We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, very slow Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very nice rooms... good price... very slow Internet speeds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 579 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Room was clean. Had no noise problems on trip. Used fitness room (one treadmill belt is a little worn so had to try another and it was fine). Could not figure out how to get stair stepper on though. TV's in room for watching. Site has indoor pool. Breakfast had typical variety. Used computer in lobby area but it was sooooooo slow. I even cleared all history/cookies and still very slow. Would suggest you bring your own laptop if you are thinking of using wi-fi. If you need to print air tickets or UPS shipping labels just be prepared. Staff was friendly on both shifts I encountered. It is hard to get to hotel if you are coming from one direction.........have to go down along concrete wall median until about Red Lobster which is one of the closest restaurants in area to turn around (guessing 1/2mi down).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpintheairGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hotel staff very friendly, rooms are large and updated. Bathrooms are the old Hampton Inn style with sink in the corner but have been upgraded with slate floors, new cabinets. Flat screen TV, room and bath were clean. AC is run by electronic thermostat which I prefer.
Lobby is large with plenty of room to sit down for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

A lot of good things to say about his hotel. The furniture was new, the bedding was in good shape, everything looked clean... until I looked up in the bathroom. Mildew all over the grid covering the bathroom light over the sink, the vent hadn't been cleaned in some time over the shower.

Breakfast was very good, the front desk staff was courteous.

But as noted below, getting into the hotel from northbound McKnight Road is a nightmare. A divided road with construction going on.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makeham98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I had driven from Williamsport to Pittsburgh for a one night stay. We were going to have dinner at Lydia's. There were no rooms available in the center city Hampton, so we were directed to this one, as it was the closest to where we were going. Upon checking in, we were tired after driving for 2 1/2 hours. We went to the elevator, and one of the male staff was cleaning the button panel. The other elevator was on another floor, and wasn't coming. We were waiting with another staff member who asked about his elevator. He wouldn't release the elevator to us, and said as a joke, "take the steps if you don't want to wait." To me, that's not customer service, it was rude, especially after we were sitting in a car for a few hours. The other staff member looked embarassed. Finally, after about 10 minutes, we were able to get the other elevator and go to our room. The rest of our visit was fine, staff pleasant, but it only takes one bad apple to spoil the whole bunch. As an FYI to others traveling to this hotel, they are doing construction and it's an absolute nightmare to get to the hotel. If you miss the turn at the end of the hill (you have to make a u-turn get to it) you have to go about a mile before you can turn around and come back. There is nothing in the area walkable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceancity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We always like the Hampton Inn, but I don't know if I'd go back to this one. Thankgoodness we had our GPS that routed us around to be able to get into it because the road was under construction (and very busy at rush hour) and you couldn't turn directly into it from one direction. There wasn't anything within walking distance...but the front desk staff gave us a great recommendation for a unique restaurant in town which we enjoyed.

The one thing that really grossed me out though was when we pulled back the covers on the bed there were three long hairs on one side and two short hairs on the other which gave me an indication that the bed hadn't been made fresh (something they advertise as their "claim to fame"). The bed had obviously been slept in but hadn't been changed. Breakfast was good; free parking a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designergirl0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had problems at check in and bed styles that were booked were not available. Road is still under contruction and is a pain in the butt to navaigate around. Staff was very friendly and the rooms are clean. Hot tub was under repair during our stay as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guinness44life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#40 of 72 in Pittsburgh
175 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Address: 4575 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $103 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pittsburgh, PA hotel is five minutes away from downtown, situated right at the entrance to the business district. Stay connected with free WiFi and enjoy free, hot breakfast, as well as free parking. Hold large or small meetings (accommodations for up to 40 people), and workout in our fitness room or indoor swimming pool. Relax with comfortable room options, in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, or upgrade to a suite with a separate living room, sofa bed and soothing whirlpool. Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Mcknight Rd. is less than 10 miles away from: the University of Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol Museum, Benedum Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, P.N.C. Park, Ross Park Mall, North Park Golf Course, and other Pittsburgh attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Mcknight Rd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing