We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visitor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First time visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The facility is a joy to stay at when you want to be near downtown Pittsburgh, PA. They are very refined. It is quiet and restful. The rooms are well decorated. I would mention that you may want to pay up for the king beds because the smaller bedrooms come with a very small room for the shower and toilet. They have a nice shuttle service that will take you to downtown. It runs normal times and the drivers are quite nice. The entrance includes a small palor and a full service bar that is great for meeting your party before going out. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a king sized bed if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    177
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
368
57
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at the priory and found the building to be charming and the staff to be courteous, if not necessarily friendly and welcoming. The hotel is a converted monastery and because of its historical nature, has the potential to be a 5-star attraction, but the lack of attention to details and the run-down nature of the rooms left me with no desire to return. Hotel location is within walking distance (15-20 minutes) to the convention center, but the dark neighborhood seemed to be in transition and didn't feel safe to walk in at night.

My room (302) had very worn carpet and pad. Curtains rods were damaged and therefore wouldn't close properly, which was very important since the streelights were directly outside the windows. The bedroom itself was poorly planned and there were cords for various electronics strewn about the floor. (see photos)

The bathroom was extremely small with no vanity to put toiletries. There was a shower-only stall, and the tile and door, inside and out, were dirty and coated in mildew (see photos). .

Breakfast in the refectory was included in the room, however it was primarily pastries and fruit with only hard boiled eggs in the shell served as a protein source. (no meats or scrambled or fried eggs).

Parking is available only at an unprotected outdoor lot on the street across from the hotel. There is a nice outdoor garden courtyard for relaxing in the warmer seasons. There is also a very small bar attached to the lobby (two stools) where light sandwiches are served, but no restaurant on property. Restaurants in the neighborhood are very limited and lower to mid-level type establishments. I hope that this hotel can address the deficiencies to justify the $150.00/night rate I was charged as it has potential... but would not stay there in its current state.

Room Tip: Best to have rooms facing internal courtyards versus in front facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
First, I extend my sincere apologies to this guest. Our goal is to make each and every guest stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible, and clearly we did not achieve that here. I will contact this guest directly to discuss these matters further. We will take a hard look at each and every item that this guest discussed in this review, and will certainly take immediate action to improve them. We take our task of creating a haven for our guests very seriously, and we will take this guest's feedback and use it to make our property better. We do thank this guest for his frank comments, and do promise to do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The front desk was prepared for our arrival so check-in took just a minute. Then, when we opened the door to Room 124, we said, "Wow! Look at all the space!" Spotlessly clean, fresh, absolutely quiet with a large, comfortable bed. Free parking! Fabulous shuttle service! We'll stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutskogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I traveled with my girlfriend and daughter to Pittsburgh to celebrate her grandmother's 90th birthday. We stayed at the Priory hotel and it was overall terrific. I only have several minor issues with the it in my opinion, but I'll start off with the great things. The hotel was converted from a monastery, and has been beautifully decorated inside. The bed was one of the top 5 most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel. The complimentary breakfast was good. The local newspaper was waiting for us outside the front door the next morning. The staff members are extremely courteous; each and everyone of them greeted us as they saw us. Lastly, they have a free shuttle service. The first minor issue I had the bathroom's shower was only 3 ft by 3ft, which was a little cramped for a guy who's 5'9, 200lbs and has broad shoulders. The second issue I had that you can hear everything that goes bump in the night. As we laid down to sleep, we were victims of a wedding reception after party. The group celebrating were several rooms down in the hallway enjoying themselves, but it sounded like they were standing just outside our door. We asked them to please keep the noise down because we were trying to sleep, and they did. The group moved to the courtyard. This didn't exactly help us because the window to our room was facing the courtyard. Although we were on the second floor, the group again sounded as if they were just outside our window, and I can hear every word of their conversation. Luckily, it was cold outside and the partygoers didn't stay for long.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Priory is a pretty special hotel. The location is perfect for exploring the city, and the downtime you spend at the hotel gives you a delightfully surprising sense of history and place. The kind staff, beautiful renovations, and cozy little bar, are some of the much appreciated details that give this place an easy, warm energy and a subtle, European charm. The renovated church used for private events is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Do yourself a favor, and stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved this hotel. Spacious rooms, brilliant wi-fi, great location. The most useful addition was the complimentary shuttle service which saved us lots of time and energy trying to find parking when going out in the evening. Thank you for a lovely stay - made the business much easier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 568Micheal568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Priory in early October and greatly enjoyed our stay.

Pros
*Location: If you're big walkers like us, you can get to practically anywhere (PNC Park, Heinz Field, downtown, the Strip, Mt. Washington, you name it)
*Shuttle service: For the few times that we used it (one morning it was raining and another was overly warm), it was very convenient. Love that it's included in the rate (although be sure to have cash on hand to tip the kind drivers). Try to let them know your planned schedule in advance; they weren't so good when we called on the fly (ended up cancelling and walking back to save time).
*Breakfast: Basically continental+, it was nice to have the meats, cheeses and pastries alongisde the standard fare of bagels and cereal.

Cons
*Yes, the neighborhood can be a little worrisome at first, especially the folks milling around on the corner by the grocery store. But no one ever bothered us and we didn't feel unsafe.
*Had some minor communication snafus at the beginning regarding the package we chose. But they quickly made up for it by giving us a credit for the incorrect tickets we were issued, and even gave us an upgrade to a king room when it became evident it was a miscommunication.
*Loved that there was a business center to print our boarding passes, but the connection was sooooooo slow. Granted, they'd been having difficulty with the WiFi earlier...

Tips
*There are two parking lots: one quite close to the front entance and another gated one just around the corner.
*Check out their packages: they have a surprising variety and offer some pretty good deals.
*Sign up for their newsletter to find out when they offer wine tastings and the like.
*They place a newspaper at your door daily. It was a nice touch, but I felt bad because we were out of our room most of the time and they started piling up a bit.

If ever we're in Pittsburgh, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors will save you from courtyard or street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomHangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing