We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Hyatt Place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I went to the Hyatt Place this past weekend for two nights because of the excellent reviews that it has received on TA.
I called for complimentary ride from the airport. the shuttle was there in no time. The hotel was clean, the check-in was quick and easy. Breakfast was plentiful and good and an extremely pleasant area to sit and enjoy it. The room was a good size and very clean. I especially enjoyed the large flat screen TV. There were many mirrors throughout the room in jut the right places. there was a full size grocery store within walking distance and also other shopping was close by. All in all this hotel was just perfect for me!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winepourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

The hotel says that its at Pittsburgh airport. Its not. It about 7 miles away from the airport but so are all other airport hotels except The Hyatt which is connected to the terminal.

I booked online and got a rate of 139. I had taken a red eye from the west coast and reached the hotel about 10 AM. They gave the room without any fuss. The hotel is akin to a the aloft chain that Starwood is launching. Very open concept with no real lobby and reception. The room was quite nice, was the size of a junior suite. There was a L shaped sofa as you entered the room and also a small kitcen and sink area. A large size flat screen TV in the middle which can be swiveled on both sides the bed and the living. Bed was large king size and comfortable.

Free internet and free breakfast. Good thing about the hotel is that there are lots of eating options within 1 mile of the hotel for lunch and dinner. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Staff was kind and helpful. Hotel otherwise clean and nice. Great room. Shuttle to airport stops at several other hotels, takes 15-20 minutes. Not ideal. Good rate for distressed passengers. Failed wake up call could have been a disaster. Rooms face grocery parking lot - no solid curtains and doesn't get dark at night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sporadicautomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I live in the Pittsburgh area and decided to get away for an evening. We were wonderfully rewarded at this newly renovated Hyatt. We got the $89 deal and it was worth every penny -- clean and sparkling room, fabulous 42" LG LCD screen, kitchen, exceedingly comfortable king bed. Breakfast was excellent as well. They also have a pool. For the money, there is not a better deal in the Pittsburgh Airport area. (By the way, you get all the amenities of the Hyatt at the Airport except the in-house restaurant and $20 parking fee.)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_in_Wintersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Wonderful stay. Quiet hotel. Comfortable rooms, wonderful bedding and linens. Extremely clean. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Check-in and check-out was extremely fast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoutheastUSACarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel and hope to stay there on future visits to Pittsburgh. I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and I had never heard of the brand, though obviously I was familiar with Hyatt. I had a quick and efficient check-in with extremely helpful staff. Lobby is new and nicely decorated with cash counter service for drinks, snacks, and sweets (as well as other food during certain times) -- the cookies are fantastic!

Anyway, I walked into my room, and I think I actually said, "Wow!" VERY nicely decorated, very clean, very large, and...a 42" plasma TV. I was shocked as I have been wondering when the hotel chains would start placing flat screen TVs in rooms because I have been staying at otherwise nice hotels that have been recently remodeled, and they have all had the old CRT TVs. Not only did this hotel have the big TV, but they also have a built-in panel with various connections (computer, A/V) so if you have the capability to connect a DVD player or computer, you can enjoy the big screen with it. The room had a separate bar sink with a mini-fridge underneath. Both that countertop and the bathroom one were granite -- nice touch.

The bed was large and comfy with five pillows. The bath area (toilet and shower) was clean but otherwise unremarkable. Shower was strong and hot -- you could turn it up so it was scalding, which should probably be addressed if you have young children. Lights were everywhere and were bright -- with everything on, you could probably do surgery! Fortunately, there were many options to adjust the light to a good level. There was a LARGE sectional sofa which could seat about six and apparently had a pullout bed, which I did not use. There's also a sizeable desk with convenient power outlets for a computer -- wireless was easy to set up and quick.

The morning breakfast was good, and the best part is that it starts at 6am. There was fresh fruit (apples, oranges and bananas as well as large bowls of cut up melons and grapefruit), various cereals including oatmeal, yogurt, toast & bagels, juices, and coffee & tea (Starbuck's? don't recall). There were other hot items available for an additional charge, but I was happy with the free items.

While it is slightly difficult to find the hotel since it's tucked behind a shopping center, there is very convenient access to a whole host of restaurants in the area as well as the grocery store which is in walking distance. If you don't have a car, it would be problematic for restaurants, but so would nearly all of the hotels in the airport area. It is located within 1-2 miles of most of the other "airport" hotels. I've now stayed at five airport hotels, and this one is the best so far. I guess that it's 1 mile further than most of the others, but the time to the airport is nearly the same because it's easy to get on the road that leads to the airport.

The staff was great during my time there, and I was very pleased with their professionalism and helpfulness. The only downside was when I thought I left something at the hotel and, despite telling the front desk person that I was leaving town immediately, I could not get anyone from housekeeping on the phone to see if they had found it (the one person available was "on the floor" and could not be reached, which I find hard to believe). I believe that the poor service on that occasion was an individual issue and not endemic to the hotel. Otherwise, I was pleased with the staff.

Parking was adequate. Elevator was a little slow, but there were two. I used the stairs mostly since I was only on the third floor. I did not use the pool or the fitness area. HVAC was little odd (too hot unless turned down to 68 or so) but fine. The only small complaint I have is that mini-fridge made the strangest noise, a metallic clinking or snapping. It wasn't loud nor constant, but it kept me awake a bit the first night until I got used to it. Probably specific to the room I was in and unlikely to be hotel-wide. Didn't bother me enough to complain.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Consistency seems to be the byword of the hotel industry now days. Whether you stay at a Hyatt Place in Denver, Houston, Detroit, or Pittsburgh, there is one thing that you can be sure of... You will never get lost in a Hyatt Place. That means, rankings will need to be based on condition, noise, neighborhood, and how problems are handled.

While the Hyatt Place Pittsburgh Airport has "Airport" in its name, it isn't what I would call next to the airport. It is about 10 miles away in a fast food / commercial suburban district. I hope you like fast food because there isn't much of quality in the area. Moe's Southwest Grill ("Welcome to Moe's!"), Subway, Chipotle, Outback, and Beppa di Buca are probably your best bets. On my first night in I usually walk over to the Giant Eagle supermarket (the hotel is right behind the Giant Eagle) and pick up fruit, drinks, and snack food for the week. Your room has a fridge, so make use of it.

With electronic check-in / check-out, you never need to deign contact with the locals. This is a shame, for as with the Denver Hyatt Place, the staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to be sure your stay is "wonderful"... or at least acceptable, given it is suburban Pittsburgh. "South" facing rooms, the ones to the back of the hotel, the even numbered rooms, are quieter.

On the positive side, this Hyatt Place is less expensive than any of the 3 Marriotts within a mile (yes, their "airport" hotels aren't near the airport either).

On the down side, be careful about which room you get. They are in the process... a very slow process... of upgrading their HVAC units. Many rooms have the older roaring units that may wake you up several times a night. Newer units are much much quieter.

The excercise room is fairly small but appropriate with 2 treadmills, a bike, and a stairmaster. The treadmills have a TV in them and the hotel provides headphones and clean earcovers. They also have a pool, which looks good though small.

They have a shuttle (no it doesn't go to the airport... that would be too far away) to take you to the local office buildings, but I strongly recommend renting a car at the airport (cheaper places such as Thrifty and Payless have good cars) as you do plan on eating right?

All-in-all, it is acceptable. It is no vacation hotel, but it is no vacation destination, especially at -8 degrees F as it was last week. It is predictable, mostly clean, and a good location if you have to work temporarily in one of the nearby offices.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GeoMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport

Address: 6011 Campbells Run Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1022
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $104 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing