We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
410
142
41
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
142
41
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalnut streetfull kitchenwelcome bagfifth avenuesecond bedroomapartment buildingcarnegie mellonliving roommain buildinghome away from homegift bagsmall apartmenttraditional hotelgreat neighborhooddining tablefree parkingno elevator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 649 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Recently returned to Pittsburgh to see some friends. We are Pitt Alumni and wanted to stay somewhere close to campus but now we have a baby and were looking for a place with a bedroom so we could put the baby to bed early and still have space. This place was cheaper than some standard hotel rooms and you got so much more space! The apartment was great! It had everything that we needed. 2 bedrooms, a dining/living room, and a kitchen. It was perfect for us. We have a 19 month old and it was easy to put her to bed in the bedroom- the hotel even had a pack-n-play that we borrowed for no charge! just a note there was air conditioning the living room and master bedroom, but in the smaller bedroom there was only a fan and no AC. The weather was very hot while we were there (in the 90's) and the baby slept fine with the ceiling fan on and the door closed. It was warmer in that room than our master bedroom, but she seemed comfortable. The kitchen could be bigger and have more counter space, but it was big enough. May be hard to cook a large meal in there, but we didn't cook because Walnut street was just 2 blocks away and there are so many great restaurants there. They were repaving the main parking lot while we were staying there, but even not being able to use that lot there was plenty of parking in the overflow parking lot across the street. It was nicer once that lot was reopened, because we was just steps away from our room. The staff was really nice. We got a nice gift bag when we checked in and a phone call later that evening from the front desk just to see if we needed anything. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Kelly H, thanks so much for your kind words and perspective on baby care in our suites! We have families of all sizes and age ranges stay with us, and a whole lot of them emphasize what you did: that it makes a huge difference to have separate rooms for everybody inside one big suite. It's also nice to hear that our energy-efficient air conditioning system is baby-approved, and that the parking lot repaving didn't disrupt your stay. We're constantly upgrading the property, so it's great to know we were able to improve the place without interrupting your enjoyment of Walnut Street. Please come back any time, we'll have a free crib and goodie bag waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Shadyside inn and we were beyond impressed with the cleanliness, the decor was awesome, the location rocked, and it was nice to not stay at a chain hotel for a change! We will be staying there every time we come to the city!!

-Courtney C.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtneylcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hello Courtneylcochran,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience. Shadyside Inn is a refreshing change from the cookie-cutter experience. All of our suites are residential-style which means our guests enjoy the comforts of living in home like setting but with all the amenities of a hotel. Next time you come to the city give us a call so we can do something special for you.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We needed to be in Pittsburgh for a wedding that was to be immediately followed by a family relocation to that same city. Everyone at Shadyside was so helpful and the ability to use the self-catering facilities was a great help to all of us. Clean, minimalist but comfortable room. Good wifi, helpful staff and the one free ride a day in a hotel car within the close environs was so,so useful. Recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superpharm613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello Superpharm613,

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from our guests and take great pride in doing whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. I am glad you got a chance to use our meeting space. We added that to the hotel last year and the response has been tremendous. We would be thrilled to have you again as our guest in the future and if there is anything special we can do for your next stay please don't hesitate to ask.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Only stayed one night in late May but this place is great. The staff was super friendly. The grounds were clean and well tended. The parking was pretty easy in lot and on the street (even with a cargo van). The rooms were clean and comfortable. Resturants and boutiques were just around the corner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank papillon07221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Hello nuge07,

Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Shadyside Inn. We are thrilled that you had such a positive impression of our hotel. This spring we made an huge effort to improve the natural green setting around our grounds. Being located in a residential neighborhood really affords us the luxury of having courtyards around the property for our guests to enjoy. Being within a quick 5 minute walk to 120 plus shops and restaurants is one of our best assets. Walnut Street is Shadyside's upscale retail district and our guests enjoy all the benefits of being steps away from such a great attraction. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and are excited about showing off some of the new things we are planning for the hotel!

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This location is very convenient to the campuses of the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon and the Shadyside neighborhood - the stores on Walnut Street are a short walk, and Fifth Avenue is a major thoroughfare through the city. The staff is very friendly and responsive, and we were pleased with the service we received from them. We stayed in a studio suite in the building across Fifth Avenue from the main office. While the furniture seemed to have been recently updated, the facilities themselves (walls, bathroom fixtures, windows, air conditioning, etc.) were not, and the room felt more like a dorm room than a hotel. While everything was fine, for the high price we paid for Pittsburgh (equivalent to higher-end hotel chains), we had expected a lot more polish to the room. We might consider a return visit if we could find a substantially lower rate, but, for this price, we would have preferred a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardinalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hello cardinalash,

Thank you for your visit and feedback on your experience. I am pleased that you found our location and staff so appealing. We have a wide range of suite styles to suit just about anyones needs. Over the last two years we have undergone a tremendous reinvention of our suites and the concept. All of our suites received new furniture and decor. Two years ago we installed highly efficient and environmentally friendly HVAC mini-split systems in all of the suites in addition to new windows the year before. In the coming year we plan on staring to redo the bathroom fixtures in all of our suites. All of our suites are priced well below the chain hotels in the area and we are the only hotel to offer free parking. I would love to have you come back and try one of our one or two bedroom suites. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. We strive to be a value to our guests and will do anything to ensure each guest's experience is special. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any additional service to you.

Best Regards,

Jonathan P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews