We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Doubletree - Could use some updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dru_travels_alot
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Standard Doubletree - Could use some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

As out-of-towners we found this Doubletree a little hard to locate. It's sign is small and there was a lot of construction in the area which made it a bit tricky to locate at night. Also, we had to pull over at the lobby area and go in and ask where to park. The valet is in the parking garage which is located behind the hotel and not marked that clearly.

The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming upon checking in.

Our room - suite actually - was VERY large. The living room area was huge. It had a small frig, pullout couch bed, a chair, desk etc. Some of the furniture was very worn and needs some serious updating. The bedroom was nice and the bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv in the bedroom. Oddly enough, for having so much space in the suite the bathroom was really small.

We were on the 13th floor. At about 9/9:30am we started hearing power tools going off in the room next to us. Apparently, they are renovating this floor.

The location is good in the city. Very walkable to everything. The hotel is located very close the UPMC (directly across the street) and BNY buildings.

The hotel breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel bar at night was also a good place to relax.

One thing that was strange about our stay was that when we were going to leave we couldn't! The bellman informed us that there was a parade and all of the roads around the hotel were blocked off. So we had to wait 45 minutes. This was very annoying. I realize it was not the hotels fault but it would have been nice to receive some kind of advance notice that if we had somewhere to be (which we did) we needed to exit the garage by a certain time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DES_travels_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the Labor Day Parade. With all the PennDot construction taking place around the hotel, we were unable to use an alternative exit. The city Police Officer on duty at our garage exit was a particular character builder - not even a warm DoubleTree cookie could persuade her to release some vehicles waiting to exit the garage.

Thanks again for your review.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    506
    237
    116
    45
See reviews for
397
337
76
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Due to construction and the very weird street design of Pitsburgh, this was not easy to find. However, it was worth the search. The staff were very helpful. The room and bathroom were large and full of amenities, and the food at the restaurant was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
We truly appreciate your positive review and your comments about our staff. We sincerely apologize for the outside construction and related traffic congestion and want you to know that it will be complete within the next 40 days.

Thanks again,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Disappointing hotel. The rooms are dark and there was a bedbugs scare whilst we were there. The restaurant was way below what you would expect in a city centre hotel and the bar is cramped and poorly lit.
There are better hotels in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your brief review and I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about Bed Bugs. As you mentioned, there was a member of your group who claimed to have been bitten by Bed Bugs. Terminix were called in to inspect the room and did not find any evidence of Bed Bug activity. While Bed Bugs are a constant threat for hotels, we do have an aggressive preventative maintenance pest program in place to keep ahead of any potential problems.

Should you or any potential guests have any comments or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently came to Pittsburgh for a wedding (which actually was at the William Penn) but selected to stay at the DoubleTree. The front desk check-in went smoothly and the staff was nice. We found the hotel to be in very good shape. Our room was clean, spacious (we had a suite), and everything was in working order. As with other reviews, the exercise room was impressive with plenty of name brand equipment covering a large area which overlooks the pool. We did not have a problem with parking at the U.S. Steel Center located across the street from the hotel. We parked our car there around 8 PM Friday evening and existed around noon on Sunday - total cost was $24. I guess the weekend rates are much better than the weekday rates. We would recommend it to others and would stay there if we ever are in downtown Pittsburgh again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. As you mentioned, parking at the US Steel building on weekends is a less expensive option to our parking garage if you do not require the use of your vehicle during your stay. Guests can certainly pull up to our front door to unload and check in and then park the vehicle in the US Steel garage across the road.

Should you have any questions or require directions to the US Steel parking garage, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or the hotel at 412-+281-5800.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel was nice - no problems there. But watch out for the mandatory valet parking. First of all, the young guys driving the cars drove around the parking garage like speed demons. On the last day, they scraped the paint off the bumper of our brand new car ... then scuttled off without telling us! Although we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we will not stay here again because of the parking.

Room Tip: We had confirmed reservations for a room with a king size bed but got a room with a queen size bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieSayHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience with the hotel staff. Your experience with valet parking is in no way a reflection of the high standards of service that we pride ourselves in here at the Doubletree. I can assure you that this experience is not typical and is being addressed. If you would like to provide further feedback or to find out more about our committment to your satisfaction and resolution, please contact me directly at smasullo@doubletreepgh.com.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stay at the DoubleTree quite often. I enjoy the location, the staff, the clean wonderful rooms. I always feel like I am arriving home when I enter the lobby. My last stay was wonderful! My room was upgraded to a suite, what a nice anniversary girft from the DoubleTree, we attended the Pittsburgh Irish festival and returned to the hotel for a good nights sleep and woke to wonderful breakfast at the Bigelow Grille.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room 1714 is my favorite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesZ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience during your stay with us. I am glad that you had a wonderful anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Front Office Manager
Stephanie Masullo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel was spotless. Free in room internet, and free business office including computers and printer. Staff was great, rooms cleaned several times a day while not disturbing personal items. Thanks to Prith, for a great breakfast in the restaurant. Nice pool and fitness room. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, complimentary WiFi and a full service business center are some of the added amenities that you receive as our guest. We take pride in providing you with clean and comfortable accomodations. We are also very proud of Prith and his committment to providing excellent customer service.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing