We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced, nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I guess being an airport hotel they can charge whatever they want. In this case it was too much. A couple of front desk employees were largely unhelpful. Wanted to buy a bottle of water, something not too challenging normally. However, the person in charge of billing my attempted purchase to my room wasn't available so even though there was a person working the desk, they couldn't or wouldn't complete my transaction.
My room is a typical Hyatt Place room, large but the furniture is dirty and beyond worn out. The rooms had the appearance of being cleaned, but when looking closer I can see the same dried coffee drops on my countertop that were there two days ago. Clearly no wiping/cleaning of the countertops.
We had some interaction with the sales manager on duty. Long story short, she was rude and totally unhelpful.
I've stayed at other Hyatt Place properties and they were more friendly and helpful. We will stay elsewhere on the next trip to Pittsburgh.
Overpriced, unfriendly, dirty rooms...I can get that at Motel 6 for half the price.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    118
    39
    22
    17
See reviews for
118
68
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

While the food and wine in the restaurant was great, our room on the 2nd floor was painfully loud. This place needs soundproofing BADLY. Very convenient, but I have never had such a loud hotel room. Not a great night of sleep when you hear toilets flushing all night long.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor. LOUD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmelton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I pulled the bedspread off to reveal a sheet with a big yellow stain right in the middle. Gross. In addition, one of the pillowcases was stained as well. Were the sheets even changed? Called the front desk, which didn't even bring me a fitted sheet for the bed, nor did they offer to change the sheet for me. I got to do the housekeeping myself. I got a "sorry," so I guess I should be happy about that. That about turned me off from this hotel, which is too bad since I've stayed here twice in the past without issue. Guess I'll have to find somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel is located on a popular road close to the Robinson Mall/ Towne Center. The best part of my 2 day stay here was the signature Hyatt Breakfast. The have healthy options that you can purchase made on the grill, but the complimentary breakfast is by far the most amazing. There is another review about 3 down on the list that calls the breakfast "fair" and I would absolutely not agree. I have stayed at every hotel chain in america and the Hyatts do the free breakfast right every time. I would even go as far as to say its better than the marriotts paid breakfasts. They offer hot fresh breakfast sandwiches, different kinds of omlettes, in house made pancakes/ waffles, fresh fruit salad without grapefruit, bananas, apples, donuts, 3 different kinds of pastries, muffins, hot oatmeal with 6 different toppings, 6 different kinds of cereals, bagels, english muffins, 4 different kinds of bread for toast. Strawberry and vanilla yogurts. Milk, orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice, tomato juice and water on an iced rock surface in glass pitchers. All utensils are real, plates and bowls are real, glasses are real.. no paper or plastic here! Not to mention all of the staff members are constantly checking and cleaning the breakfast area. At this location I seen about 6 members checking and cleaning while eating my breakfast.
Rooms are only equipped with showers unless handicapped is requested. Beds are super comfy and the rooms on high floors have great views of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in Sept. Although it was full of young travel teams, it was still quiet. I really like this approach that Hyatt has taken, to get into this market type of traveller. Initial room smelled like a recent patron had smoked. Staff was very accommodating and switched us. 2nd one was clean and great. Loved the walk in shower! Very Modern! The breakfast was a little lacking, but it was the normal items served. It's a little odd navigating around the department stores to get into the hotel and parking , but it was a safe place. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdad1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights here as we wanted to be close to the airport b/c we had a super early return flight. It's about 15 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh - not too bad. It's also very close [2 min drive] to a big shopping center with a movie theater & some restaurants so there are definitely things to do in the area.

What I didn't like was that the room doors were paper thin - you could hear everything in the hallways! I never heard the room next to us through the walls but I could hear the elevator ding & we were like 40 feet away...

Also, breakfast was just ok - there were options but the hot stuff was pretty gross & some of the bread was stale. Still, there were a lot of options so I can't complain too much.

I really liked that there was a huge couch in the room so you had somewhere to sit/ relax other than the bed - it was big enough for 2 people and included a nice throw blanket.

The room was also clean. Not bad overall, would stay again if I had an early flight but definitely a no frills place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

You may have a little problem finding the hotel,its behind Kohls,but once found this hotel is a very nice place to stay. Rooms are good with a nice big 42 inch flat screen,not to many channels to choose from.Bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms are a little small but who spends a lot time in the bathroom and really, who complains about the size of a bathroom.The couch was big and comfortable.The breakfast is good plenty to choose from.Staff is excellent and very helpful.Would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South / Robinson Township
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
Courtyard Pittsburgh Airport
#2 of 12 in Coraopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Airport
#2 of 7 in Moon Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Pittsburgh Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport South - Settlers Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Address: 6011 Campbells Run Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing