We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree for one night. We arrived by train so didn’t have to worry about parking (the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station). The neighborhood around the hotel was pretty desolate on a Saturday evening, but still felt safe, and the hotel is across the street from a light rail station. There is also a 7-Eleven right next door for snacks (but surprisingly no beer). The desk staff at check-in was very friendly and check-in was quick. I had booked a room with 2 double beds, but was given a suite with a queen (I think) in the bedroom and a sofabed in the separate large sitting room. My son said he was OK sleeping on the sofabed so we kept it. The room included a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was small, but typical for a downtown hotel. Like many European hotels we needed to use the room key to turn on the lights and air conditioning, but they gave us an extra key just for that purpose. The room seemed pretty clean. The bed was very comfortable. Although it’s a 20 storey hotel, the elevators were super fast so we never had a long wait. The layout is pretty weird. Odd room numbers on one half of the hotel and evens on the other. Our room had what looked like a door to an adjoining room, but from the hall there didn’t appear to be a room there, just an electrical closet (unless the other room was way around the corner). And of course there are the ‘secret’ rooms mentioned by another reviewer (the one in our room had a lock on the little metal access door). No problems with any of these things, but it’s not the same old cookie-cutter hotel.

On the downside, no nightlight in the bathroom. I know that’s pretty typical, but when I’m in a hotel that actually has one I really appreciate it. There also aren’t very many extra power outlets in the rooms. A previous guest had unplugged the clock to free an extra one up. There was no problem with noise from outside the hotel, at least on our side which faced a very quiet city street. There was more interior noise than I expected in an older hotel, mostly a somewhat frequent deep banging/jumping sound from another guest. I first thought this was in the room above ours, but when I got up to use the bathroom I could hear voices in the room next to ours (apparently someone “look[ed] pretty randy in those shorts” – I feel so much better knowing that). I would have figured out which room it was and called the front desk to complain, but I was afraid I’d wake my son if I opened the hall door to determine which room was making the noise (it turns out he was awake and thought it was the room across the hall). Since I didn’t complain I don’t hold the hotel responsible for the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usroadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your recent experience on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate hearing feedback from senior contributors like yourself. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the future; and we welcome opportunities to exceed your expectations by hearing about your experience while you are with us.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    529
    254
    122
    53
See reviews for
424
358
83
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is average at best. Worst aspect is rooms. We had a suite, which meant two unpleasnt rooms rather than one. Old furnishings and a claustrophobic feel with each door seeming to open on to some other door. The staff tried its best but the property is not very good and the rate -- 160-something on a holiday weekend, was no bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in early May. What a wonderful time we had! Being an HHonors member I was upgraded to a spacious suite at no extra charge with an awesome view. The warm cookies at check in were just the first, or I should say second, of several wonderful accommodations we received from the very friendly staff who were quick to ensure our every request was met. We rode the free shuttle to a nearby Italian restaurant Buco de Peppo's in Station Square which was just incredible. The shuttle driver was also very helpful in assisting us with finding tickets to the Penguins playoff game the following night. He also picked us up from the restaurant when we were finished dining. All in all our stay was nothing short of amazing. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Pittsburgh area no matter what brings you there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westleybagginman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My company booked this hotel for its conference facilities. We got off to a bit of a rocky start because we couldn't get the internet service to work in the conference/event rooms (which was needed for our event). The event manager worked diligently and eventually resolved the issue. Great location, great food, nice clean room, friendly & responsive staff. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 113Carol113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were getting ready to move our daughter so we were looking forward to a restful sleep. Well the Penguins won that night and there was a lot of celebrating. We didn't really mind that there was a lot of noise because our bed was so comfortable and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The Bigelow restaurant in the hotel was better then we expected. Not only was the food really good but the staff was really friendly. We had a great dinner and because of the holiday weekend they ran a special price for the breakfast buffet. In the morning we had to get to the truck rental and the hotel shuttle took us right there. The shuttle is limited as how far it will go and we were told we were just within that limit. We would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy67Lancaster_Pa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights over Memorial Day Weekend. The check-in/check-out was quick and easy. The rate (pre-paid) was very reasonable for a downtown hotel. However, the room did not include a refrigerator nor a microwave. Also, we did not have any maid service at all. We called downstairs for towels the second day and they were brought up immediately. The room was quiet in spite of several parties in the hallways due to a girls volleyball tournament in town. I would recommend this hotel again. The breakfast buffet was extensive; the food was excellent, especially the omelets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboutcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Highly recommend Doubletree Downtown Pittsburgh for excellent service and convenient location. The shuttle service provided by the hotel was very convenient for evening trips to restaurants. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank WGM470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on tripadvisor,com. We truly appreciate your wonderful review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing