We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveler rating
371
297
139
55
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
297
139
55
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrain showerwithin walking distancepenn avenuestrip districtroom servicebed was comfortableself parkingcommon areasnice roomconvenient locationpnc parkvery nice hotelshower headthe shuttle drivercultural districtfree shuttlepirates game
Filter
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 894 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just a warning if you book through Priceline or Hotwire you will be treated very poorly. Booked 2 rooms, 1 for a single night and another for 2 nights. Front desk refused to answer any questions about rooms, because we're booked through Priceline. A simple double beds request was answered with you will get what we give you. Wow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for your experience as that is certainly not up to our standards. All of our guests should be treated the same regardless of how your reservation was booked. With third-party reservations we cannot guarantee a specific room type, but if we have a type available we try to make sure you get what you reguest. Our front office manager has been made aware of this comment and we truely apologize that you did not recieve a warm Westin Welcome. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to restore our brand to you. Thank you.

Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel doesn't offer inexpensive meal options. There are 2 restaurants and both are expensive and not really that great. Service is very slow. Breakfast is typically $18, lunch $20, dinner $30. You can walk to other expensive places nearby or a little farther for a couple of inexpensive chains. You can walk a few blocks to shop if the weather is good. The hotel offers a $5 a day saving coupon toward one of the 2 restaurants if you give up room cleaning each day of your stay. I'd say it isn't worth it. No in room fridge or microwave. The hotel serves Starbucks coffee - for me, this is not a plus.

There is a weird air conditioning quirk - you need to use one of your room keys to turn on the air conditioning. This is something not clearly explained at check in. I finally had to call the front desk after hours of tossing and turning to find out how to put the air conditioning on "fan" to cover the hallway noise. All week the room still felt a little stuffy and I noticed a bad odor the first day.

I ate 2 meals at our work conference provided by the hotel and was disappointed. Some of the staff was helpful and some was not at all helpful. There is an expensive gift shop in the hotel. I wouldn't deliberately choose this hotel again. I like Wyndham and Hilton properties much better for service and amenities for the price.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view when you book the room. I have no idea how to avoid noise of neighbors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay with us. We want you to know that we take your feedback very seriously and that our management team has been made aware of your concerns. We do not offer microwaves in the guest rooms due to a fire code policy, but we can provide refrigerators upon request. Our energy savers in the rooms are something that can take a bit of getting used to and we apologize if they were not clearly explained at check-in but do you find them effective for the purpose! We hope that in the future you will give our hotel another chance to provide you with a refreshing getaway that you deserve. Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

2nd time we have gone. Nice lobby. Nice room. Quick checkin. Emloyees seemed happy and caring. Extremely nice bellman and very quick valet car service, less than 5 minutes.

I would have thought that hotel prices would have been somewhat cheaper.

We ate at their Fish restaurant and found it good. Wine prices very affordable.

Would go back.

Room Tip: Get a suite. Did not cost much to upgrade.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWonderfulToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate all of your positive feedback and are happy that you enjoyed our staff and speedy valet service! We hope that you come dine with us in the Original Fish Market and enjoy a nice relaxing stay with us again soon! Thank you.

Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Better than expected. Room was a little small but staff was friendly. With the exception of the manager in the cafe- he was a little snotty. Woud have prefer a room with a better view, but....the location is excellent for convention goers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalivingMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we take them very seriously. It it because of you and your review that our hotel can learn and grow. We are inspired to hear that you enjoyed our Westin staff members. We are sorry for the experience you had in the cafe and our mangement team has been made aware of the issue. We hope that you come and visit us again soon. Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our stay was with the kids to take advantage of a Bucco day game and Carnegie Science Center the following day. We booked this hotel from Hotwire, so I can't imagine what my review would be if we paid the (what appears to be) normal $275 - $300 for this room. The place is rather non-descriptive, clearly accommodating the in/out bustling convention crowd

The Good: Mike at the front desk is the sole reason we are rating a 3 instead of a 2. He was personable, down to earth, and informative. The area surround the property is quite interesting, and I can see where folks might enjoy some of the local eateries/establishments.

The Bad: Boy are we glad we didn't pay full price for this. The bed was comfortable, but the cooling system seemed to be ineffective, as we were sweltering all night long. There was a very old/stale smell to the room. The worst was our initial entry to the room. To be delicate, the toilet was used and not flushed. Yuck!

Room Tip: Save the $20 per day and park at the Amtrak garage a block away.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigstick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center for your trip to the city. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our location in relation to the Science Center and PNC park! We are very sorry for the experience you had and want you to know that your comments have been passed along to our engineering and housekeeping managers. What you experienced is certainly not of our Westin brand standards and we sincerely apologize. We hope that you give another chance and choose Westin for your next visit! Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews