We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We recently stayed in the mansion suites, they were amazing! The design and decor was very modern, and the view was great as well. The staff was great, we needed more towels and they sent them right over. The location was great a few block walk to a lot of shops.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 629 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the Shadyside Inn and Suites this past weekend to visit my daughter who is a junior at the University of Pittsburgh. We stayed at the building on S. Aiken and Fifth. My 2BR suite was very large and was more like a furnished apartment rather than a hotel room which was very nice. Never stayed in a place like this before and it was indeed a pleasant surprise given some of the mixed reviews. Given my experience, I am not sure where the negatives come into play. My "room" was tastefully furnished, extremely clean, and the staff was amazingly accomadating and helpful. Having a full kitchen was an extra bonus and we actually took advantage of it. I wish I knew about this property earlier. I would recommend to all of my friends and can promise you that I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elb3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very strange place -- exactly like a student apartment, except that we haven't been students for many years! Overpriced -- a 2 BR was $200/night on a weekend. TINY bathroom, antiquated kitchen. Poor housekeeping - after one night, the housekeepers didn't bother to wipe down the sink or clean the few dishes in the kitchen. Paper thin walls and hardwood floors so we could hear the people upstairs loud and clear at 11:30 p.m. We had no choice -- it was Family Weekend at Pitt and the other hotels nearby were sold out. Won't stay here again. We'll book earlier and go back to the Mariott Residence Inn with a hot breakfast and good housekeeping (and significantly less expensive).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aam1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Owner at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

aam1964,

I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at our hotel. Anytime a customer is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that the next guest doesn't have the same experience. First let me apologize if another guest was being too loud. All our buildings use concrete construction for both the walls and the floors. In an ideal setting this ensures that sounds from neighboring suites don't travel through the walls. A loud neighbor at 11:30pm is unacceptable and you have every right to be upset with us. We recently switched from carpet to hardwood floors. So far it has been positive and noise has not been an issue. We made sure that we used a product with a rubber undercoating to act as a sound deadening material. We are going to have the suite above where you stayed looked at by our flooring installers to make sure we didn't miss something in the installation of that suite.

As you know it was a very busy weekend here in Pittsburgh. Prices of all the hotels in the area were extremely high. As a rule we generally do not mark up our suites to try and take advantage of these situations. Hotels sell out very fast and this becomes an issue of supply and demand. I hope you understand that our prices for a two bedroom suite are actually less expensive than standard hotel rooms. Given our location, the size of our suites, and free parking we try our hardest to be a value to consumers.

Our words can only do so much to try and make up for your unpleasant experience. We take this kind of criticism very seriously. Please contact us so we can try and make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and I were in Pittsburgh to visit my niece who's a student @ Chatham Univ. We found the location of the Shadyside Inn a plus. It is less than two blocks from campus. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite in the "F" bldg on the 4th fl. There is an elevator in this building It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. There were five of us so we had to get a rollaway bed. My only complaint is that they need to update their rollaways. My 13-yr old son slept on it and thought it was a little uncomfortable. They also need more parking. But the staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. I called the office 6:00 saturday morning during the snow storm, requesting more towels and five min. later, we got a knock on the door with someone bringing our towels.

We will definately be back. Worth every penny and we also received the Chatham Univ discount, so it was less than the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator. You can hear the mechanisms through the living room wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittymc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We usually stay at the Marriott on Bigelow (Residence Inn). Opted for this place for a change. Desk service was great - more "office style" than walk up desk. Small classy breakfast bag with a muffin and some sweets to get us on our way in the morning. Place was great - clean - and perfectly fine. AC unit was quiet. If you were expecting a Marriott or similar big brand hotel - just go stay at one.
We'll be back - GD

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

In general, weekend hotel rooms in Pittsburgh are surprisingly expensive. There are not many hotels in the Shadyside neighborhood, and none that I'm aware of that are a 2-minute walk from the thriving Walnut Street shopping area. That being said, we found the quality of these accommodations nowhere near commensurate with the cost ($200/night, including a rollaway bed that our friend described as a "torture rack"). The apartment was like a tired college dorm, the bed small (double, not queen or king), the mattress was quite uncomfortable, supposed free wi-fi undetectable, and the hallways and room itself smelled stuffy. On the plus side, the staff was friendly, there was a free shuttle.

Room Tip: If wi-fi is an issue, don't stay in the Negley Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Shadyside Inn Suites recently served as ‘home base’ for my husband and me during a long weekend of visiting our daughter at college and attending Pirates, Pitt, and Steelers games. Normally, we would stay closer to campus or the stadiums but hotels were booked due to the busy sports weekend so we decided to try something new.

After lugging our bags up steps, through a courtyard, up some more steps, into a building, and up more steps (it’s Pittsburgh, after all), we found the office for check-in – where we discovered our room was in the Annex across a busy street. We soldiered on rather than go back to our vehicle as parking was inadequate for the amount of guests (twice we were forced to park in restricted areas and hope we didn’t get towed). So, with the Frogger tune playing in our heads, we dodged commuters and city buses, climbed some more stairs, found an elevator (yeah!), and entered our room.

Similar to a starter apartment, it was compact and inexpensively furnished but very tidy and stocked with the basics (though an extra blanket would have been greatly appreciated since the duvet was rather lightweight). Had we planned to spend more time in the suite, the amenities would have come in handy – and kitchens are great for pre-tailgating prep work. But our priorities were easy access to campus (not bad) and to the stadiums (not great), a place to park our vehicle (almost non-existent), and a place to park ourselves at night (I’m fairly certain the beds and pillows were as old and hard as the building and the neighbors noisy, drunk, and apparently locked out – Hey, Stella!).

So, depending on your needs, Shadyside Inn Suites may be just the ticket. But it’s not the golden ticket – and not a do-over for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 73 in Pittsburgh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $124 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing