates game
Filter
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 892 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location. Very nice fitness center and pool. Friendly staff. Rooms very nice size and quite. There were some refrigerators available but had to ask for one on first come first serve basis. Food at breakfast Buffett was a little high for the selections available. Great breakfast places a short walk down street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh. We are energized to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and found our staff friendly! We are very lucky to be in such a prime location to all the best restaurants in the city and we hope you come back to enjoy more soon! Thank you.

Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was built as a Vista, which was a more upscale brand than Westin. But Westin adapted to the environment fairly well, even though the whole Westin Green thing does not really go with the decor. The luxury is definitely gone, but the service and overall hotel is adequate.

The restaurant is outsourced I think and it has a big disconnect from the hotel. Our room was nice, on a high floor with a great view, and they upgraded us to a "suite" which at the desk sounded delightful, but upon entry to the room, we found our 'suite' was some sort of Westin Workout room and had a treadmill, elliptical, weights and a yoga mat instead on a living room. We laughed and thought that maybe they were trying to tell us something. The TV is hard to operate and movies are outrageously expensive. I also felt that for a weekend in Pittsburgh ( we were there for a wedding) the rates were very high. Had I known a brand new Fairmont had opened and the rate was the SAME as we were paying for the Westin, I certainly would have been there.

Room Tip: The higher the better; the top floor used to be a Hospitality Suite floor so the rooms are big and quite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneGladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. We are sorry you did not have the experience you were hoping for. We are undergoing some modern upgrades to the hotel in the next coming months and are excited of the new changes to come. We hope that you give us a chance to restore our brand to you in the future. Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Westin during a very warm summer weekend. The Westin was very convenient for our downtown destinations. I found that staff very friendly and cooperative. Considering the heat and our long day events, we appreciated the tlc. Our room was very well equipped and designed for comfort. Also, some very good eateries within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are a member of their frequent stays, they will put you on a "member floor" where you get certain amenities.(bottled water...)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosiLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank for you taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your kind words about our property and glad you found it so comfortable even with the hot weather outside! We hope to welcome you back very soon! Thank you.

Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we recently visited Pittsburgh for a special occasion. I had a hard time deciding between several nice downtown hotels in the same price range. after some research, I chose the Westin on Penn Ave (although technically it faces 10th St). upon arrival, the valets aren't the nicest people, and its $24 to store your vehicle overnight (with in and out privileges). the lobby is open and clean except for some minor construction going on.

the hotel representative, Jason, checked us in. he was extremely nice and professional. when he found out it was our anniversary, he said he would try to get us an upgrade. and did he ever! we were put in the $2000 a night penthouse suite. this room was bigger than most houses. it had a giant bedroom, living room, dining room, bar area and 2 nice bathrooms. it was incredible and by far the nicest room we have ever stayed in. on top of all this, Jason sent us some snacks and a bottle of wine later in the night with a hand written card of "congratulations." I have never had customer service like this before, and he should be commended for his efforts.

the only downsides I can see to this hotel are all the traffic from the attached convention center, and also some road noise that can be heard in the rooms (even on the 26th floor). we were able to hear fire engines and loud trucks throughout our stay. but it was a small price to pay for such a great room.

also, if you want a great meal while you are at the Westin, walk three blocks down Penn to a place called Meat & Potatoes. it is amazing.

our experience at the Pittsburgh Westin was completely unexpected. it will ensure our business during any future visits to Pittsburgh. and we have been recommending it to friends and family since our return. thank you Westin (and Jason)!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Westin for your special occasion! We are so happy that Jason was able to make your stay that much more special with upgrading you and sending an amenity! He is certainly an asset to the Westin team. We hope that you come and stay with us again for your next trip to Pittsburgh! Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend with a large group and were surprised it was such a nice place. Room was clean (most important to me), adequately supplied, nice toiletries, robe on the bed, complimentary bottles of water, in room coffee maker with Starbucks, hair dryer with cosmetic mirror, and free Wi-Fi. Snezhana in housekeeping was especially friendly. The pool goes to 3 ft but is adequate for relaxation. Connecting rooms were very handy for a friend travelling with us needing assistance. We never tried any of the restaurants but catering the one evening was a solid, well cooked meal with catering services very friendly. Walking outside the hotel I felt safe and even the subway was decent. Our group rate was reasonable but expect to pay much more if just spending the night or two. This is a good downtown location. Parking I believe was $20 per night. Yes this is the Midwest and people reflect this with politeness and good manners..our stay at the Pittsburgh Westin just proved this to us. As to the other complainers about rooms with a view and noise.. we never encountered any problems with noise and our room was on the 8th floor with a great view..no complaints here. Would I recommend this property to groups planning a convention? With no hesitation..just make sure you secure a reasonable room rate for your attendees.Our friends who set up our stay here with the group tells us the staff were a breeze to deal with and take security and attention to detail importantly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabbageroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We appreciate all of your feedback and are thrilled you found our rooms to be clean and well stocked with toiletries. We hope to you come back and stay with us next Labor Day or for a weekend getaway! Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews