We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Odd, the room in the picture on this site is quite contemporary. Either we were "upgraded" to the oldest suite in the hotel or that photo image has been enhanced. From the look of the exterior, this building coulde be pre WWII. Our two room suite was dated and dark. The color scheme was brown and more browns with inadequate fluorescent lighting. The first room was spacious with a desk, a round table, cofee table, two end tables, couch and chair. There was a dridge and microwave, but space in the fridge for softdrinks was limited.The bedroom was "cozy" and the bathroom was tiny: pedastal sink with no counter space and a commode from the 1950s (small and low to the ground). Due to the small size of the bedroom, I was able to sit on the bed and use the mirrored doors of the closet when applying makeup. If I had used the bathroom, the only space for toilettries would have been the toilet seat. Although we were on the 13th floor, the street noise was horrendous. No double pane windows! Did I mention the draft from the bedroom window? The mattress was "gutless". The lobby is small as is the lounge/bar within Bigelow Grille, the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast was included in our room rate. The buffet had a selection of diced fruits, breads for toasting (the breads were good), mushy bagels and croissants, danishes, muffins, cereals, oatmeal, and hot plate bacon, eggs, sausages and pancakes. On the weekends there is an omelet station. Our only ohter food experience at the Bigelow Grille was on the evening we arrived. I ordered an "organic greens salad with seasonal vegetables". Oh dear! The lettuce was well past its prime, the vegetables were grape tomatoes (seasonal and regional??) and someone served 100% olive oil as the salad dressing. Yes, the vinegar and seasonings were forgotten.

The major plus for this hotel are the employees. They are very friendly and helpful. When we inquired about taking a bus to the Carnegie Museum of Natural history, We were placed into one of the shuttles and delivered to the museum's door. Housekeeping was courteous and efficient. The front desk staff were very well trained. I regret that their facility is past its prime.

Frankly. I only chose the hotel because i needed the stay to maintain my Hilton Honor Gold status and the Doubletree was my main Hilton choice downtown. Pittsburg is a lovely city and Hilton needs to step up to the plate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Accounting Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Accounting Professor,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.com. We are very proud of the service provided by our team members and will certainly share your kind comments with them.

We are in the process of renovating all our guest rooms and regret that you did not get to experience one of them during this visit. The photos reflected on our hotel website are a combination of new and old rooms. There is a link to our website at the top of this page. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to the Pittsburgh area and I will ensure that you receive one of our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards and safe travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is located downtown, but at its outer border, so only one side faces downtown. There is nothing interesting in direct vicinity, so you have to walk 200 m from the hotel to reach main streets. The rooms vary in standard. We were 5 people booking rooms on the same day paying the same amount (200$ SIC!!!) and received very different rooms, both in terms of size and standard. But one was similar- the bathroom was of a size of a nut shell. Some of us got suites, some of us small rooms. Even the same suites (one over another) were very different. One was renovated another old dated with ugly wallpapers dating '80. The ugly one had microwave, the newer not. I have stayed in many cities across US, always downtown and this was the worst choice so far looking at the standard/price ratio. Regarding breakfast I found many things including nice fruits but not even a single vegetable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while your group traveled through Pittsburgh. We appreciate your candid review of our property and apologize that the experience was not uniform for everyone in your party. As you noticed we are in the process of updating our rooms and we are doing so in phases to ensure quality and keep guest disturbance to a minimum. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis and we appreciate your input. Thank you again for your comments and please feel free to share any additional feedback or suggestions with us any time.

Thank you,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on September 29 for a pirates baseball game. The staff were really friendly and shuttle service was great. Rooms were average at best. Stayed on the 17th floor and could hear every car and truck outside. It was really loud for a Sunday morning. Vending machines only sold drinks and downstairs store had very few snacks. This hotel was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi Scott16,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Downtown Pittsburgh. I hope you enjoyed the Pirates Baseball game while you were visiting. I'm glad the staff was friendly and you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service throughout the downtown area. I apologize for the noise on the 17th floor. That does seem quite odd for a Sunday Morning. We do not fill our vending machines with snacks because the 7-11 convinent store is in our lobby level open from 7am - 11pm. Again, we thank you for sharing and we maybe the next time you visit, we can get you on a higher floor away from all the noise.

Thanks,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently stayed at this property for our son's wedding. The service from all the departments was outstanding! The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The moment we arrived they catered to our every need, making sure we were happy with every aspect of our stay. The banquet staff exceeded our expectations, and again the level of service they provided was incredible. The bell staff even assisted several of our wedding guests that had problems with the local cab services, making sure they arrived at the church in time for the ceremony. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are a little small, but that was a very minor inconvenience as compared to the fabulous service received. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely take the room upgrade to the suite if offered. Only $15 more and very worthwhile.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hello,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh - Downtown. We are very glad to know that your sons wedding was a success. We know that you have a choice of hotels in the area and are pleased that you chose our property for your stay. Our team strives to provide the highest quality of service and we hope that we have another opportunity to serve you in the future. If wish to provide further feedback or need assistance with a future reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.


Thank you,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in a king suite. The suite was large enough to be a one bedroom apartment. Service was good and the hotel is an easy drive into the city although we did not travel in during rush hour. Breakfast comes with the room and it is a buffet however there is a omelet station which gives you the opportunity to by-pass the scrambled eggs on the buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the best experience of Pittsburgh's lights at night.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Goodevening,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. I see you reserved a room including Breakfast. We have some great deals with breakfast included and I'm glad you had the opportunity to enjoy a fresh breakfast in the Bigelow Grille. The Omelet station is a hit. Fresh omletes cooked the way you order. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to email or call me if you need any assistance with furture reservations.

Thank you,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have worked in the service/hospitality industry for over 30 years, so I like to believe I am a travel/hotel expert at this point in my life. I have stayed at many Doubletree properties and have never had an experience close to the one I had during a recent stay in Pittsburgh. My husband and I were in town to attend a retirement party at the Duquense Club and stayed for 2 nights. From the moment we walked in and met April at the front desk we felt at home! She welcomed us with a great smile and a warm cookie, as she checked us in she filled us in on all the must know places to eat and sight-see in the city, all great suggestions by the way. Every time we walked by the front desk she would wave and inquire about our day/evening and always offer us another welcomed cookie. The hotel itself was beautiful and the room was modern and clean. The complimentary shuttle is a great option and the valet parking garage is safe and convenient. We both highly recommend the restaurant located in the lobby it was fresh, local and AMAZING!! By far the highlight of my mini-vacation was my stay at this lovely hotel, great staff all around....Excellent Job Pittsburgh Doubletree!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hello Helga V,

Thank you so very much for the positive feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate the kind words about April. I will be sure to post this comment in the hotel and share this with her. Theres nothing like traveling away from home, and having a warm welcome including the warm chocolate chip walnut cookie. Thank you for sharing with others. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you again,
Ashley Tyrrell
Front Desk Manager
atyrrell@doubletreepgh.com
412.281.5800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a Steeler/Jet game and enjoyed the hotel. The free shuttle around the city was great to go have a few drinks and get a ride back to the hotel. The area was quiet but it didn't matter because the subway stop and free shuttle made it accessible to any area in Pittsburgh. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were very helpful. Would recommend to anybody who asks. Just bring a cooler due to no fridge.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4JETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please note that we do provide complimentary refrigerators to our guests upon request so we would be happy to make those arrangements for you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $162 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing