We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Champaign IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but Noisy”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is nice, in a good location and the staff was friendly, but we had some noise issues

We used our Hilton Honor points for the stay so I was assuming we would be given a nicer than normal room location. We went to the Pirates game (a 15 minute walk and a beautiful stadium) and got back to the room around 10:30 only to encounter annoying jackhammer noise on the construction site below us.
Friday morning starting at 830, we were awakened to more very loud construction noises (power sander, loud voices, dropping of tools) on the floor above us.

While the hotel itself was nice and enjoyable, I feel that we should have at least been made aware of the potential of the noise problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Family of Hotels and apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered. PennDot are currently working on a number of bridges surrounding the hotel and are working through out the night. They have agreed to cease using the heavier equipment at midnight so as not to disturb our guests. We expect the bridge demolition to be completed by the end of August and do not anticipate any further overnight disruptions.

Best Regards..

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    530
    255
    122
    53
See reviews for
424
359
83
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was at a different hotel the week before and wanted to change hotels. Both Chad Giger and Judy Costello helped me get a room and when I requested a refrigerator for medications, they upgraded me to a 1 bedroom suite.
The room was quite comfortable and the bed had much more support than the hotel that I stayed at the prior week! Excellent room service and attentive staff make this hotel delightful.
Two cons - the bathroom IS quite small. I did balance my toothbrush and brush on the little shelf over the toilet, but it worked out. The other issue was the ongoing construction right next door (on the roads and overpasses). There IS a limit to what the hotel can do for that problem! However, I loved the freshbaked cookie and the 7-11 right next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDebsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We love to hear from seasoned travellers and appreciate your kind comments. As you mentioned, our bathrooms are smaller than your typical hotel and our new room design addresses the need for additional bathroom storage space. In regards to the overnight PennDOT construction, we understand that the demo/noisy phase is almost complete and do not anticipate any additional noise there after. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The DoubleTree was absolutely wonderful! They fitness area was probably one of the the best I have ever seen in a hotel! Absolutely wonderful and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our fitness center and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I checked in very late so I only can review the room. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, I was happy. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your stay. We always appreciate receiving reviews from seasoned travellers and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights from a Friday to Monday. Every staff we encountered were extremely courteous and helpful. From front desk (Gosia) to the bellhop (Brian and Kyle) to the complimentary shuttle driver (the retired policeman). My young daughter asked daily for extra cookies and everyone was obliging. We were told the hotel was fully booked and yet we didn't wait long for check-in nor for the elevator during the 4 days we were there. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle that took us to the Pittsburgh Children Museum, the Strip District and the Station Square. We were picked up at the exact location the driver told us to wait and he would arrive within the time he told us for pickups.

We stayed at a standard room with 2 double beds. We were very pleased with the size of the room. The bathroom could stand do be a bigger since we have 2 young children with us. It would even be better if there's a fridge and safe in the room. My husband was not very satisfied with the complimentary WIFI. He found it extremely slow.

Beware of construction around the hotel. It made getting in and out of the hotel a little challenging until we got the hang of it. We were on the 10th floor so we did hear noise from the construction site but the noise of the air conditioning inside our room washed it out for the most part.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus_Bossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your great review. We trukt appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great hotel especially the cookies. Drove from New York and we were delighted to have been upgraded to Junior Suite after long drive. Breakfast was great and it was lovely to sit outside after with our coffee and Danish. Highly Recommend this hotel and this city for tax free shopping

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Parking is expensive in downtown Pitt. and coupled with high traffic volume and construction...my advice would be to stay outside the immediate downtown area.
The hotel is adequate:
positvies: well priced, indoor pool and gym
negatives: VERY crowded pool and we were awakened on Sunday morning to construction in the room above. (it was stopped when I complained).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmibMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. As you mentioned, PennDot is repairing a nearby overpass and as a result has created some traffic headaches for our guests who are not familiar with the city. If you have any questions in regards to directions please don't hesitate to call for clarification.

Our pool can be crowded with families and kids during the weekends. Swimming later in the evening will avoid the crowding.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will try us again once the construction project is complete.

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing