We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a roof over your head...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a roof over your head...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

For $68 it's hard to complain. The bed was well kept, bathroom was clean, all electronics worked, brochures/menus were available for nearby locales, and there was no noise issue (probably because you're in the middle of no where!). The major drawback is the lack of transportation. Don't count on the bus or rail system (there is none that stretches out there), so a car is a must if you plan to stay out there, if not you'll drop $40 (taxi) to get back & forth from the city. A one night stay is fine, two nights you're pushing it, and don't even think about pulling a three nighter. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippofest37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    41
    20
    26
See reviews for
38
34
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this Travelodge for a wedding in Downtown Pittsburgh. We needed two rooms, and were looking for an inexpensive place to stay that wasn't filthy and had functional locks.

This place delivered. It isn't amazing, but for 80$ a night, I think we were lucky to get what we got here- it's hard to find a decent place for decent price these days. The carpet looked like it had been replaced recently. The outside of the motel was pretty shabby- but the rooms were passable and looked like they were in the process of being fixed up. The paint on the bathroom door was weird, etc. There was a TV, A/C. The beds weren't awful. The pillows were, but I learned to do without them.

There was a small complimentary breakfast. Cereal, fruit, orange juice, coffee. It was really more of a snack to get you to your breakfast place of choice.

Our biggest problem was that my parents were originally put in a room that had obviously been smoked in- when they asked for non-smoking. They were so tired when they came in (red eye flight), that this didn't stop them from taking a nap- and it wasn't until the next day that we go them into a room that reeked less.

The hotel is pretty nicely situated, close enough to downtown, the airport, and there are several places to eat nearby, though less within walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for non-smoking rooms, if you care- and take a sniff before you get too sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

the price was too expensive for what they offer...no hair dryer in room ...no coffee maker....the room had a very bad smell and the building was falling apart...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The motel is not well run. Both of us discover a dirty encrusted wash cloth hanging from our shower curtain rod when we arrived. The accommodations, such as breakfasts are very spare. The rooms had a musty smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

When I arrived, the guy at the counter was picking his nose as he asked for my ID and credit card. He gave me a room on the top floor in the rear of the building, and after lugging all my things up there found that the room had not been cleaned from the previous guest. Marched back down to the office and was given a different room. This room had been cleaned, but still had a smelly odor. The room was very hot inside because the AC had not been turned on. Black stains on the carpet. Light above sink would not turn so it was difficult to get ready in the morning. Could not connect to the WIFI due to a password requirement that had not been provided. The TV was just a standard definition round screen piece of junk with basic cable. The breakfast in the morning was nothing special. The whole stay was just awful, and I would not recommend staying here no matter now cheap..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was about 5 minutes to downtown Pittsburgh via highway. The staff was very nice. I recommend it..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#62 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#55 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh

Property: Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh
Address: 100 Kisow Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4614 (Formerly Travelodge Pittsburgh)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staff and Management at the Hilltop Inn welcome you to captivating Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Whether your visit to the Pittsburgh area is for business, for pleasure, or for both, we are fully equipped and anxious to serve your every need. Come and experience our friendly, cheerful atmosphere and many guest amenities that you will experience while staying at the Hilltop Inn. We are conveniently located off of I-79, we are just 15 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh and the Int'l Airport. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free Bear bites continental breakfast in the morning, for a price that can't be beat! Steelers, Pirates, and Penguins sports stadiums 15 minutes away. Great food and shopping nearby in Robinson township, with a major mall and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilltop Inn PIttsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing