We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet and Elegant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Quiet and Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were in town for a couple of evenings and the Hotel was located perfectly for all of our needs. The shuttle was a huge benefit. Rooms were super clean. We will definitely stay again and recommend. Old architecture kept alive. The outdoor sitting area is very nice. Didn't get to see the fountain run (cleaning time).

Room Tip: The original part of the hotel have smaller rooms. New addition are a little larger for longer stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    173
    59
    22
    12
See reviews for
83
357
54
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the north shore, so you do need transport if going into and out of town regularly- however the hotel shuttle is fantastic in dropping you off and picking you up when needed. We walked a couple times from downtown however it is a bit too far to do every day. The hotel is really close to the Andy Warhol museum. The breakfast is pretty good with cereal, fruit and toast. The gym is pretty basic but enough for a quick run or some weights. The room is pretty big large and period style complete with random creaky floorboards and thinner walls. Everything was very clean, well kept and front desk very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Priory is a lovely hotel which was converted from a priory within a few blocks of downtown Pittsburgh. It is not for everyone; if you prefer modern hotels, it would probably not be for you. There are beautiful details within the hotel that you would never see in a new building and the negatives I would have to say are primarily small things.

A major positive to this hotel is the wonderful staff. Every encounter with them was totally positive and incredibly caring about my comfort. One of the front desk associates went out of her way to make me a cup of coffee in the middle of the afternoon with their Kuerig machine in the lounge area.

The shuttle service was fantastic and took me various places in the downtown area. The neighborhood near the hotel is a bit transitional, but I never felt in danger, and with the shuttle, never had to walk to and from my car at night.

The small items which could be easily fixed with more attention to maintenance. For example: the water fountain in the workout room was empty, so I mentioned that to the front desk and it was full by the next morning, but the spigot was not functioning. In addition, the carpet in my room was stained and the bed was okay, but not "excellent," however, I had chosen one of the smaller, cheaper rooms, so I'm sure the other rooms might have been more recently renovated. They were some annoyances with noise (cleaning and repairs) during the day, which normally wouldn't have bothered me, since I'm not usually in a hotel room during the day, but my schedule was different during that trip.

The breakfast was simple but good and the only negative was the pastries looked store bought. I loved the fact that there was an old looking radio playing NPR and not a dozen TV monitors in the breakfast area.

I could see that you could easily fall in love with this hotel and never want to stay anywhere else when in Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
341 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Interesting architecture, nicely redone as a hotel. Clean and comfortable. Location just so so, area is a little run down. Not very pleasant for walking around. Breakfast was not very good. Staff was ok but a little rushed and impersonal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Priory on two recent trips of 10 days each to Pittsburgh for family business. The reasonable rates is what attracted me to my first stay, and the more than pleasant experience made me look forward to return for the second time. The location is convenient to the highway, the rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable and a good night's sleep is almost guaranteed. The Hotel staff is excellent, going above and beyond their routines to insure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the bartenders, cooks and maintenance personnel, any concern I brought to their attention was handled in a professional, friendly and timely manner. In addition to their outstanding work performance, they are very knowledgeable and eager to help with questions about the local area, dining, attractions and directions to these places. I will definitely be coming back to The Priory on my next trip to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: King rooms are the most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, PA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent two separate nights at the Priory on a recent holiday weekend. The first night, I shared the large suite with my sister and the second was spent in a king room. Both experiences were excellent. The suite was huge and great value for the money. Although the king room was small, it was more than adequate. Both locations were very quiet and comfortable and clean. The building is just wonderful and they've done a great job of updating the property while keeping its historic character. Staff are friendly and helpful - the shuttle is very convenient. This was the only hotel in Pittsburgh I could find with free parking. The breakfast features pastries from the Priory's own bakery (around the corner - don't miss it) and we received a comp copy of the Pittsburgh Post Gazette, which was a nice touch. I will definitely recommend the Priory to friends visiting Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: I was nervous to get a room on the main floor, off the lobby, but it was just as quiet as the one I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent a night here after seeing a play and enjoyed everything about my stay at the Priory. The staff were welcoming, the parking was free, and the relatively small room was very clean and comfortable. The bed had plenty of pillows and the walls were practically sound-proof. The best part of this hotel was the architecture. It's a gorgeous former monastery with all sorts of strange turns and staircases. The only downside was that it's in a somewhat sketchy area, but not so bad that you can't walk alone at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffysellscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing