We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The layout of the hotel is a bit awkward but that isn't really something bad. The hot tub was very hot when we were there so that made it very relaxing. The weight room had a very nice amount of machines and equipment which was very nice. The breakfast was fantastic! I enjoyed all of my food that I had. Thanks for making my stay enjoyable!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    142
    59
    21
    13
See reviews for
217
93
29
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, SC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights.
The only problem was turning off the road to get there, as others have mentioned. There is a concrete divider wall on hwy 19, so, coming from the south, you should exit to the right on Nelson Run road. This will take you back to hwy 19, where you can make a left back on to hwy 19, so you will be approaching from the North. Some GPS's do not realize that the concrete wall is there, so keep that in mind.
Several relatives were staying here.
The rooms were excellent. The breakfast had the works: scrambled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. Often during the stay, freshly baked cookies were available.
The motel is on a major highway, so getting around Pittsburgh was easy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SCTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My family and I took a trip to Pittsburgh and we were looking for a Hampton Inn close but not right in the city and this location was great. The only issue with the location was it was on a divided highway and if you didn't turn into a gas station and come out on a side street at the light you would have to drive past the hotel and go a few miles to be able to turn around and get back to the entrance. The hotel itself was clean and the room was prepared and ready when we got there. The housekeeping did clean one day and when we got back they had adjusted the thermostat to heat which was weird, but other then that no issues with the room. The free breakfast was a solid spread each morning and they did a good job keeping it stocked. One more thing thou that was a bit annoying was the lack of vending machines. They did have like a snack shop but the prices were higher then one would typically find in the vending machines. The hotel served its purpose and if your looking for a clean place right outside with a few minor annoyances then id recommend this place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengalhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. Greeted us like family after a 6 hour car trip. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The location is great although the road getting in can be tricky.

The negatives, in my opinion, the pool is way over chlorinated. Your eyes start burning before getting to the pool while walking through the hallways. Kids were upset when I balked at them swimming in it but realistically that was on me, not the hotel. Others swam in there fine. The other negative was breakfast. The waffles were good but the rest of the stuff not so much. Not sure if it was an off-weekend or not.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonely_Traveler_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Kids and I really enjoyed our stay. Loved the hot tub, pool, and exercise area. The hot, make your own waffles were to die for. We decided to stay in and eat dinner, the hotel desk staff was very helpful in recommending a delivery place, and the menus in the room made it very easy to order.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wow! Once again this hotel treated us like royalty. It has been 3 years since we ( 9 total people) were last here. Before arriving I called to make sure our 3 rooms were by each other. Once we arrived, the front desk greeted us like we were long lost family. Our rooms were ready well before check in time .....which was a big plus. The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained. Our rooms were spotless. The cleaning staff gave us extra towels and other supplies. The breakfast from 6 to 10 was excellent. The grandchildren loved making their own waffles and there was also a great selection of hot/cold items to eat There is ice water, coffee, and hot water, 24/7 in the lobby. Also the daily paper is there. Ask the front desk for their restaurant paper.....which give locations/directions. McKnight Road is a divided highway..so you have to either drive past it and circle around or circle around when you leave. The front desk was very helpful in directing us.

Room Tip: A room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryinSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed their stay at this Hampton Inn location. We would recommend it, not just for it's friendly staff and cleanliness, but for it's location-- as it is easily accessible to downtown Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#39 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Address: 4575 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pittsburgh, PA hotel is five minutes away from downtown, situated right at the entrance to the business district. Stay connected with free WiFi and enjoy free, hot breakfast, as well as free parking. Hold large or small meetings (accommodations for up to 40 people), and workout in our fitness room or indoor swimming pool. Relax with comfortable room options, in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, or upgrade to a suite with a separate living room, sofa bed and soothing whirlpool. Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Mcknight Rd. is less than 10 miles away from: the University of Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol Museum, Benedum Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, P.N.C. Park, Ross Park Mall, North Park Golf Course, and other Pittsburgh attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Mcknight Rd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing