We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I would give this hotel a higher score if I could. We arrived early (9:30am) and we were able to check into our room with our cookies. As a diamond member I recieved free breakfast buffets for each morning which was great. While checking in we asked where a good place fore breakfast was and was offered two more complimentary buffets to be used after we dropped off our bags which was very nice.

The Hotel is just about walking distance to everything in pittsburgh. The hockey arena is 1 block away, it took about 15 minutes to walk to the strip district and Point Park. If walking isn't your thing they have a shuttle service that runs until 10:30pm on a first come first serve basis (which was able to pick us up or bring us to every place in pittsburgh within 10 minutes of the request).

If this wasn't enough we had a late flight out of pittsburgh and asked if we could check out after 12 which was not a problem we ended up checking out at 1:30.

I travel alot for work but this was my first time in pittsburgh. Let me just say whenever I come back this will be where I will be staying.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a great review regarding your recent stay on Trip Advisor! We take pride in creating rewarding experiences and we would be thrilled to welcome you back to the same comfort and amenities in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    511
    240
    117
    48
See reviews for
402
345
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and having trouble writing this review. On one hand the staff and service was great and our room was pretty good too. But it wasn't without it's strangeness.

We had a one bedroom queen suite (933) and it was very nice. Our room had the most bizarre quirk I've even encountered in a hotel though... There is a second room that looks like something out of "The Shining" attached to this room and accessed via a very small door in the sitting area!! We only noticed the little door and the room because this little room has a window in it and light was coming in, otherwise we would have thought it was just some random service panel. Anyways, we used a coin, opened the panel and I stuck my head through the door to this small (30sqft) room that attached to our room... This room had a light, stool, window, plug, and a few other random things in it (including some strange wallpaper). The bizarre thing is that this room was accessed via the sitting area but joined shared a wall with our bathroom and bathroom mirror. Gotta admit, it was more than a little bit creepy. I wish I had taken pictures. If you have a chance, book in to this room and see what I'm talking about. The door is not obvious, it's a square service panel door one the ground right next to the desk.

Otherwise the hotel is nice enough. Valet parking was expensive and super slow. No option on site for self-parking and if you're coming down at check-out time be prepared to wait at least 30 minutes. There's parking a couple blocks away that's half the cost and you can get your car when you want it.

Staff were great, and the pool is big with great service (the front desk had our robes delivered to the pool for us). Overall I'd probably stay here again, but I'd probably stay in a different room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Jason,
Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the service you received.

The "secret" room you discovered was an old kitchen dating back to when the hotel was an apartment building. The kitchens were enclosed when the hotel was converted from a Ramada Inn to a DoubleTree By Hilton in 2006.

Thanks again for your review.

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went through an online hotel booking site. When we arrived we were told we had a one night stay. We booked two nights. Check in desk had to discuss with the manager. We did get the two nights. Questions to the desk and the online booking site could not tell us where the problem resided. On check out, my address was listed as San Francisco but with the correct name and credit card. The check in service rep was quite friendly, courteous and responsive as was the service from all the employees. The indoor pool was most appreciated by our 2 year old granddaughter. We used no other services other than the garage. Most of our time was spent in the CMU area (Oakland Shadyside). I would book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikechnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Mike,
Thank you for sharing your DoubleTree By Hilton Pittsburgh experience. I had an opportunity to review your reservation and see that it was made through a 3rd party online travel agent. The only information they provide to us is your first and last name. All other information such as address, email address and phone number are that of the travel agency. The travel agency made two one night reservations for you, which is why at the time of check in the front desk agent believed your were only staying one night. We were able to combine both reservations so you did not have to worry about checking out and then in again. I hope this helps clarify your concerns. We appreciate you mentioning the wonderful service you received and hope your granddaughter enjoyed her visit.

Safe travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel, conveniently located if you have business on Grant Street or in the US Steel Building. Possibly not as convenient for nightlife, if that's what you desire. The room appeared to be recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I would certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel, we were immediately greeted at the front desk by April with a warm greeting and friendly smile. Check in was quick and smooth. The warm chocolate chip cookies were definitely a plus. I had requested a high floor with a city view and that is exactly what we got. The room was large, quiet and with the most comfortable bed that I've ever slept in outside of my own. Furniture was nice. The breakfast buffet was great with a nice selection and delicious coffee. Overall it was a great experience with no negatives whatsoever. I would highly recommend the downtown Double Tree and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large with a great city view and very quiet. Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor! I will make sure to extend our kudos to April for her dedication to providing excellent service. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great location for visits to Duquesne University. Easy access in/out. Staff well trained, friendly and helpful. Workout facility nice roomy size with decent equipment. Pool area is pretty. Convenient restaurant on site. Warm cookies upon arrival are a nice plus. Lobby is pleasant. Rooms nothing special but certainly clean and comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DuquesneVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located in walking distance to Duquesne University, and many other Pittsburgh area businesses and attractions. We take pride in providing each of our guests with clean and comfortable accommodations and hope to welcome you back to the Doubletree by Hilton soon with our famous warm cookies!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Due to my Hilton status I was upgraded both weeks which was very nice but both rooms were less than ideal. The first room the furniture was old and broken down. The dresser drawer came right off the tracks and landed on my foot and when I sat on the couch the cushions sunk down into the frame. The bathroom was very small with no counter space. The second room had a funny smell but was very large and had large bathroom with the sink outside the bathroom area.
They mentioned remodeled rooms so I am hoping these rooms are marked for a makeover. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good but higher priced than the allotted per diem for Pittsburgh. I will give it another try and see if a remodeled room is better.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank job_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing