We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband, six-year old son, and I just returned from a three night stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island. We originally planned to stay only two nights, but ended up staying another because we were enjoying Pittsburgh and the hotel so much.

The hotel is only a year or so old, so everything there is new and fresh. We stayed the first two nights in a queen suite. The bedroom had two queen beds (extremely comfortable and each had 5 huge pillows), closet, large dresser, nightstand, and a large screen television. Additionally, there was a clock radio, and to our amusement, it had buttons you could press to listen to pop, country, oldies, or rock music. Not a big deal, but a nice bonus.

The living area was separated from the bedroom by a partial wall, and included a sleeper sofa, chair, MP3 docking station, large flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and desk. We had to switch rooms for our last night there and moved to a king suite, which was just a lovely as the queen, only with just a king sized bed in the bedroom. That last night, we also ended up staying on the river side of the hotel where we had a tremendous view of the water and bridge. Be sure to ask for an odd numbered room to stay on the river side!

The bathroom was a fairly large size with toiletries including Pantene shampoo and conditioner, soaps, and makeup removal pads.

The hotel has a small fitness room with two treadmills (with televisions), a stairmaster, bike, and weights. The room is right next to the pool area, so my six-year old got a kick out of stopping there first to exercise before swimming.

The indoor pool area is not huge, but is sufficient. There are about two dozen chairs and loungers around the pool, including several tables. There is also a toy box there including noodles, arm floaters, tubes, and water toys for guests to use in the pool. Having all the toys available was just another extra that made this hotel so great.

The pool is an average size and goes from 3 feet to 5 feet, with a small waterfall on one side. There is also a hot tub next to the pool that looks out the wall of windows toward the river and the hotel's patio seating area. We visited the pool about 5 times in the 4 days we were there because, unlike most hotels that close the pools early, this one was open until 11 p.m.

The patio seating area has many tables with umbrellas, a hammock, heaters, and a lounge area around a fire pit that gets lighted every night at dusk and burns until 11 p.m. or so. The area was a terrific hang out place in the evenings!

Breakfast includes waffles with syrup or with strawberries and whipped cream, bagels, donuts, muffins, danish, English muffins, toast, yogurt, cold cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juices, milk, coffee, and tea. Plenty of choices available so no one will go hungry. You can eat outside at several tables or inside where there are tables and chairs, arm chairs, and couches around tables. Also, coffee and tea are available 24 hours in the breakfast area.

There's a King's restaurant in front of the hotel that you can walk to. And down the road, about a mile, there is a great place for drinks and dinner - the Paradise Island Bowl and Beach. The restaurant part is actually a "beach" area, complete with palm trees and sand, adjacent to the river. There's a large bar and comfortable plastic tables and chairs. They even have a stage and have bands playing frequently. It was just a great relaxing place to go eat where you feel you are at the beach somewhere instead of in Pittsburgh.

While the hotel is not right in Pittsburgh proper, you still are close enough that you can get to downtown in 10 to 15 minutes. The beautiful hotel and wonderful views were well worth having a bit of a drive.

I usually like to try different hotels when we revisit a place, but the next time we go to Pittsburgh (this was our third visit there), we'll be staying at this hotel again in one of the river view rooms. For the price, amenities, and close-enough location, we haven't found a hotel in the area that comes close!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    112
    33
    16
    12
See reviews for
145
57
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I was on a college visit and stayed here for a night with my mom. The complex was clean and welcoming. We met a lot of families with small children who were also staying there (for weeks at a time). The complimentary continental breakfast was fantastic with waffles, yogurt, bagels, etc. It is a bit pricey but I would pay that amount to feel safe. The free internet is a big plus. It wasn't even noisy vis a vis it's proximity to a major throughway. The only complaint I have is that they forgot to change out the ice bag...but that's a minute thing. Great night of sleep/clean linens. Promptly delivered me a toothbrush when I forgot mine. 1 restaurant nearby but others deliver to it for free. Pleased, overall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerville ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here last night while my daughter registered at Pitt. A wonderful hotel close to everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel still feels brand new even after being open for 10 months. An oddity, they put the sheets and comforters on the bed while they are still damp to avoid wrinkles. With only one chair, you sit on the bed and a peculiar feeling happens. This was quickly fixed by replacing the bedding with "dry" things by a very pleasant man. It was a little strange though. The breakfast is the standard fare. The river view is slightly obstructed by mature trees. I would stay here again as the price is excellent for the proximity to downtown. It is located right off of I-79 but in the middle of nowhere. There is one restaurant located directly in front of the hotel but it is not open yet. Looks like any day now though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms7ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Myself and 3 friends just returned from a trip to NYC. We are from the Columbus, Ohio area and got great deals on JetBlue if we flew out of PIT. So we searched the airport hotels and found this little gem only 15 miles away from the airport. It was a great overnight stay. The room was good size and the staff was very helpful especially in the morning when the traffic was busy they helped with an alternative route to the airport so we wouldn't be sitting on the freeway. The breakfast was great! Waffles made to order, breakfast sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, hot/cold cereal, donuts, bread for toast, coffee, juice, tea, milk and I am sure that I have left out a lot. Great spot for airport access! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbums5837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Brand new hotel about ten miles outside of downtown Pittsburgh. Easy to get to everything, although there really isnt anything in the imediate area, it is tucked away for sure but well worth it. They did have a shuttle bus to the airport as well, you would just be stuck if you dont have your own car with its location.
The odd number rooms overlook the Ohio River and bridge so the view is actually nice for where this hotel is hidden. They are building a resturant right in front of the hotel which will be perfect as long as the food and prices are good. DO NOT ORDER FROM ANTHONY JR'S which is pretty much the only place in town that delivers and is suggested in the hotel info. The food was terrible and made us both violently ill. Seriously it was bad.
The staff was wonderful but the room was not cleaned since we left later in the after noon to go out (and informed them of this when we were leaving that afternoon) but towels and things were readily available if we called. Never got up early enough to try the breakfast that looked to be the usual of mini items to taste but not fill up on. The neighboring towns where duds. Nothing to see or do, but they do have a Rite Aid/Walgreens type store if you need any toiletry items or meds and on the way back from downtown we did stumble on a dairy queen for desert.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYWildOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinzers, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I am a frequent traveler, and usually stay at the Marriot in downtown Pittsburgh when in the area. The rates were very high on this last trip, so we found this hotel.

First, it is NEW. This cannot be said enough. It looks as though no one has stayed there yet. The rooms are very clean, and the bathrooms are pristine. Everything still shines.

The staff is wonderful. I actually made jokes with one young lady, regarding imaginary dust, just to see her reaction. She told me pleasantly, it would be taken care of at once. I'm sure it would have been, had it been real. Everyone was happy to take care of us, and genuinely thrilled that we loved their new hotel.

The pool/spa area are beyond what one would expect at a chain hotel. They are more like a resort. The pool furniture is what you would want at home, not the usual plastic chairs. Each chair had a rolled towel on the seat, and another hung over the back. Nice towels, too. Not the usual cheap, rough ones that seem to be in most hotels.
The jucuzzi was perfect, with a small waterfall flowing into the pool.
Our college age children had an absolute ball using both.

The exercise room has brand new equipment, with tv's attached to each.

While the kids were in the pool, we sat out in the courtyard and enjoyed the large firepit. The courtyard is directly behind the pool room, so you can watch the kids while enjoying the quiet of the evening on the river.

The location is not the greatest, but staying downtown can be much more of a headache. Just getting out of the hotels downtown, and driving around can spoil a vacation. If you're planning on driving anyway, get out of the city, and enjoy yourself.

I have certainly found where I will spend every night while in Pittsburgh. It's nothing fancy, but so new, so clean, and such amazing rates. I am beyond happy with it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I have stayed at many different hotels while traveling for personal and business purposes both nationawide and internationally. There is a gentleman named Brian who works in the early AM during breakfast. Brian is the most friendly, genuinely professional, positive and optimistic employee I have ever met in any 1-5 star hotel. I will continue to come back because Brian's customer service and attitude is so unbelievable. I have directed many others to this hotel and have told them to keep an eye out for Brian and tell me what you think. Everyone thinks this guy is top notch quality and I would be completely surprised if he is not managing this hotel and many others soon. I wish I could find employees with half of his professional and optimistic outlook and attitude. 5 stars to Brian for starting every guests day on the right foot. Pool, hot tub, fitness equipment works great, make sure to stop by Labelo's in Coraopolis for best Itialin food and desert, not much to do for leisure in this area but drive farther down and you will see some of the original giant steel mills Pittsburgh had to offer that made it so big. Lots of history in this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
8.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport/Robinson Township
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South-Robinson Mall
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Address: 5850 Grand Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15225-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Convenient among Pittsburgh hotels, this hotel is ideally located off I-79, 15 miles to the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) and 10 miles to downtown Pittsburgh. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island offers spacious and modern guest room, comfy mattresses, fluffy pillows and cozy blankets, spacious bathrooms and well lit work space with free wired and wireless High Speed Internet. Start your day with our new FREE hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and sausage. The Market is open 24 hours for snacks, beverages or sundry items. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or fitness center. Take advantage of our Business Center with free Wi-Fi and free local calls. Enjoy the convenience of our free shuttle service to local businesses, restaurants and entertainment. Experience an ideal location and terrific service at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Pittsburgh Neville Island Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing