We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Good Selection”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently came to Pittsburgh for a wedding (which actually was at the William Penn) but selected to stay at the DoubleTree. The front desk check-in went smoothly and the staff was nice. We found the hotel to be in very good shape. Our room was clean, spacious (we had a suite), and everything was in working order. As with other reviews, the exercise room was impressive with plenty of name brand equipment covering a large area which overlooks the pool. We did not have a problem with parking at the U.S. Steel Center located across the street from the hotel. We parked our car there around 8 PM Friday evening and existed around noon on Sunday - total cost was $24. I guess the weekend rates are much better than the weekday rates. We would recommend it to others and would stay there if we ever are in downtown Pittsburgh again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. As you mentioned, parking at the US Steel building on weekends is a less expensive option to our parking garage if you do not require the use of your vehicle during your stay. Guests can certainly pull up to our front door to unload and check in and then park the vehicle in the US Steel garage across the road.

Should you have any questions or require directions to the US Steel parking garage, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or the hotel at 412-+281-5800.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    524
    250
    121
    51
See reviews for
420
355
80
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel was nice - no problems there. But watch out for the mandatory valet parking. First of all, the young guys driving the cars drove around the parking garage like speed demons. On the last day, they scraped the paint off the bumper of our brand new car ... then scuttled off without telling us! Although we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we will not stay here again because of the parking.

Room Tip: We had confirmed reservations for a room with a king size bed but got a room with a queen size bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieSayHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience with the hotel staff. Your experience with valet parking is in no way a reflection of the high standards of service that we pride ourselves in here at the Doubletree. I can assure you that this experience is not typical and is being addressed. If you would like to provide further feedback or to find out more about our committment to your satisfaction and resolution, please contact me directly at smasullo@doubletreepgh.com.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stay at the DoubleTree quite often. I enjoy the location, the staff, the clean wonderful rooms. I always feel like I am arriving home when I enter the lobby. My last stay was wonderful! My room was upgraded to a suite, what a nice anniversary girft from the DoubleTree, we attended the Pittsburgh Irish festival and returned to the hotel for a good nights sleep and woke to wonderful breakfast at the Bigelow Grille.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room 1714 is my favorite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesZ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience during your stay with us. I am glad that you had a wonderful anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Front Office Manager
Stephanie Masullo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel was spotless. Free in room internet, and free business office including computers and printer. Staff was great, rooms cleaned several times a day while not disturbing personal items. Thanks to Prith, for a great breakfast in the restaurant. Nice pool and fitness room. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, complimentary WiFi and a full service business center are some of the added amenities that you receive as our guest. We take pride in providing you with clean and comfortable accomodations. We are also very proud of Prith and his committment to providing excellent customer service.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I but a bid in on Priceline and received this hotel as the hotel for my one night stay. I got a very reasonable price for this location and weekend. When I checked in I did try to get a single bed, but because they were so booked they only had 2 doubles. Priceline always books the room as 2 double no matter how many people listed as staying. This was fine.

The room was on the 9th floor, a bit closer to the elevator area than I like but was good. The layout of the room is a bit strange, probably since they took over the Ramada Suites and had to remodel around some of the structure. The beds were comfortable, maybe a little soft for my liking. The room was very clean and the air worked well.

The bathroom itself was a bit small. The sink was a pedestal style and you did have to close the door to get into the shower. As mentioned by others there is no fan in the bathroom. There is a large area right outside the bathroom with a counter and large mirror for anyone needing more space. The towels were very thick and good.

There was also a desk area sort of behind the bathroom and off from the bedroom area. The Wi-Fi signal in the room was great. The view from the room though really wasn't anything, but I wasn't there for the view.

The hotel does have a shuttle to downtown and other areas, but it does get busy on the weekend. Also there is a shuttle bus that goes over to the Rivers Casino that the casino runs if you want to spend time over there. There is a $10 charge but you get $10 credit to your Players card if you join or already have one.

They had a breakfast buffet for $15 on the weekend. It was good and had a lot of items including omelets they would make for your, but seemed a little high in price. Parking on the weekends is $20 and valet, but you have to drive around to the parking entrance. They don't take it from the front of the hotel. There are elevators then to the rooms or lobby.

All in all was a good place to stay, esp for the reduced rate I received for the room. There is a lot of construction around the hotel making it somewhat confusing getting around, but the noise during the night doesn't appear to be an issue anymore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your experience regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We take pride in providing clean and comfortable accomodations to our guests, and we are committed to providing excellent customer service. Navigating a city like Pittsburgh when there are detours, roads closed, construction etc., can be somewhat of a challenge. AIthough they do not work through the night, I am glad to share that the construction in the downtown area is very soon coming to an end. If your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we hope that you will choose Doubletree by Hilton.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean, friendly, beautiful place to stay. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prusso2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for a weekend wedding. The one bedroom suite room was very nice, clean, & comfortable. The pull-out couch was an added value since there were 3 of us. The room & hotel were very clean, a #1 priority on my list. The bathroom & bedroom were kind of small, but accommodating, & we had an ugly rooftop view. Overall I would recommend this hotel, although the price was above average for an average hotel. Location was central. Restaurant was overpriced, & they forgot to give us our cookies.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gointothecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasullo, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. All of our one bedroom suites have pull-out sofas to accomodate larger parties. We are glad that we could comfortably accomodate you. We take pride in providing our guests with clean rooms and work very hard to achieve nothing less than 100% satisfaction. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing