We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I come to Pittsburgh often to see our kids and to attend cultural and sporting events. I have always been curious about The Priory but didn't think my husband would like the B&B atmosphere. He loved it!!! The staff was friendly, the room was unique and clean, the breakfast was superb, and the cost was affordable. We had a drink at the Monk Bar. It was very cozy and we met some nice people. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful corner room at the end of a quiet hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    177
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
85
368
57
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I had a great get away weekend at the Priory. I was a little concerned that we might have been exposed to lots of noise and partying that weekend because it was St. Patrick's day weekend and the Priory is located close to lots of action. Nothing could have been further from the truth. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We decided to eat in on Friday night and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely soups offered in the Monk's bar. The shuttle service was excellent. They dropped us off for the parade and dinner out on Saturday and to the Penguins game on Sunday. They even let us park our car in their secure lot until after the Pens game at no charge. The only down side to the weekend was the tiny bathroom. But that was so minor it didn't interfere with anything. I plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBczyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me start by stating that the hotel is wonderful. The check-in friendly and efficient. The small pub/bar cute serving good sandwiches and other light fare. Our room was very large, but smallish bathroom. Everything was lovely, elegant and spotless. The hotel was an actual priory at one point and retains much of its charm and interior architecture. Breakfast is served in a gorgeous room which transports you back in time. Everything well decorated and tasteful. I loved it!

Now the only down side: location, location. It is just off the highway toward an outer edge of downtown, so that's excellent. However, it's also in what I would call a very 'shady' neighborhood with questionable characters hanging out near the parking lot of the hotel. My daughter and I were very uncomfortable (and I'm a woman of color). We debated whether it would be safe to leave the car in that parking lot which was easily accessible from the street, not gated, and didn't seem to have any security to speak of, including obvious cameras. We opted to stay. When we left in the morning, the guys (fairly sure they were dealing) were gone. We've traveled a lot and to many countries and places, but I'm not certain I would stay here again although we LOVED the hotel. However, that's just me. They clearly seem to enjoy a repeat clientele.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I wanted to take my husband somewhere intimate, fun,but close to home. Just to get away from the business, kids and craziness. Also, I did not want to spend too much, feeling quilty, why not just stay home attitude. We had a blast. The room was just right, clean, it was a snowy night but the shuttle droped us right at the front door of some local restaurants & picked us up. We had a drink in the Monk Bar too right there at the hotel. The next morning my husband insisted I get dressed to check out the breakfast spread, just our style, with cheeses, meats, fresh fruit.. Loved it and recommend it to all. What a great night..Next day my husband accidently left the interior light on in the car..the service staff jumped it.. so we did not have to wait for AAA..now that nice service.

Room Tip: It's important to know that you can stay in the historic side or newer contemporary side...I lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Priory Hotel exemplifies the culture of Pittsburgh in all aspects. The converted church parsonage creates a warm and inviting stay to the city---not to mention unique. The old architecture is charming and makes for a wonderful touch to your room. Although the hotel is small, the quaintness is what gives it the appeal of staying at home. That is how comfortable you are here! Plus the atmosphere is very romantic...

The complimentary breakfast is well-balanced, outstanding and the perfect way to start the day. The location is incredible, during our stay we walked to visit someone in Allegheny General Hospital, then headed to a dinner at SoHo right before catching The Great Gatsby at the New Hazlett Theater. The next morning we even mustered another adventure to the Warhol museum! Everything is within walking distance---the Strip District, North Shore, and much more. They also have free parking if you have a car on your trip and a complimentary shuttle!

If that doesn't seal the deal already for you, the best part of the stay was the extremely courteous staff. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, the Priory is a definite must!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccakopcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Priory has a lot going for it. It is beautifully furnished, the staff was very helpful, the complimentary breakfast was good, they provide free shuttle service, and there is a cute bar inside. There are a few negatives, however. The bathroom is really small, including the sink being in the room and no bathtub. Also, the location is in a somewhat sketchy neighborhood on the North Shore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank techie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

...and she was right! What a great hotel!

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our birthdays. We had a great time and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We even got a tour of the Grand Hall by the manager!

It looks like I've found a place to stay when I visit Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old wing are a little drafty, but they are very impressive, architecturally speakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing