We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy BBQ with a huge vegan/veggie offering”
Review of Double Wide Grill

Double Wide Grill
Ranked #83 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ with a huge vegan/veggie offering”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife (who prefers veggie/vegan) and I (who loves BBQ) really enjoyed dinner at DWG a couple of weekends ago. We went to Southside location. Large outdoor patio, but we sat inside (chance of rain) with all the doors open (and the NHL finals/US Soccer on TV!). I ordered the "Get 'er done" which includes pulled pork, beef brisket and baby back ribs (also, french fries, coleslaw and Memphis and Carolina sauces). It was dee-lish! My wife got the cauliflower mac-n-cheese and said it was rich, creamy and very good too. Not much of a wine list, but a very good beer (esp. draft) selection. Excellent service by our waitress and all the others who help.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    86
    30
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch !”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped at this place for lunch but ended up enjoying brunch. I ordered the waffles with bananas and it was delicious. The menu has a lot of different options that you don't see at every restaurant. We also enjoyed eating outside where they had plenty of seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere good food”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were staying in Pittsburgh and looking for a casual spot to eat. There were many choices on Carson St. but the Double Wide Grill looked very interesting. It looks like an old converted gas station and all of the decor fits right in to that theme. The menu was very extensive with salads, sandwiches, burgers and lots of vegetarian options. I had a burger and my wife had a variety of small appetizers. Our waitress did not seem very experienced but she was extremely pleasant and got our order in quickly and correctly. She checked back with us a number of times. The food came out quickly and was very good. If you are looking for a fun atmosphere with good food and drinks, be sure to give it a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlandarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun place with great vegan options”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this place, we went for lunch and I was pleasantly surprised with the vegan options. Service is great, I recommend the lentil burger w the vegan sweet potato fries!

Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
372 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“It keeps getting better”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I visited the Double Wide when it first opened and recently went there with a group. The service and food have both dramatically improved. The manager came over to apologize for the wait for a table, despite the fact that they were obviously slammed with business and couldn't do anything about it.
It is still a hipster paradise with beer, beards, and burly tattoos, which is not my things, but the food was quite excellent and the staff really made a very positive effort despite being so overrun with customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Wide Grill also viewed

 

Been to Double Wide Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing