We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely downtown view and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is right in the downtown area close to restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
The staff was courteous, the room was very clean and it was a plus to have one with a view of the downtown area. We slept very comfortably for a night and checked out with the valet at the parking lot. To avoid confusion, the paid guest parking lot is right behind the hotel, not the lot directly in front of the hotel (parking is cheaper there but it is a distance to walk back to the hotel). We made the mistake of going to the wrong lot at first when we arrived. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnZk_2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear BnZk_2c,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our team and service and will certainly pass them along.

We do have limited onsite valet parking where the entrance is located on Center Ave. In addition, the hotel is surrounded by two self parking garages - US Steel and Chatham Square. Both are a short walk to the hotel.

Thanks again for sharing your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the Consol Energy Center for a concert. It was a great location. Extremely clean, close to shops and restaurants, unique modern rooms, dated but WARM heated indoor pool. Breakfast was great - overall excellent experience even though the hotel was completely booked. One caveat, parking. It is valet, and costly, both of which are normal for city hotels. But, we returned to drop our car off to attend a concert at our own hotel, and could not park it because the lot had been oversold. We paid for parking for a night we could not use because there was no space for our car. When I brought it to the attention of the desk, they apologized and said if we gave it some time someone would leave. Pretty disappointing to have to pay to park in a lot across the street for our hotel. Other than that - we would return.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite unique in shape, ask questions for a room that suits your needs, attendants are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPAMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear TPAMomma,
We sincerely appreciate you taking a few moments to share your experience with us and will pass along your kind comments to our team.

We have addressed the parking issue with our garage management team and they have asked that you contact us with your confirmation number or dates of stay so we can adjust off your parking fees.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked thru Hotwire, not knowing where I'd be staying - very satisfied with Doubletree property, an excellent deal for a downtown hotel. EXCEPTIONALLY difficult to find for even an seasoned big city driver. Hotel's own website directions don't fully capture the mayhem of downtown Pitt, with corkscrews and overpasses to more overpasses, and uturns. Be ready to call them for help. Staff very friendly - pointed me to self park across the street in USSteel building, overnight was $12. So, there ARE options other than valet - you just have to be a savvy traveler. Nearby parking garage asks to see drivers license (at least at midnight) - not a problem, just a different approach. Rooms a little worn, but would recommend stay to a friend, and return myself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLXGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hey CityElf,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay while here in the Pittsburgh Area. We do sit on the far side of town and can be difficult to find at times. Anytime, please give us a call at the hotel and a Guest Service Agent will be more than happy to assist you! If you would like to provide any further feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you again!!
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The property is right downtown. The staff is friendly and welcoming with a warm cookies at reception, a kind group of car attendants in the garage, and upgraded amenities. The hotel has been kept up to date on the interior and provides for shopping and dining within walking distance.

The valets were quick to provide me with directions to anywhere I needed to go and even let me know that it might be better to walk to my destination rather than drive.

The experience was refreshing. Even with a large conference in the hotel, the staff kept their cool, weren't gossiping in the open, and strived for an excellent guest experience.

The management should be proud.

Room Tip: Higher floors may offer a better view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJDembow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Good Evening CJDembow,

Thank you so very much for the positive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to share this with higher Management and the staff. We are very proud of our staff here and strive to provide top knotch service. Again we appreciate the comments and thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent service by the staff, especially the valet guys. Hated that we had to valet park, but their attitude and helpfulness made up for it. Hotel is decent -- nothing spectacular. Rooms are clean, but could stand some updating. It was a little on the noisy side with late night/early morning partying (we were there on a football weekend, so perhaps that's why!). Good location, within walking distance or a short shuttle ride to really good restaurants and some shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickiKaye714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi MickiKaye714,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying here with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. We thank you for sharing your comments here with us. Our hotel is currently undergoing renovation. We will continue our renovation towards the end of the year to when our Hotel Occupancy is lower so we can minimize the construction noise on the floors. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would like to make future reservation and I will be sure you are in a newly renovated room.

Thank you for your comments,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh,com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed two nights for a conference. It was fine. Nothing too fancy, but not terrible either. My room (1502) had small adjoining office area that was quite nice. Beds were comfy, bathroom was clean. Small, but clean. Was given a card to insert into the light-switch to control lighting & HVAC, not really sure what that was all about, as both the lights and HVAC worked without the card. The catering at the conference was not great - food was kind of your standard big batch convention food, but the wait-staff was very friendly and did a good job. Had dinner at Bigelow Grille and was pleasantly surprised. Food there was quite good, very good service as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissambz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Good evening Mellissambz,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtwon Pittsburgh. I am so glad to see you were placed in a newly renovation rooms and apologize that you were given an Energy Conservation Card when you room has already been completed. We are in the process of Eco-Friendly rooms and the Energy Card are to be placed in the light switch to run electricty. We are very proud of our Bigelow Grille Restaruant and glad you enjoyed your meal while visiting.

We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing.

Hope you have a great evening.

Sincerely,

Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed one night on October 12th for the University of Pittsburgh Homecoming. Upon check-in we were given a warm cookie and fast service. I really don't like the valet parking, but we told them we were leaving in about an hour and our car was delivered to us quickly. Our room was clean and adequately appointed. It did seem a little dark to me, the lighting probably could be increased. Our windows looked out on airconditioning units but we were only there to sleep, so that really wasn't a problem. It was very convenient to the Pitt game the next morning and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Good evening Mac48,

I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our service and product of our Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the the University of Pittsburgh Homecoming and the warm fresh cookies at check in. We thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 73 in Pittsburgh
4,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $143 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, walkable to PPG Paints Arena, and within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and Bigelow Grille restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing