We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, VA
19
Reviewed February 4, 2004

I recently stayed at the Shadyside Inn in Pittsburgh, PA on business and repeated my stay with my Family during the Holiday season while visiting friends and family. Having the convenience of a full kitchen saved us money and time from having to go out to eat all our meals. When we arrived they had a breakfast box with fresh baked goods, juices, coffee and teas already there. Also, the convenience of being close to downtown offices and area attractions was a plus. The staff is professional, and friendly. I'm beginning to feel like the Shadyside Inn is my new home away from home. Sincerely, M. Ghannam

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 619 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2004

Shadyside Inn have three properties. The room we got was in a run down building. The first room we saw had a smell of gas - but it didn't look they were really surprised, or that they care, for that matter. The room we stayed in was crappy. The furniture is old and cheap. The bedroom had no curtains - only the cheap plastic shades you buy at Home Depot and which don't block the outside street lamps. Thus, do bring eye covers. Even though it was winter, they did not take out the window A/C units, so all the cold air went in and we had a freezing night. Of course, the cheap nylon blanket (they have only one) didn't keep us warm. We couldn't sleep that night. One would expect to pay no more than $30 for this kind of lousy property. We tried to speak to the manager and left 4 messages but she never returned our calls. Again, they don't really care.

We moved to the Residence Inn at Oakland the next day. It's $99/night, and recommended, as is the Marriott Courtyard in Shadyside. In this case, thanks heaven for the big chains.

10  Thank Family2Honduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
18
Reviewed December 8, 2003

I usually never bother to post a story about a place I stay at but I had to write one about the Shadyside Inn. Upon arriving at the hotel I was surprised to find that the room was not your average hotel room. It was a full sized furnished apartment! I was fully expecting a standard room for the price I paid, not full sized suite. It was three times the size of a normal hotel room. The place was fully stocked with everything you could need! They even had a pizza cutter. Since I depend on using using my laptop while away I was really happy that the suite had an ethernet port in it with high speed access. Since I am used to paying for access at hotels (which is a ripoff) I could not believe the service was free. The people in the office were really great and the service was extremely friendly. If you are looking for a place that is not the standard cramped hotel look no further than the Shadyside Inn.
The previous review I have seen on this site must have had some bad luck because I could not have been happier with this place! My only complaint was that the breakfast basket they gave me did not include any low fat items like fruit!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
129
Reviewed August 2, 2003

I booked a room here for my mother to stay while she was here in Pittsburgh for my wedding. Their website boasted about how elegant their furnished suites are and how supposedly movie stars stay there while they are in Pittsburgh. When we arrived at the Shadyside Inn we found out her room was in a different building a few blocks away. It took about 20 minutes of driving around to find it because it was so hidden and also because we weren't expecting it to be a converted dormitory. The building smelled stale and the hallways and elevator weren't air-conditioned, which in the middle of July is a bit like riding up in an upright coffin. The room itself was simply a cross between a dorm room and a cheap apartment. There were only window unit air conditioners which must have been made in the mid 1970's, and when you turned them on it threw the circuit breakers. The plants were plastic and the artwork cheap. This was a huge embarrasment to me considering my mother was paying $120 a night to stay here. We quickly asked for a refund and left, which was the only positive experience in that they didn't refuse our money. So, in conclusion, avoid this place at all costs! It will only cause you to end up wasting your time and money.

29  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elegir a poder ser apartamento en edificio anexo. Es más tranquilo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaviroquai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamShadysideInn, General Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Virginie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamShadysideInn, General Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamShadysideInn, General Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $129 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing