We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The front desk was prepared for our arrival so check-in took just a minute. Then, when we opened the door to Room 124, we said, "Wow! Look at all the space!" Spotlessly clean, fresh, absolutely quiet with a large, comfortable bed. Free parking! Fabulous shuttle service! We'll stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutskogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    182
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
91
378
58
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I traveled with my girlfriend and daughter to Pittsburgh to celebrate her grandmother's 90th birthday. We stayed at the Priory hotel and it was overall terrific. I only have several minor issues with the it in my opinion, but I'll start off with the great things. The hotel was converted from a monastery, and has been beautifully decorated inside. The bed was one of the top 5 most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel. The complimentary breakfast was good. The local newspaper was waiting for us outside the front door the next morning. The staff members are extremely courteous; each and everyone of them greeted us as they saw us. Lastly, they have a free shuttle service. The first minor issue I had the bathroom's shower was only 3 ft by 3ft, which was a little cramped for a guy who's 5'9, 200lbs and has broad shoulders. The second issue I had that you can hear everything that goes bump in the night. As we laid down to sleep, we were victims of a wedding reception after party. The group celebrating were several rooms down in the hallway enjoying themselves, but it sounded like they were standing just outside our door. We asked them to please keep the noise down because we were trying to sleep, and they did. The group moved to the courtyard. This didn't exactly help us because the window to our room was facing the courtyard. Although we were on the second floor, the group again sounded as if they were just outside our window, and I can hear every word of their conversation. Luckily, it was cold outside and the partygoers didn't stay for long.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Priory is a pretty special hotel. The location is perfect for exploring the city, and the downtime you spend at the hotel gives you a delightfully surprising sense of history and place. The kind staff, beautiful renovations, and cozy little bar, are some of the much appreciated details that give this place an easy, warm energy and a subtle, European charm. The renovated church used for private events is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Do yourself a favor, and stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved this hotel. Spacious rooms, brilliant wi-fi, great location. The most useful addition was the complimentary shuttle service which saved us lots of time and energy trying to find parking when going out in the evening. Thank you for a lovely stay - made the business much easier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 568Micheal568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Priory in early October and greatly enjoyed our stay.

Pros
*Location: If you're big walkers like us, you can get to practically anywhere (PNC Park, Heinz Field, downtown, the Strip, Mt. Washington, you name it)
*Shuttle service: For the few times that we used it (one morning it was raining and another was overly warm), it was very convenient. Love that it's included in the rate (although be sure to have cash on hand to tip the kind drivers). Try to let them know your planned schedule in advance; they weren't so good when we called on the fly (ended up cancelling and walking back to save time).
*Breakfast: Basically continental+, it was nice to have the meats, cheeses and pastries alongisde the standard fare of bagels and cereal.

Cons
*Yes, the neighborhood can be a little worrisome at first, especially the folks milling around on the corner by the grocery store. But no one ever bothered us and we didn't feel unsafe.
*Had some minor communication snafus at the beginning regarding the package we chose. But they quickly made up for it by giving us a credit for the incorrect tickets we were issued, and even gave us an upgrade to a king room when it became evident it was a miscommunication.
*Loved that there was a business center to print our boarding passes, but the connection was sooooooo slow. Granted, they'd been having difficulty with the WiFi earlier...

Tips
*There are two parking lots: one quite close to the front entance and another gated one just around the corner.
*Check out their packages: they have a surprising variety and offer some pretty good deals.
*Sign up for their newsletter to find out when they offer wine tastings and the like.
*They place a newspaper at your door daily. It was a nice touch, but I felt bad because we were out of our room most of the time and they started piling up a bit.

If ever we're in Pittsburgh, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors will save you from courtyard or street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomHangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best places to stay in Pittsburgh in my book. It quaint and the staff is outstanding, and some even remember your name!! No ever time we go to Pittsburgh of an extended stay or an over night, we stay at The Priory Hotel! Try you'll like it! And the Apple dumplings for brunch are to die for!!!!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChuckHonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We all have our little 'issues' when it comes to hotels. For some it's the staff. For others it may be location. And for others it may be quaintness. And if a lodging falls short in any one of those areas, it gets excoriated.

For me it's the shower. But everything else was terrific. The staff is wonderful. It's a one-of-a-kind lodging. Even that nonsense about the neighborhood is way overdone.

We enjoyed our stay.

If there is one thing that could be improved it's the shower. Maybe that is only the case in Room 203, but I've been in telephone booths that were larger. Additionally it had some broken soap dishes hanging out of the wall. Since there was barely enough room to turn around, the jagged edges came in to play.

But again, that's a very small thing compared to everything positive about the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northpith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing