We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
dundee, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, near the highway and lots of shopping and restaurants. We chose it because of the location and because one review said the beds were comfortable. We found the bed to be fine, but the room itself in need of an update, old cabinetry and plastic with fiberboard for a dresser. The bathroom was a very tight space to get ready for the wedding we came to town to attend. The walls in the room had drip marks (possibly a coffee spill) that would wipe right off if anyone had ever tried to clean them. We stayed for three nights and never received clean towels or a bed turndown or even a clean trash bag. When we spoke to the hotel we were told we were considered "extended stay" because our visit was longer than 2 days. No one mentioned the lack of fresh towels or that we needed to request a clean up when we checked in. If you are spending very little time in the room, it may be a deal for you, just don't expect too much

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear monica d,

I’m disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, please accept my personal apologies for each of your concerns. I appreciate your business and hope this experience won’t sway you away from choosing to stay in a MainStay Suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Doug Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
60
59
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
portage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Mainstay suites several times that we have flown out of pittsburgh. The last time we stayed we had our chihuahua with us. I was concerned about having to find a hotel that was pet friendly, well, no worries here. I called and there was no problem what so ever about bringing our pet. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. And the best thing is when you go to check in there is a hotel cat to greet you when you arrive. Wonderful place.

Room Tip: there are non smoking rooms and smoking rooms so be sure to specify
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamrc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We are delighted to share this info as clean & friendly PET HOTELS are few & far between. Roxy is a lively 11 lbs. 5 yr. old Norfolk Terrier that we adopted in Aug., & traveling with Roxy is not something we prefer to do for any length of time, but this hotel was just as neat, clean & just plain super about our overnight. Reasonable room rates & $25 extra for Roxy w/ sm. kitchen, large desk/table w/ sitting area, HDTV - WOW!, spic & span clean bath rm., super mattress w/ queen bed & wonderful sheets to dream on after a long drive. Oh, delicious morning buffet w/ many items - even a waffle maker! Thanks, MainStay!!! We will look up your website when traveling w/ Roxy (woof, woof!) again.

Room Tip: It is in a quiet section off the main road & I would use a GPS to get there as it is a little tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Thanks again,
Doug Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Have stayed about 15 times over the past 3-4 years. Use strictly as a Park and Fly.. Have found rooms to be clean and beds very comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. Decor is a bit aged, but not bad. HDTV with actual HD channels is excellent. Kitchenette is nice, but wish they had a bigger selection of cookware in room (usually it's one large frying pan and one large pot. Breakfast is the standard assortment and is OK (more fresh fruit would be a nice addition).

About a mile away from Summit Park Road with a variety of stores to pick up food, etc.

HUGE plus is that this Mainstay is one of the few hotels on my travels where the high speed internet has a strong connection and worked EVERY time I've stayed.

Shuttle service from hotel to airport is excellent. You can schedule your departure time in advance (every 1/2 hour). Have never had any delays. Shuttle from airport to hotel can be a bit more erratic as you have to call after picking up your bags......so if you just missed the last one you could wind up waiting 30 minutes for the next.

It's my choice when flying from PIT.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor - parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadrzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night to see a concert. The woman at the front desk at check in was very nice and helpful with directions. The room was in need of an update and was decorated what looked like furniture from the 1960s. Other than the inside window being filthy (looked like it wasn't washed in a long time) and the floor lamp broken, overall the room was clean. I did notice that there were a lot of college age kids in many of the room, but to my surprise they were quiet and no noise issues were noted. Breakfast was the usual - cereal, toast, waffles. The coffee was awful and cold. One night was fine, but I would not stay here multiple nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decoydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was a memorable one, but not in a good way. Everything in our suite was very worn. Mirrors were dirty. Draperies missing hooks. Dents on refrigerator door. Dirty cobwebs hanging behind draperies and in several other areas near ceiling. Also, young adults noisily hanging out in hallway until 1 a.m. every night, slamming doors and yelling to one another. I will say that the breakfast was o.k. and the staff was very friendly. However, the suite was not worth $100 a night, and we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplebird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were very disappointed in this hotel. We expected more after reading the reviews but things can change rapidly. Our room smelled strongly of some type of cooking odor. It lasted the entire time we were there. The floor felt sticky and many things looked dingy and unclean. There were no linens for the pullout couch despite the fact that we had registered for four people. There were crumbs in the tv area and little bugs flew out of the drain when I turned the water on. The carpet had a large dark satin on it. The maid did not show and we found out later that we were supposed to leave a card in the lock to keep it open(we assume) if we wanted service! The breakfast area was frequently out of coffee, milk, etc. It definitely wasn't worth the price and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#57 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#62 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 1000 Park Lane Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#25 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pittsburgh Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Mainstay Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing