We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for outside dinining,”
Review of Double Wide Grill

Double Wide Grill
Ranked #85 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place for outside dinining,”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very nice patio and excellent food. Had a large party and were seated right away. Service was excellent. Ribs and burgers were very good. Vegan and gluten free menu also available!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kklammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    87
    31
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant for Vegan and Vegeterian”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Decorated like a Garage or car workshop this restaurant is a wonderful choice for Vegetarian and non Vegetarian. Everything served fresh and home made. we ordered SEITAN WINGS, Lentil Soup and Veggyro. Liked the taste, the staffs were kind and quick. I will opt again for a dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Easwarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food in a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This grill is for the young at heart who like to enjoy good food in a fun atmosphere. Originally a Texaco station large enough to include a garage for repairing vehicles, remnants of its former use provide automotive ambiance. Hubcaps hang from the ceiling in one room, while a pickup (or part of it) dangles over the bar in another. If you choose, you may eat on a TV tray in front of a big-screen TV while seated on an overstuffed couch. Food was good and, after trying Double Wide Grill's creamy cherry coleslaw, I have started adding dried cherries to the coleslaw I make at home. Surrounding area is also interesting. We visited a Carnegie Library still in operation as a library (not too many of those left). Best of all, we were transported to the Double Wide Grill and picked up by our hotel's complimentary shuttle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice wing and beer place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Typical bar food. Nice draft beer selection. Cool atmosphere. Probably the most interesting scenery were the waitresses tats. There was some amazing ink on display. But I digress. This is a great lazy day hang out with the girls or a evening out. Not too fancy but not the dredges either. Very eclectic,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky, veggie-friendly”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Double-Wide is different-- how many places can pull off converting a gas station garage into a restaurant? We only stopped for a bite at lunch and tried both of the chiles, which were quite good. Outdoor seating is available (but little shade in the middle of the day). Inside is not air-conditioned, so it can get hot, and it's open to the outside (flies may be present). They do not take reservations, and don't go here expecting attentive service. As a casual sports grill with above-average menu, it's not bad; I would try it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Wide Grill also viewed

 

Been to Double Wide Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing