We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak I Have Had In Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wood Street
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Steak I Have Had In Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

So Pittsburgh Rare goes out of business. Ruth Criss is priced out of site when you have to sit next to someone that you didn't choose to sit next to. For my 59th and our neighbor's 60th birthday, we wanted steak so we decided to try somewhere different so we chose the Capital Grille. What a great choice! We got a round booth and the servers could not have treated us any better! Very pleased with everything, including the wine!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GARY592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    104
    47
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stopped in to Capital Grille for a drink and appetizer and ended up staying for dinner. I go here about once a month and love it. The quality of food and service is second to none. There are those places that have good food and those that have good people. Well, this place has both and is consistent. For those of you who get upset when you pay for a dinner that was sub par, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had a gift card so wasn't put off by the prospect of an expensive lunch. It turns out that they had a three course meal option for $18.00. I had salad, an excellent lobster roll and dessert for $18.00 which is not bad at all. I had to order a martini to use up my gift card and it was well made. I can definitely see going back even without a gift card.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An exciting occasion turned flat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I always go here for our birthdays. We usually spend roughly $250 - $400 per visit. It was our favorite place until the weekend of December 21st. The food was excellent as always, but our server (Danny I believe) was a real downer. He kept us waiting for 20 - 30 minute intervals, didn't seem to give a damn that we were there, and never offered to take our photo together (we always get the photo!) My girlfriend wanted to drink about 3-4 glasses of wine that night (She was getting the $30.00 per glass selection), but our jerk server kept her waiting for 1/2 an hour so she lost her want for it since her dinner was already consumed and it was getting late, so she only had 1.

As for the food.... The calamari is always awesome, the wine selection is amazing, the lobster and steak were perfect, and the dessert is to die for.

It's nice to pay a bit more for good food (good service or not), but we chose the Capital Grille for the excellent service on special occasions, and unfortunately the service just doesn't seem to be there anymore. Safe to say that we will not making reservations there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationer32479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as your average Capital Grille”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

All Capital Grilles are not the same, it is part of their charm. This one is by far not as good as the DC or NY ones. Food is OK, nothing out of this world, service is pretty mediocre, and the place was pretty dead on a Saturday night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2opinionated_guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing