We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and Fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolo Forno

Piccolo Forno
Ranked #71 of 2,151 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is hands down my favorite restaurant in the Pgh area! I go here every year for my birthday with friends and we have the best time and FOOD! I've gotten several items on their menu and my favorite is their fresh homemade pasta dishes. I've had the lasagna many times and the homemade spinach ravioli with butter sage sauce is divine!
Their salads are all delicious and so are their pizza's. I've never had a bad meal at Piccolo Forno. You can also bring your own bottle which is a money saver if you want to drink while you eat.
This place is a must try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMarie525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    48
    16
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Freshest ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had dinner here as part of a birthday celebration and tried a variety of salads, pizza and desserts. Everything was fresh and delicious. The server was lots of fun and tolerated our rowdy group. BYOB!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta Great... BYOB no problem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

First time to the Piccolo Forno on Butler Street. It was BYOB and the $5 corkage fee was well worth it... we brought a bottle of our favorite wine to enjoy. We had the Tortelli which was excellent (wouldn't mind a bit more spice.. temperature-wise to the meat sauce), and also the Raviolo con Burro e Salvia which was also excellent. There is nothing like a wonderful home-made pasta! It was too hot to sit on the outside patio, the inside was clean and contemporary. The service was good. We would definitely recommend and return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second time here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

After eating here for our anniversary a few years ago, we made a special detour to return. The food was just as good as before. The wife had wild boar, and I had the tuna salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walking_owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

No reservations. No problem. It is worth the wait. A true foodies paradise. If you like wine with your dinner, make sure you bring it with you. It is BYOB. We purposely drove through Pittsburgh to have dinner here. The service was very good considering the place was packed. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and helped guide us through our choices. Everything was delicious. We started with the lightly fried polenta with three toppings of roasted tomatoes, mushroom and gorgonzola (my favorite) and crostini with liver pate (you have to be a liver lover, we are!) both were great. We shared the fennel salad with orange, which was crisp and refreshing! We tried two pizzas, Speck e Mascarpone, crispy crust with a creamy top and Capricciosa. Both yummy. The pastas we ordered were the tagliatelle pasta with dry porcini and fresh mushroom ragu and the braised rabbit with vegetables served on pappardelle pasta. They were both so good that we could not decide which was better. My husband also ordered the pasta faggioli soup, which was not the traditional style, yet still good. We went a little crazy, knowing that we had a cooler in the car. We were able to enjoy the leftovers the next day at home in Michigan. The next time I am in Pittsburgh on business, this is where I am dining!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Forno also viewed

 

Been to Piccolo Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing