We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is nice, the room are well-furnished and modern.
The staff is kind and the warm cookies are so great.
You have access to a little business center with a printer and computer. The 7-eleven located next to the hotel is really convenient.
Pittsburgh downtown and the consol energy center are at walking distance.
On the negative side, the breakfast was open till 11 am but when we arrived at 10.30 the buffet was already closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! As you mentioned, our attached 7 Eleven convenience store and complimentary business center access are only a couple of the amenities our hotel offers to properly serve our guests. We hope that your experience will bring you back to us in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    530
    255
    122
    53
See reviews for
424
359
83
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sparta, new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked this stay for April 5-7, 2013. Attended the Eric Clapton concert at Consol Energy Center on 04/06/13. When we pulled up at the Hotel we were directed to go to the parking garage. At the parking garage there was an attendant who told us that the lot was full. We had to unload the car on a busy street, there were no carts available to put our stuff on. My husband had to stay with the stuff while I was told to go to a parking lot. A little disappointed due to the fact that we are Hilton Honors Members. So I went and found a parking garage close by and parked there for the weekend. At check in we were greeted with the standard cookie. When I complained about parking the girl was apologetic and said that if the parking garage was higher priced than the parking lot at Double Tree to get a receipt and that they would pay the difference. The location for the hotel was great and having a 7-11 next door was very helpful. We went to the bar and had a few drinks, the beer was cold and the service was average. The room was nice, however the carpeting on the floor, most of the entire floor was dirty and looks to need to be replaced. The ice machine on the 13th floor didn't work and so we used the one on the 12th floor. Having a fan in the bathroom would have been nice. Then on Sunday when we went to leave, I had to go to the parking garage down the street and get my car and come back to load the car up. Again on the busy street, just don't feel that was safe. We come to PIttsburgh about 6-8 times a year and will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbert32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unbelieveable and extraordinary experience and service. I was the leader of a high school art club who was staying 3 nights and touring museums throughout the stay. We had a chartered bus. From the excellent communication in the planning phase to the "go out of your way" special accommodations to aid our rooming assignments to the organization for speedy check out and in to the accommodations made for the bus....I was overwhelmed with how well we were treated, how well we were worked with, and how well things went. Senior Sales Manager Kathi Suprek and Front Desk Manager Krystal Starosielec were exceptional in their work and organization and in their efforts to make sure we were well-provided for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899MarkV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Pittsburgh and will be sure to recognize Kathi and Krystal for their outstanding efforts in providing you with a great experience!

Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked for two nights, April 5-7, so I could take my daughter to Tekkoshocon. Greeted at check-in with a note that said we would be kicked out of the hotel with no refund if we made noise after 9 pm. The hotel, then didn't enforce their threat when at 2 am, an impromptu party started outside of our door. Couldn't park near the hotel because they sold all the garage space for the Pens game and then the Clapton concert. Couldn't eat in the hotel restaurant because we needed to book a month in advance. Would have been nice to know that when we booked our hotel because we would have. Ordered room service that was not what we ordered and on the cold side. The rooms were built in such a way that the head of our beds butted against the bathroom of the room next to ours. We got to listen to vomiting for 2 nights in a row. The room had a cycle of shooting the temperature up and then using cold air to bring it back down. Never could get comfortable. The employees are nice but it doesn't make up for the hotels major shortcomings. I question why they partnered with a convention that was going to attract teenagers and young adults, if they had a problem with noise that they felt needed to be addressed in a note with an unprofessional tone.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Racheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. We’re sorry that we didn't provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us correct those specific issues in the future. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

More than anything else, I have to applaud the housekeeping department. They had quite the challenge with a huge group of teens-young twenties in for a costume/gaming convention and were still so on top of the work with fantastic attitudes. The fitness room and pool were excellent and well-maintained. The front staff was accommodating but unable to extend themselves to be more informational due to the high number of guests demanding their attention. I noticed that the desk clerks looked overwhelmed several times. The location was excellent as we had everything within 1 mile of the hotel.

Room Tip: Much of the town closes on weekends and EARLY! No food is to be found after 11 pm, including in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked this stay in December for April 5-8. Attended the Eric Clapton concert at Consol Energy Center on 4/6. Greeted at check-in with the customary Doubletree chocolate chip cooke. Found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The location in the downtown area was perfect for the activities my wife and I had planned. We walked across the Andy Warhol bridge (7th street) to the north shore (approximately 0.7 miles) and back on the Roberto Clemente bridge (next to PNC park). Strolled down to Point State Park at the convergence of the three rivers. The Doubletree made for a great base for a wondeful weekend. Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The suite was simple, but adequate and the 16th (of the 20) floor view of downtown provided a great vantage point for viewing some of the wonderful architecture to be found in the city.

Room Tip: Had a suite facing the west/northwest and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love this hotel, whenever we are attending an event at the Consol Energy Center, we stay here. If you have a reservation, you get valet parking; the hotel is close to PPG Place, Market Square, and it's easy to walk to everything. The room is "roomy" and comfortable, lots of towels and good water pressure!!

Room Tip: We like to get a room on a high floor, this trip it was the 17th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzwelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing