We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at this hotel. The hotel is located on Neville Island right on the Ohio River. While Neville Island isn't anything to write home about (it's an old Industrial island), the hotel is located on a bluff overlooking the river with great views of the I-79 bridge. It takes about 20 minutes to get to downtown Pittsburgh from this property, but the drive has plenty of scenic views.

The hotel is extremely clean and well-decorated. The employees were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable.

As far as amenities go, the hotel has an indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Also, there is a fire pit on the back patio (with plenty of seating) so that you can relax and enjoy the evening while watching the river.

The continental breakfast had plenty of choices and lots of seating. The breakfast staff was very attentive and made sure everything was well-stocked.

The only negative would be that there aren't many restaurants on the island. There is a King's Family Restaurant right next door, but that's about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel on the 4th floor for a great view of the Ohio River.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

bcmitchell35,
I’m delighted to hear of your pleasant stay and appreciate you sharing your experience with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Neville Island. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our great location, friendly staff, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 309 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Attentive staff. Work Hard to please their customers. When issues arise they are handled quickly and efficiently and every employee is made aware of the situation and resolution. The customer is always kept aware. I would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Steve P,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Fairfield In n& Suites Neville Island. I appreciate your kind comments about our attentive staff, and I’m glad you felt well taken care of during your visit. I will certainly pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had actually booked to stay the Courtyard by Marriot close to the airport, but Hotels.Com didn't actually reserve a room for us. We were finally able to find a room at the Fairfield Inn on Neville Island. It is about a 20 minute drive to the airport from here. The hotel is clean and the staff were very helpful. We had to leave before breakfast was served so I can't comment on that. The hotel also had BBQs out back for the guests to use. That is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greystone26508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Greystone26508,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Neville Island. We appreciate your kind comments about our clean hotel and friendly staff. We hope you’ll have another opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This property has some cool features - an outdoor firepit overlooking the Ohio River, a large common area, some rooms with views of the river. But it 's getting a little shabby in some areas. Our room had a big stain on the drapes, worn furniture, really thin towels and bedspread. It 's an adequate place to stay though and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

dms1878,
We appreciate you taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites. I’m glad you enjoyed the cool features that our property has to offer, and found our staff helpful during your visit. I apologize for the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for business in Sewickley, so it was a very convenient location. They were able to accommodate a quiet room overlooking the river. Breakfast was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side of hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAC_CocoaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

RAC_CocoaBeach,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites while on business. I’m glad our convenient location suited your travel needs, and our quiet accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had originally planned to stay downtown in Pittsburgh but we didn't realize that we were visiting the same weekend that the university students were having their graduation ceremonies. The hotels were sold out our the remaining rooms were very expensive so we wound up choosing the Fairfield on Neville Island.

It is in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing but industry around it, and it's about 15 minutes to drive downtown. Our stay was a bit of a mixed bag. On the positive side, our room was a reasonable size, with a nicely laid out washroom. The bed was comfortable, and despite some teen sports teams staying in the hotel, we didn't hear any noise and slept very well.

On the negative side, the housekeeping seems to be a bit sloppy. Our room didn't have a bath mat for the floor on the night we arrived which we noticed when showering the next morning. Housekeeping didn't bother making the bed the next day as it was left with the covers pulled up just like we left it in the morning. They also missed emptying one of the wastebaskets. In bathroom we found that they had taken one of the towels but didn't replace it so I had to fetch one from the front desk.

On the so-so side, the breakfast is decent. Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal, waffles, cereal, bread, bagels. However, it was the exact same breakfast the next morning. Our stay was for 2 nights, but for a longer stay, some variety would be appreciated.

Overall, if the housekeeping improved, I'd stay again for a short trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

AllOrange,
Thank you for writing a review. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you liked our accommodations, comfortable bed, and quiet hotel. I appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not met with our excellence in service. I have addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff to improve our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

At first impression, this hotel was perfect considering the distance from downtown: great views, friendly and welcoming staff, decent breakfast and reasonably priced. However, we first asked for towels and it took over 3 hours to receive them (seriously). I went downstairs to get them myself and was told that they don't keep the towels at the front desk. The staff apologized.

The next day, we went out and came back and the beds were still unmade, the trash had not been emptied, there were no new cups to the coffee maker, etc. Fortunately, we had the towels from the day before. We were told that we had to ask for our room to be cleaned. My mom and I had to empty the trash (granted this was my graduation weekend) and my mom made her bed.

I have to give this an overall poor rating despite the friendly staff because I find it unacceptable to have to take out my own trash, pick up my own towels, and make up beds at a hotel--especially one that claims to be associated with Mariott.

Room Tip: Ask for room service ahead of time, ask for a room with a great view, bring air freshener because th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRuth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

TRuth2013,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging that our associates were welcoming and friendly even though there were areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island

Address: 5850 Grand Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15225-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $102 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Convenient among Pittsburgh hotels, this hotel is ideally located off I-79, 15 miles to the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) and 10 miles to downtown Pittsburgh. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island offers spacious and modern guest room, comfy mattresses, fluffy pillows and cozy blankets, spacious bathrooms and well lit work space with free wired and wireless High Speed Internet. Start your day with our new FREE hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and sausage. The Market is open 24 hours for snacks, beverages or sundry items. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or fitness center. Take advantage of our Business Center with free Wi-Fi and free local calls. Enjoy the convenience of our free shuttle service to local businesses, restaurants and entertainment. Experience an ideal location and terrific service at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Pittsburgh Neville Island Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing