We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

2nd time we have gone. Nice lobby. Nice room. Quick checkin. Emloyees seemed happy and caring. Extremely nice bellman and very quick valet car service, less than 5 minutes.

I would have thought that hotel prices would have been somewhat cheaper.

We ate at their Fish restaurant and found it good. Wine prices very affordable.

Would go back.

Room Tip: Get a suite. Did not cost much to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWonderfulToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate all of your positive feedback and are happy that you enjoyed our staff and speedy valet service! We hope that you come dine with us in the Original Fish Market and enjoy a nice relaxing stay with us again soon! Thank you.

Be Westin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 809 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Better than expected. Room was a little small but staff was friendly. With the exception of the manager in the cafe- he was a little snotty. Woud have prefer a room with a better view, but....the location is excellent for convention goers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalivingMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we take them very seriously. It it because of you and your review that our hotel can learn and grow. We are inspired to hear that you enjoyed our Westin staff members. We are sorry for the experience you had in the cafe and our mangement team has been made aware of the issue. We hope that you come and visit us again soon. Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our stay was with the kids to take advantage of a Bucco day game and Carnegie Science Center the following day. We booked this hotel from Hotwire, so I can't imagine what my review would be if we paid the (what appears to be) normal $275 - $300 for this room. The place is rather non-descriptive, clearly accommodating the in/out bustling convention crowd

The Good: Mike at the front desk is the sole reason we are rating a 3 instead of a 2. He was personable, down to earth, and informative. The area surround the property is quite interesting, and I can see where folks might enjoy some of the local eateries/establishments.

The Bad: Boy are we glad we didn't pay full price for this. The bed was comfortable, but the cooling system seemed to be ineffective, as we were sweltering all night long. There was a very old/stale smell to the room. The worst was our initial entry to the room. To be delicate, the toilet was used and not flushed. Yuck!

Room Tip: Save the $20 per day and park at the Amtrak garage a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigstick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center for your trip to the city. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our location in relation to the Science Center and PNC park! We are very sorry for the experience you had and want you to know that your comments have been passed along to our engineering and housekeeping managers. What you experienced is certainly not of our Westin brand standards and we sincerely apologize. We hope that you give another chance and choose Westin for your next visit! Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were given a nice (but rather oddly shaped) suite upgrade as starwood platinum members, but that was about the only positive thing about our stay.

First, dear hotel: Please please fix the gap between the door and floor. The noise from the hallway was unbearable, especially when this hotel (as many other) has no soft lock mechanism on the doors. This was truly door-slamming-noise on a level I seldom experience.

Further, the rooms are old and worn, and the plumbing in the bathroom loud and very grandma-style.

We called housekeeping to get an extra comforter for the bed. Answer? No, we can only offer you a small blanket. Say what?

Breakfast area was hectic and the buffet very limited. No selections of cereals, looking for some cheerios or all bran, I could in fact not find any cereals at all. We will not return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank for you taking the time to write a review. We want you to know that we take your concerns very seriously and as a Platinum member we certainly value your loyalty to the brand. We have passed your comments to our engineering department along with our management team to make sure we get these issues resolved. As for breakfast, we typically do not set out cereals for our buffet, but that is something we can grab if requested. We hope that you give us another chance to restore our Westin brand to you in the future. Thank you. Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in order to do some touristy things. The downtown location was very convenient. The rooms were large & the beds were very comfortable. The rate was very good as well.

Prior to checking in I called ahead and requested a high floor so that we could have a nice view of the city. I also requested a crib be delivered to the room. When we checked in we were told that there were not high floors available. After a little persistence we were able to get a room on the 17th floor, but there was literally no view except for the building closest to us. It was still a nice room though. When we got into our room the crib was not there. I guessed it would be delivered a little later in the evening. The ice machine on the floor did not work or was empty as well.

We used the shuttle service a few times and it was reliable. The drivers were very nice and did not mind letting us leave the car seat in the van.

We tried numerous times to speak with the concierge who was never there. I later found out that the staff has been downsized and the concierge is also helping to run the shuttles back and forth. At least this is what the front desk staff said when I asked them where the concierge was. We asked for restaurant suggestions from different members of staff but few could offer any suggestions.

My son and husband signed up to run a race during our stay there and the traffic around the hotel was shut down. I tried to get information about the race when we checked in and none of the staff new even the basic information regarding start time etc. this seemed strange since it was literally going on outside the building.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank GlobalGlamCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Westin is a very busy hotel, being near the Convention Center, train and bus stations, plus the strip district. We were attending a function in Oakland, but decided to stay downtown to be close to the other action, like PNC park, where we took in a game. Oakland is about 15 to 20 minutes away, but give yourself more time, since I've always found driving around Pittsburgh to be tricky (and I've been doing it for decades and still get turned around). Our room was on one of the higher floors so the view was perfect -- Pittsburgh has the greatest rivers and bridges. We slept well except for 1 night at about 5 a.m. when we could hear drunken hotel visitors, arguing in the hallway. Someone threatened to call security and the noise died down. I told the management the next morning which was grateful for my input. We parked at a garage about a block away next to the Amtrak station for about $8 per day and ate, twice, at Sharp Edge Bistro on Penn Avenue.

The only hiccup was the free shuttle bus - we waited for over 20 minutes and then were told that it was on its way back - we ended up waiting some more until it finally arrived. Apparently, the van was stuck in traffic, but had we'd known that it would have taken so long, we would have made other transportation plans.

We will stay at this Westin again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Convention Center! We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. The Pittsburgh roads and traffic can certainly be a challenge even if you know the city well! We apologize for the lack of communication you received with our shuttle service, but we hope that you give it another chance! We are so happy you were able to take full advantage of the city views and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future! Thank you.

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean, friendly & reasonable parking prices. This hotel is in walking distance to the strip District (Outdoor markets, souvenir shops & most importantly Primanti Brothers Restaurant) The hotel is also in walking distance to the PNC Park if visiting for a Pirates game.


The most important part of the hotel was the cleanliness of the lobby & my room. The fresh clean scent started at the lobby & followed me to my beautiful room. I want my hotel room as clean, if not cleaner than my home.

Gather your friends or family & stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikea168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy you were able to enjoy the convenient location of our hotel to the cities most popular attractions... especially Primanti Brothers! We take great pride in our hotel and we make it our goal to exceed expectations in regards to cleanliness in guest rooms and and the lobby! Thank you again for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#37 of 72 in Pittsburgh
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $187 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown energy meets restorative sleep at our Pittsburgh hotel. Immerse yourself in the heart of the Pittsburgh with a rejuvenating stay at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. Explore the downtown area with a stroll through the Strip District, dine in great restaurants, or take in a game in one of America's greatest sports cities. Directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, we are steps away from countless local attractions. Welcome to the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing