We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a place!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a gem of a place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I was actually shocked when I walked in the room - nice bed, loveseat, updated heating/AC unit, remodeled bathroom, good lighting. What's the problem? Then I hooked up my computer and connected easily to the Internet and got 6700kbps down and 1800kbps up - amazing! The walls aren't the most beautiful color and there aren't 800 thread count sheets on the bed, but this place is a lot better than many of the more "standard grade" hotels I've stayed in. Definitely recommended, especially for the price!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CleveDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
16
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2007

There was a foul stench in the room. I called the front desk to report the water in my room was brown and they didn't seem to care. I requested two doubles and they gave us a single. How do you fit four people in a single. When I left I found out they charged my credit card twice. Awful!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blitz239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pittsburgh hotels

Northeast Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Quite clean, a fridge in the room, microwave too, and for only 40 bucks a night! There's a computer in the "continental breakfast" room with fast internet, that made me happy too. I was quite satisfied.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — drains didn't drain
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Being an auto club member, I received 10% off during booking. The motel is very conveniently located, just off I-79. The room has a good size with 2 double beds for a family of 4. My room was also equipped with microwave & fridge without extra charge. The complimentary breakfast was bland, with just cereals and pre-packed muffins. Milk and orange juice came in jugs. I booked this motel because it was the cheapest I could find on the internet with the 412-area code (i.e. Pittsburgh). Overall it was just an average stay. A Motel 6 nearby was actually a few bucks cheaper, but with basic amenities.

  • Liked — Reasonably priced and conveniently located near an I-79 exit
  • Disliked — Limited continental breakfast selections
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here if you are concerned with budget
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trip_Review_DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#65 of 71 in Pittsburgh
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#54 of 71 in Pittsburgh
27 reviews
Comfort Inn
#38 of 71 in Pittsburgh
172 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 4800 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-9657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Pittsburgh
Econo Lodge Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing