We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked three rooms and the 4th floor apartment for the weekend. The Priory is a delightful, historic hotel just across from downtown Pittsburgh with parking included. Two of our three rooms were spacious and the third fairly small but we kept it since it was so near another room. I am sure, though, the front desk staff would have moved us, if requested. They were very helpful with all our needs. My only complaint on two of the rooms was that the bathroom sink had no vanity and there really was no place to put any of our toiletries in the bath rooms. A high shelf over the toilet would remedy this. One great touch in all the rooms was the shower head was at seven feet - a real plus if you are tall. Linens were soft and the towels plush. The fourth floor is an attic room but includes a full kitchen stocked with glasses, pots and a large fridge. The main room easily handled 13 people for a couple of evenings. The hotel is in a delightful neighborhood working to come back with excellent restaurants within walking distance. The Monk bar in the hotel is open at night and a great place to hang out. Bring your bike in good weather and the Pittsburgh trail is just down the street and under the bridge. You can also easily walk to town, the Strip, the Warhol museum and the stadiums. This place is a real find and I will stay here again on my trips to Pittsburgh!

Room Tip: Fourth floor room has one bed room and a pull out couch along with two beds easily set up in additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarleyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 743 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

My Husband and I always stay at The Priory when we come to Pittsburgh. We love to go to the Strip District and to the Benedum Center which are minutes away from The Priory. If you love archectecture and history, it is a feast for the eyes. The staff is very professional and accommadating, I would suggest The Priory to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary. Tamara

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

the room was way smaller than pictured - my husband and I (who are average size people) kept hitting our legs on the end of the bed when walking around the room - very cramped-- size of the room compared to a microtel room - not worth the money -we had a king bed in the newer part maybe the rooms are bigger in the older part. we also requested a room that overlooked the city - our room faced the multiple highways - was noisy.

Room Tip: maybe try the older part - rooms may be bigger - if you weigh over 150 lbs - don't get a king r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

First, to the extent that our property did not somehow live up to this guest's expectations, we do offer our sincere apologies. We did not hear from this guest directly during or after his or her stay, and if we had the opportunity certainly would have tried to accommodate him or her in another room if they found the one they were in unsuitable. That said, this review left me a little baffled. Our guestrooms in our new wing are certainly within the average size range for guest rooms in hotels in the Pittsburgh market (330 to 380 square feet). We have never once, in the 13 months that our new wing is open, had a guest complain to us that the rooms are too small. Likewise, our bed is a standard King bed, the same size as any other King bed. The bedframes, mattresses and bedding are all new in the new wing. Thus it is hard to comprehend this guest's complaints about the bed. However, if this guest were to contact us directly we would be delighted to discuss these matters with him or her directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very charming and quaint hotel. Very nicely remodeled but keeping with the old historical features. Guest rooms are extremely comfortable with modern bathrooms. The Monks Bar was a great place to hang out and socialize. We were there in January and the working fire place in the bar made it very cozy and inviting. Would definitely stay there again. Maybe in the summer to enjoy the beautiful courtyard we couldn't enjoy in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trass50618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This refurbished priory is within very easy walking distance to downtown, Heinz Hall, Benedum Center, Warhol Museum, Aviary, stadiums,etc. Our room was small but charmingly decorated with antiques, a very comfortable bed, quiet. The staff was very friendly and we spent a pleasant hour or so in the bar where the fireplace was burning and the bar tender was great. The property is in a neighborhood that is "coming back" but is very safe. We didn't have the hotel breakfast but the menu looked good and I believe the breakfast room was the original dining room for the priests. Very pretty. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes places with personality!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki_conner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our 40th hotel stay in around 19 weeks of travel across North America.

We stayed in a queen bed room for three nights (Sun through Tues), booked the night before our stay on Orbitz.com for $109/night (excl. tax of $14 per night).

What’s good: It’s a lovely, restored piece of history, with nice furnishings and large-size rooms. Free wifi worked reasonably. Breakfast (included in our rate) ran until a civilized 10:30am, was the usual continental style along with a hot dish of bacon/sausage, nice non-packet muffins and pastries, and a euro-style platter of cold meats and cheeses. Very clean room & bathrooms.

There’s a communal microwave, drink and snack machine, and fitness centre (not used by us) on the ground floor. A (slow) elevator is available, as are several staircases. A complimentary town car/shuttle is available for short guest trips. A bar on ground floor opens in the evenings and serves a small variety of craft beers and sandwhiches.

Minor annoyance: Our mattress looked overdue for replacement, and had a distinctive sag in the middle resulting in us rolling into the centre and giving less than ideal sleep. We slept without earplugs most nights, and heard a little noise from children running in the room above us.

We saw no evidence of bed bugs in our room, had no problems with them either, and saw no comments for this place on any of the bedbug registry websites.

There’s a large, hi-rise housing block directly across the road, and walking nearby you might experience requests for money. There’s also a large supermarket a few minutes walk. Two blocks away are several take-aways. Try Max’s Algherny Tavern (4 blocks away) for amazing German food and great beer tasters. The Andy Warhol museum is a short ten minute walk from the hotel.

Getting around: Number 18 and 22 bus from town stop near the supermarket a block away.

Pillows and linen were clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and efficient.

Would stay again but propably in an upstairs room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A solid, entirely charming, pleasant place to spend a nice in Pittsburgh. The price is right, the rooms are charming, and the staff is helpful. Breakfast is sufficient, bathrooms clean if not modern, and the sense of history everywhere. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastingspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $138 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing