We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but divided highway is a challenge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hampton Inn was updated in the past several years and it is larger than most properties. The lady that worked the breakfast area was super friendly and I liked that they had cereal in boxes to be able to take it back to the room. The pool and workout areas are nice but the challenge to this property is its location on a divided highway. If you want to go north, you have to go south a while and then make a semi-illegal u-turn. If you want to get to the property from the south, you have to pass it and then turn around and come back. This is a minor inconvenience for easy access to the city and free parking. We stayed here several times before and keep coming back for its proximity to the city and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancPAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd., responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your response. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. I know it can be difficult with the divided highway to get to our hotel. The staff would be happy to give directions to get to us while avoiding the turn-around. I hope to see you next time you are in the city!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 579 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel was great, staff was great! Only 1 thing: we went down for breakfast well before it was supposed to end and some of the food was not replenished. That was a bummer. Otherwise we enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenkinsFamily03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd., responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for the feedback and I am glad you had a good stay. I am sorry about the issues you encountered with the breakfast, sometimes it is busy and they try to keep up as best as they can. I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was great except housekeeping forgot to change the linen on one of our beds prior to our arrival. However, when we informed the registration desk, they had someone come to change the linen within 10 minutes. The staff at the registration desk were welcoming, courteous and very helpful. Directions to requested places were accurate and a listing of malls and restaurants and directions on how to get there was a nice touch. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean and the bathroom an adequate size. The hotel is on busy McKnight Road, but the traffic noise wasn't too bad. Breakfast was very good,offering a good variety. The attendent did a good job keeping the breakfast area clean and insured the food was replenished in a timely fashion. Free parking . Less than 15 minutes from downtown Pgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hamptom Inn in Cranberry was booked by the time we decided to make reservations so we decided to try out this one. Like so many Hampton Inns this one was very clean modern and comfortable. The parking and the breakfast were free which is an advantage over most downtown hotels. The breakfast was good and the service was both fast and friendly. The rooms were pretty much identical to the Cranberry location and perhaps the bathrooms a touch bigger. The pool/fitness area was nice but the treadmills needed some work.

The location is a little be difficult to get to as McKnight Rd is a divided highway and you have to travel a half mile to the first light or a mile to the second light to do a u turn. The one at a half mile requires a right turn and then a quick turn around. Restaurants are about a mile down the road and seem nice. This location is 10 to 15 minutes closer to downtown although harder to get to. The prices here are usually lower than Cranberry by $20-$30 per night and easily $100 less than Smallman street which is a wonderful stay downtown right across from the Heinz museum.

All in all I would be happy to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillylax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

That was exactly how a hotel stay should have went.

Quick check in from Mark. Told me about a few local restaurants nearby and handed me a map.

Room was clean.

Breakfast area was well kept and clean.

This is exactly how I expect hotel stays to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortableDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We planned this trip last minute to visit an aunt. The hotel was great in all aspects including its approx 15-20 minutes from downtown . Check in was simple and quick. Rooms very nice and clean. Breakfast had something for everyone nd was nice for my family. Pool was little cold but the hot tub was great. The room service was very accomidating as I brought my sleeping son into room while they were working. They were quiet and efficient to get out of my way nd my son slept right thru it all. We did hve problem with tv when we arrived but help cme up and took care of immediately. Over all I wwould staay here anytime and reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millerbucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently stayed here on a work trip. It was very comfortable and the rooms were clean and NICE! Free breakfast was awesome and it was only a short ride to the city. The front desk staff and the General Manager were very pleasant! I would definitely stay here again.... OH, and this was my first time in Pittsburgh. LOVED the city! I want to come back!

Room Tip: I don't think you will go wrong with any room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready2ridenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#40 of 72 in Pittsburgh
175 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Address: 4575 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $103 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pittsburgh, PA hotel is five minutes away from downtown, situated right at the entrance to the business district. Stay connected with free WiFi and enjoy free, hot breakfast, as well as free parking. Hold large or small meetings (accommodations for up to 40 people), and workout in our fitness room or indoor swimming pool. Relax with comfortable room options, in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, or upgrade to a suite with a separate living room, sofa bed and soothing whirlpool. Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Mcknight Rd. is less than 10 miles away from: the University of Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol Museum, Benedum Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, P.N.C. Park, Ross Park Mall, North Park Golf Course, and other Pittsburgh attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Mcknight Rd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing