We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I checked in very late so I only can review the room. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, I was happy. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your stay. We always appreciate receiving reviews from seasoned travellers and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    511
    240
    117
    48
See reviews for
402
345
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights from a Friday to Monday. Every staff we encountered were extremely courteous and helpful. From front desk (Gosia) to the bellhop (Brian and Kyle) to the complimentary shuttle driver (the retired policeman). My young daughter asked daily for extra cookies and everyone was obliging. We were told the hotel was fully booked and yet we didn't wait long for check-in nor for the elevator during the 4 days we were there. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle that took us to the Pittsburgh Children Museum, the Strip District and the Station Square. We were picked up at the exact location the driver told us to wait and he would arrive within the time he told us for pickups.

We stayed at a standard room with 2 double beds. We were very pleased with the size of the room. The bathroom could stand do be a bigger since we have 2 young children with us. It would even be better if there's a fridge and safe in the room. My husband was not very satisfied with the complimentary WIFI. He found it extremely slow.

Beware of construction around the hotel. It made getting in and out of the hotel a little challenging until we got the hang of it. We were on the 10th floor so we did hear noise from the construction site but the noise of the air conditioning inside our room washed it out for the most part.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus_Bossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your great review. We trukt appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great hotel especially the cookies. Drove from New York and we were delighted to have been upgraded to Junior Suite after long drive. Breakfast was great and it was lovely to sit outside after with our coffee and Danish. Highly Recommend this hotel and this city for tax free shopping

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Parking is expensive in downtown Pitt. and coupled with high traffic volume and construction...my advice would be to stay outside the immediate downtown area.
The hotel is adequate:
positvies: well priced, indoor pool and gym
negatives: VERY crowded pool and we were awakened on Sunday morning to construction in the room above. (it was stopped when I complained).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmibMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. As you mentioned, PennDot is repairing a nearby overpass and as a result has created some traffic headaches for our guests who are not familiar with the city. If you have any questions in regards to directions please don't hesitate to call for clarification.

Our pool can be crowded with families and kids during the weekends. Swimming later in the evening will avoid the crowding.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will try us again once the construction project is complete.

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Went there this past weekend for a wedding, it was very hot outside - mid 90's. The ball room started out ok but once it loaded up with attendees for the wedding the air conditioning could not keep up. Nothing like spending the evening in a monkey suit with a light film of sweat for the entire evening. Afterwards we stayed over night and the room didn't cool down well at all. Room accomodations were nice but slightly worn. Didn't sleep well because of the warm room. If I had a crystal ball I would have avoided a weekend at this venue when the outside temps were so high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkD15668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. We sincerely apologize for the mechanical failure with the ballroom air conditioning unit. The excessive humidity on that particular day casued the unit to malfunction. We have since corrected the problem and the unit is now 100%. In regards to your room, we encourage all guests to leave their Energy Conservation Card in the wall particularly during the summer months to ensure that the Air Conditioner maintains a comfortable temperature.

Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and want to assure that this is not a normal occurence at the hotel.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was on a business trip and stayed there for a month and a half. The climate outside was chilling but there was a lot of warmth at the hotel through the excellent service provided. I had complimentary palatable breakfast to start my day and some excellent cookies to end my day. Room service was mind blowing with all services available just a call away. The swimming pool was beautiful and very well maintained and state-of-the-art Gym was of its kind. Everything else was a stones throw from the hotel. It had a lovely store at the hotel ground floor with all kind of daily goods available. Overall, it was an experience of its kind I would cherish forever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajabanerjeeibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Some expesive electronics and personal belongs were stolen from my vehicle while in the care of Double Tree's valet parking. Over $500.00 worth of items including a pair of Nike Kobe Bryant shoes, iPod Touch, iPod Dock, and pocket knife. Do not stay here and surely do now surrender your vehicle to the valet parking staff! This is utterly ridiculous and a file has been opened on Double Tree Hotel & Suites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awildasin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We appreciate you taking a moment to outline your frustration in regards to the alleged theft of items from your vehicle. In our 22 years of partnership with K7 Parking Company, we have never had an incident such as this. We strongly encourage you to file a police report as items reported stolen two days after check out is a most unusual case.

Best Regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 1 Bigelow Sq, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown - in the heart of the central business district between the U.S. Steel Tower and BNY Mellon Complexes, within 25 minutes of Pittsburgh International (PIT) Airport. Features complimentary shuttle around downtown and convenient access to the 'T' public transport from downtown to North Shore, spacious guest rooms and suites with free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and other amenities you will need for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing