We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible for Business not a Hotel rather Apartment Rental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible for Business not a Hotel rather Apartment Rental”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was just awful - if you are traveling for business, cancel your trip rather than stay here. Horrible check in procedure and they have several buildings you have to meander around to get your room. They offer you this corny “breakfast bag” and bottled water, but who can juggle all of that with a briefcase and suitcase out the door, around the corner, across the street and up the stairs to your room. I can't imagine any single female traveler would ever feel safe staying in this "hotel". They still use regular metal keys for entry and there is no staffing after 10 pm. They have unsafe electrical wiring - 3 prong power strips using adapters to plug into old 2 prong outlets and other otherwise overloaded extension cords. Loud un-carpeted rooms - mine had flooring coming up under the bed. The upholstered chair had a huge gross old stain on it of some sort. And the bed - what a joke, they try to cover up a mattress you would not even find in a dorm with a foam pad. The fitted sheets come up and expose the mattress and you can feel the old springs. I slept in sweats and sox. This place was just GROSS! I can’t wait to see the snarky response from the management on this horrible review. Trust me nothing has changed from the earlier horrible reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A great many business travelers cherish our hotel suites for their comfort, spaciousness, and location, so it is both surprising and saddening to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory, Charles253. With secure double locks, well-lit free parking lots, and a spot in Pittsburgh's most upscale neighborhood, our guests enjoy exceptional safety as well as comfort. In fact, Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel does have a night manager available at all hours, our staff is always happy to assist with luggage, our wiring is checked regularly for safety, our mattresses are replaced annually (often receiving rave reviews), and most importantly: we care very much that each guest has a comfortable stay. If you are ever unsatisfied with your suite, please let us know as soon as possible so we can offer you a different suite or else refund your reservation. To wait until after you leave is to deny us the opportunity to make things right for you, and hopefully earn your business and respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    134
    37
    27
    25
See reviews for
264
82
32
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I loved the suites. It was just like home and the bathroom was excellent:)
People are very kind and they give a cute welcome breakfast bag as you check in which was a nice late night bite for me:) The bad was vey confortable and they have mouth wash beside shampoo. It was great. Plus free internet;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi Selin M, thank you for writing such a kind review! We want everyone to feel like they're at home with us, whether they're visiting from across the street or across an ocean! Part of that ready-made home experience is having the towels and toiletries you might need waiting for you in the suite, and of course effortless WiFi is just a basic necessity at this point. Please come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I liked the layout - had a connected dining room and a kitchen with stove, refridgerator, etc. Typical of an older Eastern United States building (radiator, etc.), but plenty clean. They gave us a bag of breakfast items - a cute spin off traditional breakfast provided by hotel. Included parking, which I've found is a precious commodity in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Anonymous3048, thank you for your review! Sometimes the hallmark of a job well done is simply that we've succeeded in eliminating anything to complain about! Our residential-style full kitchens certainly help us stand out from the crowd of toaster-sized fridges, and that breakfast bag with muffins, juices, and granola bars is just one way to start filling that fridge up-- we have dozens of takeout-friendly restaurants just two blocks over. Parking is more precious than pearls in the popular parts of Pittsburgh, so I'm pleased you procured a place with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlkaplan@comcast.net
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are seeking a great value, a tremendous room and don’t mind a short drive downtown, please try the Shadyside Suites.

The guest quarters are actually closer to a small apartment with kitchen, sitting room with a couch and dining table. The room must have been renovated recently – it was spotless with brand new furniture. The TV has HD, which is a big plus. I felt like I was at home.

It’s clear the owners care. For example, the bathroom fixtures were very stylish. In a shocking development, I was handed a welcome bag containing two bottles of Tropicana orange juice and two granola bars. The four star hotels can’t compete in these areas. What a treat to wake up and have a cold orange juice immediately accessible. Not happening at the Omni, Westin, Renaissance, etc.

The location in Shadyside is fantastic. Many cool restaurants are within walking distance.

Please know there will be some clunky aspects. It is definitely non-traditional lodging for the business traveler. There are multiple buildlings that isn’t the easiest to navigate with limited parking available. You aren’t going to receive any full service property amenties. There’s no gym, of course. When I asked for a copy of the bill, I was told it could be e-mailed. Unusual, but insignificant.

We business travelers need to patronize properties like Shadyside Suites. It puts the pressure on the absurd pricing of the 4 star hotels. The Omni was available for $350/night while I paid $135 at Shadyside Suites.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello dk3434, many thanks for your thorough and glowing review! You represent the vanguard of business travelers who are discovering the exceptional value and comfort Shadyside Inn Suites can bring to their time in Pittsburgh. With our unbelievably spacious suites, prime dining location, premium furnishings, lean pricing, and personal touches, I think we compare quite favorably with the downtown competition. For fitness-oriented travelers, there are excellent gym and yoga facilities alongside those restaurants you visited just two blocks away.
The owners are indeed deeply engaged, and they're working to enhance many of the services and amenities that are dear to your fellow business travelers-- expanded room service, upgraded free wifi, and improved breakfast bags are all underway. Thanks again for contributing your perspective (and photo!), and we'll look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just what we needed in the right location. Surprised by full kitchen. Nice touches in decor and free wifi. Not a bed and breakfast though - a hotel. Walkable to walnut street - cute shopping - but Fifth street itself not very walkable or crossable. Very happy with our stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadSHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello tripadSHF, thank you for your snappy and superlative review! Many guests are similarly surprised by the honest-to-goodness, adult-sized kitchen in every suite. People tend to either bring back leftovers from the fine restaurants you alluded to on Walnut Street, or pick up groceries of their own and assemble a home-cooked meal even while they're far afield! I would encourage guests crossing Fifth Avenue to do so at the light-- because Fifth Avenue connects directly to the university neighborhood of Oakland and from there straight downtown, you can expect it to be a bustling thoroughfare throughout the day. Our staff puts a lot of work and love into making our big suites as pretty as possible, so many thanks for saying they're beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the minute we arrived the staff made us feel like they genuinely wanted us there. The homemade cookies, bottle water and goodie bag for the following morning were a wonderful touch. The location in the heart of Shadyside was a definite plus. I can't say enough about this hotel which actually was more like renovated apartment buildings with lots of character. We had a 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen. Everything was very clean and well kept. It is also just two blocks away from shopping and food. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice place to stay for a great price. I was reluctant to write a review because I didn't want people to know what a great place this was, for very selfish reasons I might add. I decided to review because hotels with such great personal service and affordable prices are few and far between. If you stay here you will not be disappointed I promise!

Room Tip: Any room here will meet you expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello turbobabe, we are indeed genuinely glad you stayed with us, and now we're doubly happy to read your review! Thank you for enthusing about our enviable location in Shadyside and our spotless suites, as well as our exceptional value. As an independently-owned hotel, all of the money that you put into us stays right here in Pittsburgh-- instead of passing profits up the corporate ladder, we spend it on improving our suites, supporting our friendly staff, and keeping our prices exceptional! Thanks for sharing information about us, and hopefully we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are great, spacious, like small apartments and very clean. Bed was comfortable, service was friendly. The only drawbacks were due to the age of the building. The electricity when out in the main room so I had to use only the bedroom portion. Maintenance couldnt figure out the problem so I ate in the dark! And there was a lot of noise from upstairs neighbors. I could hear their child rolling a toy across the floor and I could make out entire conversations.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the top floor to avoid the neighbor noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello amymeri, thank you for writing about your experience with us, and for recommending our spacious suites and our cleanly, friendly service. Most importantly, I'm very sorry that we fell short of making your stay perfect in several crucial ways. I understand that you declined our offer to be moved to a different suite-- if there is anything unsuitable about a suite that we can't resolve immediately, it's our policy to offer the best available suite as soon as possible, so you can eat and rest in comfort. This policy applies to noisy neighbors as well: as soon as we are told of a noise concern, we are happy to contact other guests and encourage them to be more quiet, and offer a different suite if necessary. With a few minor hiccups (of which you unfortunately were the victim), we've managed to keep our buildings in shape and upgrade our suites to be more comfortable than ever. With that in mind, we would love the opportunity to show you how quiet and shipshape our suites normally are-- please consider coming back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#50 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Property: Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing