We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from chain hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice change from chain hotels.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Marriott Residence Inn and Marriott Courtyard in the past when visiting my son who goes to Carnegie Mellon University. This was a nice change from the chain hotels. The 2 bedroom suite was just slightly more expensive than a room at the Marriott or Hilton. It is more like a 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, living room/dining room and free use of the laundry room with 4 sets of washers and dryers in the basement with free laundry soap. Nice neighborhood, walking distance or free shuttle to CMU and to shops and restaurants. Free use of 2 apple desktops with a fast printer in the lobby. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golangnggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    137
    38
    29
    25
See reviews for
271
85
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Inn! It's clean, pretty and in a great location. The amenities and welcome "basket" were a very nice touch and much appreciated. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We would definitely stay there again when visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at Shadyside Inn. The rooms are great - comfortable & clean. I liked the feel of the apartment-style suite ... feels like you're visiting with relatives or friends than staying in a hotel!! In the middle of the heat wave I appreciated having air conditioning & ceiling fans too!
Short walk to walnut street where you can shop, eat & drink ... top priorities for most trips to Pittsburgh!!
Highly recommend this place & will definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingflip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

What a charming place to stay. We do not like chain hotels and usually opt for a bed and breakfast. Shadyside Inn was a perfect in between. If you know what you are getting and are ok with not your typical hotel, you will love it too. These older apartment buildings have been converted into suites. You stay in a remodeled apartment. Very nice and modern decor but know it is an older building. That just adds to the charm, in our opinion, and that includes the thin walls that were noticeable but really didn't bother us. The suite was clean but not spotless.
The place seemed to be run by college age students who were all as friendly and helpful as can be. Loved the delicious cookies and the goodie bag given to us when we checked in. A very nice touch.
Know that once you check in you may have to drive a couple blocks or so to another building. There was enough parking but it is close quarters. Again neither of these things bothered us, but it's good to know in advance.
The location was probably my favorite thing about staying here. Shadyside is such a quaint and very pretty part of town. We walked just a couple blocks to dinner and again for a morning Starbucks. We loved the atmosphere of Walnut St! This street of upscale stores and unique restaurants even has an Apple store!
I definitely recommend Shadyside Inn. It's a bit pricier than we like but will definitely check for a deal the next time we come to Pittsburgh.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank longmeadowmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to take a chance on the shadyside inn as it was close to walnut street shopping And restaurants close to where we used to live and we are very familiar to the area. We prepaid through Expedia and thought it seemed like a nice place as the reviews on trip advisor seemed positive overall. I'm not sure what the occupancy rate has been for the past guests, but our stay was on on sat-mon. We arrived at the address given to us through Expedia after a 7 hour drive from New York, only to find out the Negley st location was a remote building with NO STAFF Onsite, we had to climb back into our car drive several blocks to check in (during which time we had to double park in a small overfilled parking lot) after getting the keys ( labeled with room number/address on them so you better not lose them or anyone who finds them knows exactly where to go with no security to stop them once they get there, as there is no staff present) we arrive at the once 1920's apartment building turned "hotel suites" compliments of ikea. Our first impression was ok, nice, seems clean, lots of room, pretty good deal...we left the "suite" to go to dinner/drinks at the casino and arrived back 3 hours later around 12:30 am and to our dismay there was no parking at all in the lot or on any street within reasonable distance, so after 1 hour of trying to find parking we double parked in front of a non guest with no visible parking permit displayed. We also immediately called the "main hotel" (blocks away) and they assured us they would send someone over to assess or tow any unauthorized vehicles...and we waited...after 1 1/2 hours , now 2:00 am we tried to find additional parking within the area and nothing was available. After returning to the room we tried to adjust the air as it was 90 and humid and we were exhausted , only to find out the air conditioning is locked at 70 degrees and unchangable, ( seems cool in theory, but not at those outside temps) we went to the separate bedroom as they boast about "suite" and the room with 20 year old mini blinds and non blackout curtains did little to provide us with a comfortable room from the back street light bright parking lights. We were awakening by clanging pipes, banging guests that you can literally hear talking, and of course walking that sounds like elephants due to the old structure. After trying to relax and make the best of it we were reminded by the guests above below and next to us that we would not be able to do this. The heat, noise, lack of parking ..oh and sleep.. Reminded us of what a bad choice we made. As the sun rose through the crooked cheap mini blinds, and the elephants trampled over the bedroom ceiling, I decided to call Kendra "the manager" at the main hotel around 8:30 am to complain. Her response was " well, you could have called us at anytime to complain...not the answer I was expecting after a night of hotel hell. I responded, it's still early morning and I am complaining now..after 47 excuses as to what I did wrong I cancelled our reservation for the night as well as our family BBQ scheduled for the day and left a day early to drive back out of state due to exhaustion. I would not recommend this hotel location(Negley ave) as safety, security lack of NO STAFF ONSITE to handle any issues iS non existent. I'm sure they will another 47 excuses regarding there service and how their commitment to service is..don't waste your money it's not worth your time/sleep/ happiness while your on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Thomas E, Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are extremely disappointed that your experience was not satisfactory. We understand you were frustrated and it is upsetting to us that we were not able to find a better resolution for you. Your review pointed out a number of items that I think in fairness to other potential guest should be addressed.

When you booked on Expedia the listing for this location noted that checkin was at our main building three blocks away. We only recently added this location to our Expedia listing and had been pushing for that language to be in bold or somehow stand out to avoid this potential issue. Until Expedia corrects their layout, we have shut off availability to the 811 S. Negley Building.

Our keys do not show the address of the building you are staying in. The only item on the key is the suite number. We maintain a limited number of sets and if one is not returned after your stay or lost the locks are changed. Each building has a keyed entrance in addition to security cameras at every entry and exit. The camera system is monitored by our staff and recorded and archived. Much like other hotels with multiple properties we have staff all over the place. Staff is regularly in and out of each building at all times. We have staff available 24 hours a day at every building. All a guest needs to do is call and someone will be there to assist.

The buildings were built in the mid to late 1950s. As you noted they have been extensively renovated. The building you were in was last renovated in the spring when we installed a new elevator, new HVAC system, and updated and redecorated all of the suites, hallways, and common areas. While the exterior may not look like a building just built in the last few years, the internals of all of our buildings have been modernized. Each suite has both mini-blinds and blackout curtains in the bedrooms. We will check the suite you were in to see if perhaps the mini-blinds were damaged. These were all replaced in the last two years. Guests have a choice of using either the blinds or closing the blackout drapes. The HVAC system features dual zones in each suite. This is the first we have heard of a guest concerned it wasn’t cold enough.

At just after midnight you called our office about not finding a parking spot. Our standard procedure is to verify the number of permits we have issued for that location and send someone over to verify the lot. If a car is illegally parked, we call the tow company to remove them. After reviewing this incident we have determined that our procedure was not followed and the person sent to check the lot never completed the task. The fault lies with us and I am sorry we missed something. In light of this incident we have modified our procedure to avoid this kind of mistake.

Thomas E, we are sorry you had such a hard time. While you seem skeptical that we will give excuses about offering service try and understand that we take these kinds of criticism to heart. We have built this business by listening to our customers and responding. While we hate to see negative things about us we will use this as an opportunity to further enhance the service we can offer to the next guest. We urge you to reconsider and try our hotel again. Your experience was not typical and we would love the opportunity to show you the normal Shadyside Inn Suites experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After entertaining the thought of staying in downtown Pittsburgh on the July 4th holiday, we regrouped to find a place that was more economical and still catered to people looking for a suite rather than a regular hotel room.

Enter the Shadyside Inn.

Not only is the Shadyside Inn great for road-tripping with friends (and Phillies fans ;), it appears to be awesome for family and/or business travelers who prefer a great location at an affordable price (with a lot of extra room in case you don't like working in cramped conditions).

Upon our check-in, we were greeted by the front desk receptionist and offered a (free!) snack bag with granola bars, fresh muffins, juice, popcorn and more. We were also offered a Shadyside Inn 'VIP' card offering discounts on a return trip, and given maps and printouts for public transportation after we inquired about the bus system into downtown.

Though the Shadyside Inn is really a series of very old apartment buildings, beyond the slow elevator we didn't encounter any other problems. (No noise, like other reviews suggest. No real lack of parking, even though you only get one car permit per room. And the buildings are, for the most part, almost completely modernized). Our suite had a full living room, dining room, kitchen, two bedrooms and one full bath. The beds were quite comfy, the air conditioner was unlocked and adjustable to the liking of guests, and there were extra linens and towels stocked without the staff even being asked to provide them.

I'm sure people could nitpick about this place, but for the price...what are you complaining about? Yes, a family of four will have to take turns with one bathroom, but you'd have to do the same in a hotel. Yes, the elevators were slow. (We took the stairs). Yes, having buildings spread out across the street made for some interesting frogger-type dashes across a busy road (that's Pittsburgh's fault. Where are the crosswalk signals?). But for the price you can't beat Shadyside Inn. The bus outside ($2.50 per adult/one way) took us right downtown, where we walked to PNC Park and all along the North Shore. And it was only about 20-25 minutes to get back.

Shadyside itself is also home to many upscale stores and boutiques right near the hotel -- including a Starbucks (where we went for morning coffee).

We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: If you're worried about driving back across the street and/or hauling your luggage, ask for a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siggy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I hesitated writing a review about the Shadyside Inn....because when you find a gem like this, you are afraid too many people will find out and make it difficult to book the next time you're here...but they deserve the review...so here goes. We are here for two nights to tour Carnegie Mellon and see some sights. I didn't know what exactly to expect. We had friends recommend the Wyndham, but they were sold out. i couldn't tell which was the most 'ideal' location for us to tour the colleges, but this is perfect. We paid $180 a night, a bit pricey considering the CM discount for other hotels were $40 less, but still reasonable... we decided to give it a try because of its proximity to CM. What a find! It is basicallly a group of restored apt buildings within a few blocks of each other, and each suite/room is an apartment. I wasn't thrilled that the only room available had only one Queen bed, and a sofa that didn't pull out, which meant it would be a bit of a squeeze for the three of us, but they did provide a rollaway bed (not a wimpy one), and the sofa actually is long enough for someone to sleep on. When we pulled up to check in, the parking lot looked, as my son said "sketchy". But the actual check in area was very modern/updated. Our room/building was actually a few blocks away (sigh!) -- wish i knew that before we unloaded the car -- but really wasn't that big a deal. Our room on S. Negley St. is conveniently located by Walnut Street, where there are some high end stores -- Rolex, William Sonoma--and chain stores like Banana Republic, Gap, Chicos, and a nice array of restaurants -- Thai, Mexican, Sushi, Chinese, American, Frozen Yogurt..and cool coffee place...The room is quite spacious by NYC standards. It has a very nicely furnished bedroom with tv, a big enough living room that has a flat screen tv, dining room table, 2 couches, a small kitchen, plus desk, and room for cot to fold out, and a bathroom (not fancy, but as if you were at someone's apt). So, great if you need extra space and want to spread out vs staying in a typical hotel room. If you don't need a concierge right near you, this is fine. We used the shuttle to/from CM. It was easy, prompt and we didn't have to deal with driving. CM is less than a mile away. Oh, and we got a bag 0 breakfast when we checked in -- a nice touch -- a bottle of orange juice, apple juice, 2 muffins, 2 granola bars and mints. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Workdtraveler32163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello there, Workdtraveler32163, thank you for letting the secret out! We're happy to be the closest hotel to the heart of Carnegie Mellon University's campus, and the favorite "home base" for prospective students and their families! Many times, a family will discover us when touring the area, and then come back again and again over their student's academic career. With all the living room, kitchen, and bedroom amenities you described, our suites are truly commodious enough to house a family on the go, and our friendly shuttle drivers can whisk you to CMU without the fuss of parking or driving. Between a great location, spacious accommodations, and snazzy services, I hope we presented an amazing value to your family. We'd be delighted to see you all again if your son decides to attend CMU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#47 of 71 in Pittsburgh
43 reviews
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Property: Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing