We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice: But . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice: But . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

My title maybe a little deceiving. The Hyatt Place Pittsburgh Airport is an amazing hotel. It's nice, clean and the employees were great. But, the hotel is a little hard to find (its behind the Giant Eagle grocery store. You can go through grocery parking lot to get there.) The breakfast has a little to be desired. It is very close to shopping of all kinds and an Ikea. We would definitely stay there again especially for the $129 price-tag.

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    118
    39
    22
    17
See reviews for
118
68
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Travelling to Pittsburgh for work on a consistent basis lately, I've had the opportunity to stay at several different hotels in the area. Among these, the Hyatt Place Pittsburgh Airport has become one of my favorites. I have stayed there on three different occasions over the past three months, and each stay has been great.
Not travelling with a car, one of the great things about the Hyatt Place is that they offer two free shuttle services. The first free shuttle is an Airport Express that will pick you up at the airport and drive you to the hotel - just use the Hyatt Place courtesy phone in the airport located near Baggage Claim or call the hotel directly (please note that even though this hotel is called the Pittsburgh Airport Hyatt Place, it is about a 15 minute drive to the hotel from the airport). The second free shuttle will drive you and pick you up anywhere within a five-mile radius from the hotel. The shuttle driver, Fred, is very nice and will accommodate all reasonable transportation needs.
The location of this hotel worked great for my needs but it may not work for everyone - it's in between the airport and downtown region, so it's not particularly close to either. There are a lot of restaurants across the street from the hotel in the Robinson Mall area (mainly chains like Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Chili's, TGI Friday's, Bahama Breeze, but also the new Ditka's Restaurant, which was great). There is also a Giant Eagle grocery store directly next to the hotel. If you need to go downtown, you can call for a taxi, but you may have to wait for a while, and it'll cost about $25 each way.
The hotel offers a great complementary self-serve breakfast. This consists of bagels, toast, fruit, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, coffee, and juices. The rooms have 42" flat screen TVs. Free Internet/Computer/Printer use is offered in a mini-business center on the first floor. Free USA Today is delivered each weekday.
To sum it up, this hotel is a great place to stay, but check the location to make sure it will be convenient for you.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilsPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

The rooms at this place were outstanding. They were very up to date. There was a 42 inch flat screen in every room along with a nice sitting area. The beds were prettry comfortable. The only problem with the room is that the bathroom was pretty small but that was not a big deal to us. I was, however, dissapointed with the free breakfast in the morning. The fruit left something to be desired and the only other choices were toast, bagels, or cereal. I think they should add donuts and muffins to their free breakfast items. They did give you the option to purchase a breakfast. We did not do that but the prices seemed pretty reasonable. Overall I thought this was a very nice place to stay and I will definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The continental breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bravesfan4784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

My family (Parents, siblings, and husband) stayed here during a weekend wedding in Pittsburgh. I have little complaints about the place; it's an excellent value for a business traveler or if you are in town for just a few nights. Can't beat the rates, and it comes with good amenities, including:

Free Wi-Fi (I had a good steady connection)
Free Continental Breakfast (your typical juice/cereal/bagels variety, nothing to shake a stick at, but you can pay for deluxe items, like eggs and waffles. Good for families and the budget-wise: grab a few items and a coffee to hold you over til late-lunch.)
Free Starbucks for Breakfast (a serve yourself station. Variety of teas and coffees... can't complain here!)
Free on-site Parking
Free apples (not a huge perk, but I had the munchies one night...)
Free morning paper

I didn't get to use the gym or the pool, but the guests seem to enjoy it.

Our family split up into 3 rooms. Each room had a pull-out sofa bed (Queen size) so if we really wanted to be cozy, we could've shared a room... but with such a low rate, it's not necessary. The rooms had spacious areas for sleeping, working, and lounging. If you need AV equipment, the TV area has a whole station to hookup your wires.

I gave only 4 stars as the location could be +/- depending on how you view it. My view -
PLUSES:
It is literally next door to a supermarket, and within walking distance to stores (Mall across the St), so if you need anything last minute, you don't need to go far. Also, don't be fooled by the internet map... while it's close (~15 mins) to the airport, I never had any problems with airplane or traffic noises. Lastly, it was close enough to downtown Pitts (~20 mins) that it wasn't terribly inconvenient for my family to commute to/from.

MINUS:
However, since it is so close to the airport, the nearby highway tends to get backed up easily (maybe it was due to the construction which shut down a lane... but we were told that road's perpetually under construction). Hubby and I had a GPS so we were able to take backroads and hop back on... however, be ready to sit in .5-1 hr traffic otherwise.

If you want to be right in the heart of Pittsburgh, fork over $$$$ downtown and don't stay here. However, if you wish to save a pretty penny, this place is totally worth the extra drive.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jotrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

I would stay here again. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Very nice place to stay.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — stayed on the first floor - its was noisy. Would prefer to stay on another floor.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaykow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

My wife and I booked our stay weeks in advance, however when we arrived we received a room with two beds instead of the one King that we requested. (see actual email confirmation below)

Room Description: KING BED
Hyatt Grand Bed:Cozy Corner sofa-sleeper
Free WIFI:42"TV:wet bar:Contl breakfast.

The hotel staff told us only that the computer shows us with no preference of bed. After I kindly informed the employee at the front desk that I had made such a choice and that it was confirmed via email, the only thing she could come up with was "it's not showing that here." Even though I have an email confirmation. So don't make requests here in advance, they don't care. (They did manage to put the large bus group together hmmmm That pays more $$$$$ don't be the little guy here)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveLovesBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

I spent the Labour Day Weekend at the Hyatt. I had a great stay!

Check in/out: Very fast and efficient. Kiosks are available to check you in, so there's no waiting in line. Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room: Very spacious and clean. Modern decor. We had two double beds and a sofa bed. The washroom was sparkling clean (very important to me!). The sink is located outside of the shower area, which was very convenient for us. The hotel provided a fridge and alternate sink as well. The flat screen tv was awesome!

Amenities: Continential breakfast was okay. Bagels, cereal, fruit, etc. Coffee was great (Starbucks). The pool was great! Not too big, but deep enough to jump in! I didn't use the gym, but other members in my party stated it was also pretty good. Ample parking as well.

Location: Great area! A grocery store and gas station is located directly in front of the hotel. A huge shopping mall is located within 2 minutes of driving (it had Macy's, JC Penney, H&M, Forever 21, Victoria's Secret to name a few) Tons of places to eat (fast food and dine in). Considering this was our first stay in Pittsburgh, it was ectremely easy to navigate the area because of the close proximity of the shopping areas.

Overall, wonderful stay, would definitely return!

  • Liked — Wonderful stay, Great Service, Great Location!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madtrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South / Robinson Township
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
#2 of 12 in Coraopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
#2 of 7 in Moon Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport South - Settlers Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Address: 6011 Campbells Run Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing