We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh's special place to stay”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
“Pittsburgh's special place to stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I always stay at the Priory when in Pittsburgh. The hotel is comfortable and the staff helpful. A boutique hotel in all the best ways, the Priory has the chain hotels beat. After enjoying the complimentary breakfast spread, it was just a short walk across the river to the downtown convention center and an even shorter walk to the beautiful ballpark. The free parking is another bonus.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    184
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
92
380
58
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

PLEASE don't pay to stay at this hotel! It is in a BAD neighborhood. Very creepy surroundings. At the very end of a very creepy block in a very seedy neighborhood with hardly no lights.

It smells of mildew from the minute you walk in. Very old building. The first floor rooms are about 3 feet from the front door. Not real safe or private. The 'standard' rooms are the size of a matchbook. We rented the suite on the 2nd floor (NO ELEVATORS) in February (NO HEAT in the room). The nice maintenance man brought up a TINY SPACE HEATER since the room had no heat. It didn't help much.

The bedroom area was a nice size, but the carpet was worn and dirty looking. It was designed really weird, too. The TV credenza was right next to the door, so that when you opened the cabinet to expose the tv you couldn't walk in or out the door. Plus the cabinet wouldn't stay open so we had to prop a chair against it to watch tv.

The bed was REAL SOFT AND SMUSHY. And I barely wanted to sleep under the cover. Wasn't sure what kinda bed bugs I'd be dealing with!

The sitting room area was also a fairly good size, but again, worn and dirty carpet throughout. Not only that but there was some sort of caving in of the floor in the middle of the sitting room. They camouflaged it by putting a large area rug in the middle of the room. I almost thought I'd see a chalk outline of a body of we looked under the rug! CREEPY!

And lastly, there was mold and mildew in the tiny bathroom.

In a nutshell....DON'T DO IT!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MasterSargent1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Trip Advisor reviews made it sound good. The price (119) was right. I'm into historic places, but there was a little gothic creepiness about this place. Changed rooms after the first one offered was found to have the windows nailed shut. Kind of needed to have the window cracked in case somebody started whispering "red rum." Could of used a good cleaning. Advice: it faces a noisy highway; if you do stay as for a room facing the inner courtyard for a little more quiet.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Our rooms were immaculate and wonderfully furnished with antiques and reproductions. The high ceilings and tall windows added to the charming atmosphere, and every comfort was provided. The bed was perfect and linens supreme. The breakfast was simple yet elegant and the staff were very friendly throughout our stay. I've known some that use the Priory for extended stays and were just as pleased as we were after a single night's stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conwayrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Priory! The priory was a delightful place to stay - the rooms were lovely - the employees were friendly and the location was ideal! While the neighborhood was not especially upscale, it was quaint and central to what we were there for. Lydia's (the best Italian restaurant ever!) was just a few minutes away as was the concert venue for the Kurt Ellington concert we were in Pittsburgh to attend. All in all, the Priory was ideal and I will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank templecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuyahoga falls, oh
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We had such a great time here. There is wine on a table which you can enjoy in one of several beautiful rooms in the hotel. All of the staff was kind and helpful. We were very close to downtown, and were able to take advantage of it. It is very close to the highway, enough that it's still tucked away-but only maybe 3 turns. It was very romantic. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eap9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The Priory Hotel is a beautifully restored former rectory in the heart of Pittsburgh's "Deuchtown!" It boasts the charm of the original structure with modern conveniences. The elegantly decorated rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. I would recommend The Priory Hotel to those visiting the city for a business trip or sporting event, or simply to a couple looking for a romantic getaway! Its close proximity to downtown, PNC Park, Heinz Field and even the South Side make it a regal oasis in the center of town!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherManges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing