We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Clintonville
1 review
“Nice”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel was nice. Little expensive. Also, the elevator was very slow, not working very well when boarded from the parking area. Other than that, hotel was clean and staff was very pleasant. Parking garage was very busy as we were in town for a concert.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Trisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Trisha J,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown on Trip Advisor. We are glad you chose our property for your concert trip, and are pleased yo hear you enjoyed your time. Please do not hesitate to contact me for future reservation help or anything at all! We look forward for another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    519
    248
    119
    50
See reviews for
412
353
79
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is located close to the Consol Energy Center. They offer shuttle service to areas around town, so you do not have to drive yourself. They room was very clean. The beds were very comfortable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Martha B,

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown during your visit for the Billy Joel concert. We are extremely happy to hear the location fit your needs and would love to welcome you back if any other events bring you Downtown! Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further feedback, questions or need reservations assistance. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Friendly staff. Clean hotel. Good value for $. Grill restaurant has a limited and somewhat gourmet menu. Valet parking in garage was fast for check-in and check-out. Fresh baked cookies at check-in are a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear SharonM
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown on Trip Advisor. Our team strives to provide the highest level of service and are very pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay. Should your business travels bring you back to Pittsburgh please do not hesitate to get in touch directly for any assistance. We hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

From being greeted at the door by the front desk manager to being lead out when I departed by a front desk clerk this hotel staff was great. After checking in the manager escorted me to the room and gave a verbal presentation of the accommodations. He gave me information on the gym, restaurant and attached 7-11. Of course my check-in cookie and easy check-in was the quickest possible. The one downside was again the placement of a coffee maker in a position where it has to be carried to another spot to be used. Really doubletree should look into a different dispenser even if just put in the handicap rooms so that it's not so difficult for the visually impaired to enjoy a hot cup of coffee in the room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ladynosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Ladynosee
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind comments about our team, you truly are a pleasure to serve, and we hope to see you again soon! We are currently looking at a coffee machine for easier service in the accessible rooms. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you come back to Pittsburgh.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Was expecting more but the cookies were soo good!!! Did not like that you could not reserve the shuttle to take around town and also had to pay to park that should have been free for guests. Like the fact that if the shuttle was not around everything was in walking distances but was very cold and snow was falling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear George T,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown on Trip Advisor. The cookies are great and we are glad you enjoyed them. We appreciate your candid feedback and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We reserved the 1 bedroom King Suite. The bathroom was basically a small closet. Very surprised that a suite with a large living area would have such a small bathroom. The sink and the toilet were what one would expect in a mobile home. They also said this was one of their "recently remodeled suites". Also no hangers in the closet near the living area. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Owner just didnt want to spend money on the bathrooms. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear KennethR
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on with us on Trip Advisor. If possible I would like for the opportunity to speak with you personally so we can rectify some issues you experienced while staying with us. I believe if you stay with us again I can offer the perfect accommodations that will exceed your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for St. Patrick's Day weekend March of 2013. There was a group of us not only celebrating St. Patrick's Day but also celebrating a birthday. The room we booked was a 2 queen bed room. It was roomy enough with a desk area off to the side for doing business. The bathroom was small compared to other hotels but this hotel is very old. The amenities were wonderful and the staff was very friendly. Most people staying here would not realize how old this building actually is. The room was clean and the bedding was very comfortable. The room and the whole hotel is very updated. Parking can be a little confusing and like most hotels in the city they charge for parking. It was very convenient to the subway system which we utilized throughout the weekend. The St. Patrick's Day parade passed right in front of the hotel which made for great viewing. We enjoyed our weekend tremendously and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmaglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Dmmaglet,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear your positive comments and hope you will visit again for any fun future trips to Pittsburgh. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance at all.

Warmest Regards,
Prith Shah
Front Office Manager
412-586-1847
pshah@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing