We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Even thought this hotel was a good clean place to stay, I probably will never stay there again. There are no restaurants in walking distance. The wi-fi connection was terrible. The access to the hotel is unbelievable; we had to drive a few miles past the hotel in order to make a u-turn because it's on the opposite side of the road when you exit I-279. It took 4 hours to heat the room because they had it set at 56 degrees. Not a good experience. We would have been better off staying right in Pittsburgh because the prices were comparable.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank nancydefabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We love Hampton Inns, and this one in Pittsburgh on McKnight Road on the North Side is no exception. Convenient location to downtown and the stadiums, with a better price than the hotels directly downtown. As with every Hampton we have stayed in, the staff was friendly and accommodating, the room was lovely and very clean, the bed was super comfy, and the breakfast was substantial. Why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: We lucked into a room by calling the hotel directly, even though most of the websites said they were...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Everything was great! The staff at the front desk was very helpful in telling us places to go to eat and directions on how to get to the places...printed out maps. Past review stated hard to enter.....it was, (due to construction on McKnight Rd) but after you did it once, not a problem. I certainly would not make this why you would not stay there. We had 3 rooms, 6 adults and 4 children. Our rooms were together, which I had asked for. Everyday staff cleaned them. The indoor pool was wonderful, being from Florida our grandchild enjoyed not having to wear sunblock!
The breakfast in the lobby fit everyone's eating habits every morning. There are lots of stores on McKnight Rd to buy anything you might need.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryinSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a pretty typical Hampton Inn - comfortable bed, nice room, clean, and a decent free breakfast. An easy drive down I-279 to the North Shore area (Heinz Field, etc.). But McKnight Rd is weird... if you're coming from I-279, the Hampton is on the left side of a divided highway, with no place to turn around. The hotel's website gives you directions to go thru a Shell station parking lot, and that works. If you miss that, it's hard to find a place to turn around. The list of restaurants provided by the front desk indicates there are a ton of places to eat down the road, but you have to do some creative driving to get heading in that direction. Plus, the road was severely backed up with evening traffic when we were there. So if you are looking for a place where you can easily grab a bite to eat around rush hour, this probably isn't it. But other than that, it's fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

First the good: The staff was friendly and helpful all the time--everyone was courteous and greeted us with a smile. Now for the bad: our room was wet due to condensation from the air conditioning. The floor was wet and slippery, the bedding was clammy, and everything was covered in a dew-like mist. The front desk staff apologized and acknowledged that others have complained. They said they would put down towels for us but never did. Besides being wet, the room was very dark and cave-like. We also found an empty bottle of raspberry vodka stashed under the sink wrapped in a towel--our children found it when they looked for another towel for the wet floor. Another major inconvenience was the location--there is no left turn on McKnight Rd, which means a difficult turn-around at the Shell station to reach the hotel. The hotel was packed, so it must be desirable for some reason, but we didn't enjoy staying in the wet, cave-like room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tccampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pklotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Overall this is a fine hotel. Nothing special, but just decently average. When we arrived it was apparent that some of the sheets had not been changed, but the management was almost overwhelmingly accommodating and offered a very quick room change.

They also give you a handy map of the surrounding area that lists the restaurants and stores at each exit off McKnight.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
Thank studenttraveler1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#38 of 71 in Pittsburgh
175 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.

Address: 4575 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $103 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pittsburgh, PA hotel is five minutes away from downtown, situated right at the entrance to the business district. Stay connected with free WiFi and enjoy free, hot breakfast, as well as free parking. Hold large or small meetings (accommodations for up to 40 people), and workout in our fitness room or indoor swimming pool. Relax with comfortable room options, in-room microwaves and mini-refrigerators, or upgrade to a suite with a separate living room, sofa bed and soothing whirlpool. Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Mcknight Rd. is less than 10 miles away from: the University of Pittsburgh, Andy Warhol Museum, Benedum Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, P.N.C. Park, Ross Park Mall, North Park Golf Course, and other Pittsburgh attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd. Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Mcknight Rd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing