We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique venue with great amenities and service”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I lived in Pittsburgh for 34 years and had never visited the Priory. I moved to another city and recently brought a date back to see the Three Rivers City. We stayed at the Priory because she wanted a "city" experience. What a wonderful surprise the hotel was. We had a large, clean, charmiingly furninshed room overlooking a small, courtyard with a fountain. We could also see the stained glass window detail of a church that was once housed in the hotel's Northside complex of buildings. There is a cozy bar serving a variety of unique cocktails, and an excellent continental breakfast is included in the room rate (the pastries are all from a local bakery also belonging to the hotel's owners). Another welcomed service was the gratis hotel-operated shuttle that drove us to/from a variety of sites. The driver was very knowledgable and provided details about the city that even I didn't know after all my years of living there! The only negative was that the bathroom was quite small. I highly recommend the Priory to anyone who wants a memorable hotel stay while visiting Pittsburgh!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the courtyard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very quaint hotel. Great bartenders and van service. If you like to take walks from your hotel this one probably isn't for you. There's nothing in the immediate area except a grocery store but the area is on the sketchy side. Great location for pnc park though. Breakfast was good but they have a serious fruit fly problem there which was a turn off.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvBullsSoxHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

I am very pleased that this guest overall enjoyed his experience at our property. We do strive to make each guest's stay a comfortable and memorable experience, and it appears that we did achieve that here. With regard to the fruit fly issue, like most places we do occasionally have a problem with those pests. When it does happen, we address it immediately and remediate the problem, and that has occurred here. I do apologize for any inconvenience. We do very much appreciate this guest bringing the matter to our attention, however, as it is honest feedback that helps us improve. Regarding our surroundings, I think perhaps this guest did not explore as much as he or she could have, as there are many cool and interesting destinations within an easy 10 minute walk of our location, including the National Aviary, the Andy Warhol Museum, PNC Park, the Children's Museum, the Photo Antiquities Museum, and a number of fun and interesting restaurants. We'd be really happy to tour this guest, or anyone else around who would like to see all that our neighborhood, Deutschtown, has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I came out for a Steelers game and loved this hotel. Breakfast was good, they have a little buffet and I brought a plate back to our room every morning so we could have breakfast in bed. We caught the 28 flyer from the airport to downtown pitt and then the shuttle picked us up from there. Its so convienent and free! The shuttle driver "Henry" was the best! So friendly and gave us great tips on where to go. The only reason why I gave it 4 stars is because of the area & the front desk guy "Mark." The area has a market on the corner and it seemed to have a lot of skeechy people there. Felt a tad bit incomfortable walking by. But then again, just catch the shuttle and you will have no problem at all. The front desk guy "Mark" wasn't as friendly as all the other people who worked there. He seemed bothered everytime I would ask him a question or call for the shuttle. Besides that we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Travelled to Pittsburgh for a Steelers game and the hotel that we normally stay at was booked so the gentleman that answered the phone offered to book us another hotel and luckily it was The Priory. The entire staff was wonderful, the hotel rooms were very clean and beautiful. The hotel has so much histoy is was just fun reading about it all in the room. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast which included fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, bagels, pastries and more. It was nice enough to sit out in the courtyard for breakfast. Also dont miss the Monk Bar. A free shuttle is available and it was our means of transportation the entire trip. Thanks again to The Priory for a fantastic stay. We will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Once a Benedictine Monk's Monastery, this 44 room Boutique hotel has an European flavor you would not expect to find in Pittsburgh, PA. You can enjoy your complimentary continental breakfast outside on their garden patio, weather permitting, of course, or sit inside their small, homey breakfast room. Enjoy a drink in the evening, fabulous cocktails, in the Monk's bar. While the rooms are small, European sized, you do have complimentary WiFi and very plush, comfortable beds. Definitely an alternative to those large faceless hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didibklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here recently as part of a wedding. The hotel lost reservations for several parties (even though they'd confirmed only a few days earlier), forgot about shuttle services they'd booked for people, and generally seemed incompetent. From what I'd heard, I expected a very nice place that was high class. It certainly didn't meet these expectations. Rooms were extremely out of date (not simply old fashioned) and dirty. I didn't even want to walk on the carpet in the room without shoes on. For the price, there are plenty of places you can stay in Pittsburgh that are much nicer and in a better part of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gate1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

As I have noted in other responses, we strive to make each guest's stay with us quiet, comfortable and utterly enjoyable. On the relatively rare occasion that does not occur, we do try to make things right with the guest and to ameliorate the situation as well as we can. In this circumstance, this guest was part of a group booking (in fact, the same group where the review "Terrible" came from) where the person booking the rooms opted not to provide us with the names of the guests staying in the rooms in advance of check in. This meant that the rooms needed to be sorted and assigned at the front desk -- not ideal for the guest, obviously. However, upon reviewing this matter, it appears that our front desk staff handled the distribution of the rooms as well as they could under the circumstances. "Disorganization" at check in is not the norm at our front desk, and most guests find the process to be easy and seamless, particularly in comparison to larger hotels which may have long lines just to check in. Regarding this guest's review of the quality of our guest rooms, I can only note that her experience is not that of the vast majority of our guests, as evidenced by the reviews on this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Staff 10 out of 10 on customer service, from Henry (courtous mini bus driver and unofficial tour guide) to the lovely young lady Deena in the Monks bar - everyone went out if their way to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel its self is perfect full of ambience. the surrounding area may look intimidating on google but trust us, its not we walked all over and never felt worried. My only disappointment was our room just lacked the magical touch, but we will certainly come back here in 2014 our next planned visit to the states.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandiLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $135 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing