We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My secret place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My secret place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I travel to pittsburgh almost every month and I always stay here. I love the apartment feel of the rooms, I love how close it is to walnut st. I always go out to eat and go to the gym or to yoga and i can walk from here. It is always clean and staff always friendly. I will say the noise can sometimes be an issue from the streets and the room air conditioners are a bit annoying. Over all i love staying here and will continue each month I am in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABS1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi ABS1030, thanks for making us a little less secret! Being a repeat guest means you've had the chance to find some of the great places on nearby Walnut Street that might be missed on a first visit, like Amazing Yoga. They're constantly winning "best of Pittsburgh" surveys, and freshly-invigorated yogistas are a common sight at the many fashionable cafes along Walnut Street! "X Shadyside" is the name of that gym just two blocks from our suites, and they're great. Many thanks for spreading the love, and we'll look forward to your monthly return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    134
    37
    28
    25
See reviews for
266
82
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this location while at a PGH hospital with a family member. Very comfortable, and "cozy" apartment like feel. Spotlessly clean and a pleasant surprise. Close to shopping (if that is your goal) and will stay here again - next time for pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hey JPanther, thanks for the review! Sleeping away from home while visiting a family member in the hospital can multiply the stress of an already challenging situation, so I'm glad that our clean and cozy apartment-style suites set you at ease! You had a lot on your plate this time, so spotting some of the great opportunities for shopping and fun around Shadyside was an accomplishment! Thanks again for thinking well of us, and we'll look forward to your return under sunnier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My stay was fantastic. The rate was as good or better than a hotel for my 4-night stay. The customer service was great and the apartment space was perfect. I was able to prepare my own food because of the kitchen, whereas in a standard hotel I would have to rely on restaurants. The location is ideal for anyone visiting Pittsburgh's east end - probably elsewhere too. I plan to stay here on my future trips to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Virginia J, you have our thanks for such a clear and positive review! It's amazing how empowering a kitchen in your suite can be: you can concoct a tasty and economical home-style meal with supplies from a nearby grocery, or extend the life of the cooler items you packed for your road trip. You can say "yes, please!" when the waiter asks if you'd like to take the rest of your scrumptious meal home from one of the restaurants on Walnut street. Every single one of our suites has a fully-equipped kitchen like the one you enjoyed, Virginia. Pittsburgh's east end is blossoming with new businesses, dining options, and cultural attractions, and we're excited to welcome anyone who's visiting there for the first or fiftieth time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife, son and I moved to Pittsburgh from Washington DC earlier this year in February. We did not want to commit to a full year lease by renting an apartment or home as we were looking to purchase a new home. To our delight, we found the fabulous folks at the Shadyside Inn Suites. It is a fully furnished apartment suite and all we had to bring were our clothes, some toiletries and our kid's toys while the rest of our belongings remained in storage in DC until we finally moved to our new home just last week.

We stayed at the Shadyside Inn for about 5 months. It was perfect as there was a fully functional kitchen with stove top, oven, microwave, sink, counter space, cooking utensils, pots, pans, silverware, plates, cups, etc. There also was full service laundry facilities onsite and we utilized the wash & fold service along with dry cleaning many times too. There is room service for those nights we did not want to cook.

The apartment was perfect. There were two HD TV's, DVD player, comfy couches, new HVAC units that kept us toasty in the winter months and comfy and cool during the warmer months. The hallways and office were recently updated too and the place was very attractive. I liked the fact that there was not carpet in my suite which meant it was easy for the cleaning staff to dust.

The Shadyside Inn location is amazing as it is spitting distance from the many shops, restaurants, coffee shops and bars on Walnut Street and Ellsworth Avenues. We were also very close to Squirrel Hill and Oakland too.

The front desk staff, management, housekeeping staff and maintenance team were all really nice and all went out of their way to accommodate us. They even bought our son a birthday gift during our stay.

We loved the fact that they took interest in us as guests and made sure we were all happy. In the office there were goodies to snack on and cold bottles of water were always available to drink too.

We loved our stay at SSI and hope that more folks enjoy the establishment as much as we did.

Thanks to everyone for all that you did. We miss you, but plan to pop in soon to say hi!

Thanks.

Mike W

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Mike, thanks so much for writing such a thorough and heartfelt review! We tremendously enjoyed supporting your family over these last few months, and you've been really kind in describing our friendly staff and all of our amenities, from the new HVAC system to our room and laundry services, right down to the full kitchen's pots and pans. Seeing you all walk through the flowered courtyard with your adorable pug dog and energetic son, it was clear that you made the absolute most of your time in Shadyside, from the restaurants on Walnut Street to the nearby parks. It would be a delight to have your family swing by the office some day for another round of free water and cookies or to just say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Shadyside Inn several times since our daughter moved to Pittsburgh. Each time has been in a different one of their three buildings, and the experience has been great each time. With included off-street parking this really makes the Shadyside Inn and Suites our go-to place to stay in Pittsburgh. It is walking distance close to many restaurants and stores and it is a good place to stay if it is only my husband and I or we bring the whole family. It is clean and well maintained with crisp linens and plenty of towels. I love being able to have breakfast or snacks prepared in our own suite with foods we have brought. Make sure you check for Univ. of Pitt move in discounts!

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to book a suite when traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Cleanie, thanks for writing: we love to hear from repeat guests, and proud University of Pittsburgh parents especially! Because it's such a popular shopping and dining destination, Shadyside can be something of a parking disaster zone, so we're glad to provide our free parking lots as a safe haven! We'll pass along high-fives to the housekeeping staff for keeping your suites crisp and clean as always. If you're visiting your daughter at the University of Pittsburgh, I'm sure she appreciates a little taste of home when you prepare food in our full kitchens. Finally, that was a good tip to your fellow University of Pittsburgh visitors: we know that if we can win the hearts of Pitt parents, we'll be seeing you for years to come, so we consistently offer discounts for family coming to visit the University of Pittsburgh. Thanks again, Cleanie, and we'll look forward to seeing you and the whole family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a trip to Pittsburgh, during which we stayed at The Shadyside Inn for one night. Originally, we were going to stay downtown in a Hampton Inn (simply because I travel a lot and know it's consistent), but when they tacked on a $15/night parking fee, I decided to look for another option. The Shadyside Inn was one of the places that popped up on TripAdvisor, and it turned out to be perfect for us. The Inn offered a 10% off coupon for Tripadvisor users, and when I called to make our reservation, the lady could not have been nicer. They also offer discounts for visitors to the local colleges/universities, which is excellent. The location was ideal, within easy walking distance of the Shadyside shops and restaurants. We checked in an hour early, but they happily accommodated us, even upgrading us to a two-bedroom suite! It was a fabulous surprise and gave us plenty of room to spread out and relax. The breakfast bag we received upon arrival was a delightful touch, and with a full kitchen, we were able to brew our own coffee in the room and enjoy breakfast on our terrace. For those looking for a more robust meal, Pamela's Diner is just a few blocks away as are several coffee shops and bakeries.The room was clean, the a/c was powerful (which was vital this summer!), and everything looked fresh and updated. It was also extremely quiet. For those people looking to support local small businesses, I encourage you to ditch the chain hotels and try The Shadyside Inn. You won't be disappointed - we will most certainly be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehotbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Attended a wedding in Pittsburgh, spent 2 nights at the Shadyside in Pittsburgh and it was a great experience. It was a one bedroom suite with a small kitchenette and living/dining area. Although it was an older building, it was very well maintained. At check in the staff was friendly, attentive and efficient and the price for the room was very good. The goody bag was a nice touch! The cleaning staff asked at the end of the first day if there was anything more we needed. The location was convenient to the colleges;shopping and restaurants were just a block away on Walnut Street. We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the main site have air conditioning units in the wall (quieter ?) while the unit we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nieb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Nieb5, thanks for reporting back to us about your stay throughout the wedding festivities. It's a great pleasure to discover that you left Shadyside feeling that we covered absolutely everything you could have asked for! You were situated at our 811 S. Negley location, which is definitely a mature building that we work to keep in tip-top shape along with modern furnishings. The suites there are so close to Walnut Street, you can almost roll out of bed into a Banana Republic or a fine restaurant! If you know anyone else who's getting hitched, here's hoping that they're also tying the knot in Pittsburgh, so you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#50 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Property: Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing