We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great working trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
pa
1 review
“Great working trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

I was hired to photograph a wedding at the Priory. Being from out of the area we arrived a day earlier. The staff was helpfull and the surroundings help make my job easier.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rspphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    178
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
370
58
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

The atmosphere, staff, food, anc accommodations were great. We were so relaxed on our visit, away from the usual noise and turmoil of the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engtchr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

The Priory is a great choice for any one who enjoys absorbing the atmosphere of a city by staying in one of its historic buildings rather than a chain hotel. The architecture, grand staircase, and room furnishings provide a touch of old world charm. The staff is friendly and willing to share their knowledge of the city by recommending restaurants and other highlights. We like the North side location where we can leave our car parked and walk to museums, the ball parks, and downtown. It’s also nice to return at the end of a day and relax with a glass of wine in the parlor or courtyard and to start the day with a leisurely coffee and breakfast in the dining room. We enjoyed our return stay at the Priory and plan to make it our home base each time we visit Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandPHarrisburgPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Loved this hotel. We stayed for two nights during our first exploration of Pittsburgh. It was conveniently located on the north shore within easy walking/driving distance of local sights, downtown, and the south shore. The staff was very helpful in recommending local restaurants and navigating to nearby destinations. Our room was pristine and the lobby rooms and outdoor courtyard were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoconoTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Priory Hotel was everything we could have asked for. The room was charming, the staff extremely helpful and it is conveniently located. All in all, it was an experience to remember.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lodoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harleysville,pa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

we recently decided to take a much needed weekend getaway to pittsburgh to see some museums and enjoy some fine dining. Not wanting to go to a large chain hotel, we opted for a bed & breakfast. The Priory stood out as a good choice, reasonably priced, close to the downtown area museums , restuarants and PNC Park. with free parking. What a surprise. What we found was a restored rectory with large rooms, high ceilings and ambience. The staff was attentive and most helpful in securing us dinner reservations with a VIP status. I must confess, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable weekend with many unexpected pluses

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

The hotel's website does not do justice to reality. This isn't exactly a bad hotel, just weird. Very weird. And I will not be going back.

First, an important note: no elevators. No bellmen. Narrow stairs. If you are out of shape or otherwise unable to carry heavy objects up steep stairs, so not stay in this hotel for any reason. The stairs to the Fourth Floor suite were so narrow and steep that I took a nasty tumble down as I was heaving my bags out.

Second, a locational note: this hotel is in a crappy area. I would not walk in it at night. And it does offer "views," as advertised by the website, but in addition to a view of downtown, it offers views of the freeway and the large Pittsburgh Housing Authority apartment building across the street.

The hotel does try for some level of class, but somehow just seems to miss by a bit. The facilities, including the rooms, are worn and tired. The carpets are a mess. The furniture is, to put it politely, well lived in. The breakfast room is large and gloomy. We stayed in the fourth floor suite, the most expensive room in the place, and it was like a spacious efficiency apartment in a low rent building. The shower was cramped and old, and the water pressure was painfully high.

I really wish I had something positive to say, because the people were fairly nice, and they do seem to try hard, but this was just not a nice place. I wanted to like it, but I couldn't.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing