We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to NYC. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Close enough for us to go into the city to visit for a few hours. Although I think if we were staying more than one night and had to drive into the city every day we would stay closer. It was also very clean and had a nice, hot breakfast. I like that they had coffee available all day long. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but both looked very nice! The outdoor patio with hammock and fire pit added a nice touch. Overall we had a really great stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Brittany H,

Thank you, Brittany H, for your rave review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you and your husband enjoyed our hotel while visiting NYC. We hope your comments will entice future travelers to visit us and receive a ‘great stay’ just the same. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    112
    34
    17
    12
See reviews for
145
59
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this Fairfield. The property is located on a sort of industrial type island and there are also family neighborhoods. This hotel is awesome and is the nicest Fairfield Inn we have ever been in. The staff was so friendly and housekeeping does a great job keeping the hotel and rooms clean. We had a room with a river view, it was interesting watching the boats travel the waterway. There is a beautiful area on the bank that includes a firepit, hammock, table and chairs. If you need to stay in the Pittsburgh area, but do not want to stay downtown, this is the hotel for you. We were is the area for a hopital visit (UPMC) and this hotel was is a perfect location. They also have a shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't let the (island) location fool you. It is a very nice area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Snowbirds1and2,

Thank you for your delightful review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re very glad to have had you stay with us and hear that you enjoyed our great location, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Our shuttle service, just clarify for other viewers, provides transportation to local areas whearas, the Super Shuttle provides transportation to the airport. Thank you for all of your compliments. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I found this hotel somewhat randomly when looking at one of the guidebooks in another hotel, and wondered where it was. I few seconds on Google Maps revealed this little gem. It's on a narrow island downstream from Ft. Point on the Ohio River. The island is pretty industrial, and there's houses and stores on the west end.

It's a nice hotel, rooms are spacious, beds are comfy; it's a Marriott, after all. They do a pretty good breakfast spread (included), although my choices are limited as I'm lactose intolerant. There's a Kings restaurant in front of the hotel. Seriously, you're better off finding something away from the hotel.

Location: it's away from downtown, but near the airport. You can get to the airport via the freeway, and/or there's a route via surface streets. This is a huge plus in the morning, as you avoid all of the congestion leaving the city. But... it's also a minus, as you're away from the city, and it's a bit of a drive to get there.

All of this comes together in the price, which is about 1/2 the price of any of the mainstream hotels in the city, with an equivalent amount of comfort. There's a pool, exercise room, and a guest laundry. I stay here often, unless I really need the convenience of staying in the city... and am willing to pay for it.

Room Tip: They always put me on the west side. maybe smokers are on the east side?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audiogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Audiogeek,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We’re very happy that you find our Fairfield Inn as a comfortable and friendly place to stay outside of the city and also happy to hear that you visit us often. We love hearing from our returning guests, especially when they tell other viewers about our special hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used Pittsburgh as a lay over point for our family trip to Washington DC from Toronto. The Fairfield was a very nice place to stop. It is a bit remote, but the hotel makes up for the location in spades. The fitness centre and pool were a very welcomed addition to our accomodations. The room was very spacious and the beds were comfortable. Even our 11 year old was thrilled by the hotel. Did I mention the curteous staff? The cost was perfect for a simple stay. I would stay here for longer in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Maytravelling,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We’re pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Washington DC and had a pleasant stay. I’m glad you were able to use our fitness center as well as our pool. I, too, believe we have a courteous staff so thank you for your compliments. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again at Fairfield Inn soon.

Yours truly,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Jump off the highway for a night of rest before you head south to WV or north to Ohio. This simple hotel - which seems to cater to travelling salesmen - offered a lovely upgrade to a suite, a very reasonable price ($99), and oddly a wonderful huge outdoor fire pit with a giant flame and seats to enjoy the view of a elegant bridge, a marina and the river.

Room Tip: Neville Island isn't apparently known for restos or cuisine. See my note on King's Restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCHBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
MCHBurgess,

It’s great to hear from you on TripAdvisor and hear of your pleasant stay with us at Fairfield Inn. We’re happy to have accommodated you in a restful, scenic, and convenient way. I’m glad you enjoyed our outdoor fire pit and hope it gave you a bit of tranquility after a long days work. We invite you to come and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This has been the hotel of choice for the past 4 years....we visit every July to visit family.The hotel was crisp and new..staff friendly ...rooms cleaned in a timely manner. NOT this time..rugs dirty..desk chair torn..worn linens..room not serviced at all on the first day....serviced on second day but left without towels and trash not emptied.The hotel staff complained about being busy...lots of excuses about everything.....we reported the torn chair ...only to be told yea they're. ALL like that....bulb out in desk lamp..called to replace the replaced bulb was not the correct size..once again the excuse..the management does not order to our needs.

This is a very busy hotel...always has been...we enjoyed our past visits...something has changed and this neds to be addressed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
LiamDan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that our hotel has been your hotel of choice for several years. I am sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet our high standards at Fairfield Inn. Your comments have been discussed with our entire staff at our daily staff meeting. I take all guest comments seriously with the intention to make improvements to our hotel. Thank you for your business this year. We invite you to come and stay with us again for a more positive experience.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and found it to be a good place. When planning a family get together, we booked 9 rooms and drove or flew in from Atlanta. This was a great place for a get together. The hotel has an indoor pool that opens to the back yard. The back yard overlooks the Ohio River and there are various tables and benches to sit at. The highlight of the back yard is the large fire pit that is lit in the evening. This makes a great place to visit and talk. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a King suite that was adjacent to my son's two queen room. All the guests from age 10 to 65 enjoyed the hotel and rooms. The morning breakfast was excellent with the normal continental breakfast, plus eggs and meat. Neville Island is a great place to base out of for your Pittsburgh experience.

Room Tip: Get a second or third floor room facing the river. This is a better view that facing the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Papa127,

It is nice to hear from you on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family returned to our hotel to stay and enjoy each other’s company. We’re glad to hear that you were able to visit by the fireside and enjoy our outdoor resting area as well. I think our future travelers will benefit from your comments. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Meg Barron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport/Robinson Township
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
5.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Address: 5850 Grand Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15225-1201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Convenient among Pittsburgh hotels, this hotel is ideally located off I-79, 15 miles to the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) and 10 miles to downtown Pittsburgh. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island offers spacious and modern guest room, comfy mattresses, fluffy pillows and cozy blankets, spacious bathrooms and well lit work space with free wired and wireless High Speed Internet. Start your day with our new FREE hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and sausage. The Market is open 24 hours for snacks, beverages or sundry items. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or fitness center. Take advantage of our Business Center with free Wi-Fi and free local calls. Enjoy the convenience of our free shuttle service to local businesses, restaurants and entertainment. Experience an ideal location and terrific service at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Pittsburgh Neville Island Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing