We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, public space needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great rooms, public space needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are recently renovated and are very nice. They have managed to fix a major problem with many hotels by providing a setup where you can actually work and watch TV at the same time with the L-shaped desk arrangement. The public areas were apparently not renovated as the elevator in particular was quite dirty and the carpet very worn.

My only complaint is with the "Candlewood Cupboard". I didn't realize until I got home that I was charged $3 for use of the Cupboard even though I didn't buy anything. Their honor system does not work because people can put any room number down apparently and get something charged to another room. I didn't catch it on my bill because I was in a hurry and the hotel does not preprint bills for express checkout, even for priority club. So I had to wait to checkout and didn't review my bill (nor did I leave enough time to argue it)

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear jrgray,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    85
    22
    20
    9
See reviews for
41
52
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TUCSON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed one night before our very early flight and loved it. We will definitely stay here again as we visit Pittsburgh yearly. The room was spacious and very clean. They provided a packnplay with fresh sheets for us at no charge. I especially liked the cupboard where a variety of food
and drinks were available for purchase..very convenient. The staff was great. We received calls from them asking what more they could do. Great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelersFanAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us this past fall. We offer a Park, Stay and Go option that allows locals to stay with us and leave their car in out lot, as well as providing them with transportation to/from the airport for their trip out of town. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although my husband & I only had a one-night stay at the Candlewood Suites near the Pittsburgh, PA airport, it was one of the most enjoyable stays we've had at any hotel this summer. The staff is friendly. The suites are spacious & more than adequate. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are large by a usual hotel's standard. Our only disappointment was no bkft offered (muffins & coffee at least would be great) and no indoor pool nor hot tub. Our largest gripe was the thermostat/a/c motion detector. The a/c would only come on when it sensed activity & that got to be returning to an extremely warm room and at night time the bedroom almost was stifling to sleep in. There has to be some sort of alternative to the a/c situation. That would basically be the only reason preventing us from returning to this reasonably price suite hotel. (This also a extended stay hotel, so if you're staying a few days do not expect daily housekeeping services but they will 'freshen up' your room if your request it).

Room Tip: Request a room close to the elevator. The halls seem very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty91973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternPATexan, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with feedback from your stay this past fall. Of course, we are happy to hear of the things you enjoyed about our hotel. Our apologies if you were not made aware of our offerings at check-in. We should always educate our guests on what is available to them in the Candlewood Cupboard for their convenience during their stay. We offer food, beverage and sundry items on the honor system. Complimentary coffee & tea is always available, and grab & go breakfast offerings at a nominal charge. Regarding the a/c inconvenience, we do have the ability to over-ride the sensor and have the units run continuously. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you when you return to the area.

Shannon Rizzo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was clean, quite, and well worth the value! It was close to great shopping, food, and the routes to get you anywhere in Pittsburgh! We plan to stay here on all of our adventures to Pittsburgh from now on!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redheadeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent stay at the hotel have stayed here in the past and enjoy it ever time. Friendly staff, updated rooms, and great value

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amb3rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed July 6th, 7th and checked out on the 8th. Front desk at check in and check out was very friendly. Our room was a smoking room with kitchenette and queen bed. It was clean and didn’t smell like smoke when we entered the room. It looked recently painted and decorated. While trying to figure out the air conditioner I accidently lifted the filter which to my surprise looked brand new. It was quiet and a great location with fast access to the Pittsburgh area. One thing I did wonder about is although the bed linens smelled clean they were an off white color and one pillow case was off more than the others. I wonder if they were supposed to be white and maybe they should try some bleach. My only complaint is that on Saturday they never entered the room to make the bed, clean up and replace towels. For the price I was very happy with the stay. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tars57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

First off... alert... the rooms are only cleaned once a week, lines, towels etc have to be requested in the lobby. (not by service phone?). With the heat and humidity you can blow through the two towels they provide pretty quickly. The rooms termostat has one of those motion detectors so expect a burning hot room when you return from the fun/work in the sun. The staff at the front desk haven't had any-sort of customer service training. You can tell. *To Hotel staff - sign them up for Blazing Customer Service or something.

Room Tip: don't expect a smile from behind the counter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Jasmel1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the poor service our housekeeping and front desk provided which was unacceptable. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#56 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 100 Chauvet Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Coraopolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#22 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Airport is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Located near the city's major expressways, we're just minutes from Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), Pittsburgh's downtown business district, Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground, University of Pittsburgh, First Niagara Pavillion, & UPMC. Want to see a game, Check out the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park, The Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field. Check out the Pittsburgh Penguins or a concert at Consol Energy Centetr. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes at the Robinson Towne Center and the Mall of Robinson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Candlewood Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing