We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were a bit concerned by some of the previous reviews, but we really wanted an apartment, and we liked what we heard about the neighborhood. We had no reason to worry. The place is old but hardly run down. To our eyes, everything seemed clean and well-maintained. The front desk staff was personable and helpful. The rooms were large and recently renovated. The furniture and facilities were attractive and in good repair. We had no complaints about our lodging at all. One small irritation was a couple of student-aged neighbors who would block open the exterior door while they smoked in the garden. Their smoke, unfortunately, did not stay outside with them due to the open door. I had to go down and close the door repeatedly. The only other minor irritation is that the (free) parking spaces at the rear of the property are incredibly small. Getting in and out was difficult.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenThereDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thanks for the review; we're excited to have exceeded your expectations! While we don't always agree with some of the negative reviews online, they do give us the opportunity to surprise guests with the quality and freshness of our suites!

As for those outdoor smoking neighbors, always feel free to contact the front desk if a fellow guest is acting less than courteously-- our staff is glad to ensure that others' smoke stays outside.

Finally, we're sorry about the close-quarters parking-- Shadyside's popularity for shopping, dining, and fun means that parking space is famously in short supply, so we try to squeeze in as many complimentary spots as safely possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 619 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Last weekend we stayed for two nights at the Shadyside Inn. Prior to booking I checked out the Tripadvisor opinions and found them to be mixed. As our favorite hotel was unavailable, we decided to give it a try. Accomodations are in old converted apartments, hence the mixed reviews. Our rooms were clean, well furnished and reminded us of short term military housing. The kitchen was well appointed for a short stay, and again very clean. The linens were crisp with plenty of towels and convenience toiletries. For someone needing short term housing, it could provide a comfortable stay. We are in the midst of planning for an upcoming college graduation party and initially thought these apartments might be a nice venue. Our visit changed our minds as we want something more upscale. Would we return for a routine visit to Pittsburgh? If we need a reasonably priced place, including a kitchen, yes. For the price we paid, we got what we needed. Nothing fancy, but functional. Shadyside is much like an European 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Be very specific about size, efficiency, number of bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for trying us out, and for your thoughtful review! Our unique location and facilities are certainly a step beyond the ordinary, and we appreciate that you described our dedication to cleanliness and comfortable furnishings. As a venue for a college graduation party, I would recommend instead our Mansion Suites-- entire houses in Shadyside refurbished with luxury in mind. For guests staying at our primary facilities, you can take advantage of the many nearby restaurants and bars for their social events, and then return to the Shadyside Inn for a good night's sleep.

If we're like a European hotel, we aspire to the great service and high comfort of an exclusive all-suites hotel in Luxembourg or Andorra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I was in Pittsburgh to say goodby to some family moving west and again stayed at Shadyside Inn. I felt like I was remembered and treated like an old friend . The staff made sure my every need was met and the apt. was beautiful. It was nice getting food from nearby resturants and sitting with a few friends on a couch and at a table instead of on a bed like a regular hotel room. I tell everyone going to Pgh to stay at the Shadyside Inn

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decaftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thanks so much for visiting us again! We're glad we could help you have that "hanging out in the living room with friends" experience that's so hard to find when you're traveling. Now that your friend's moved, we hope you'll find some other reason to come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

As a new visitor to Pittsburgh, I didn't know what to expect from this inn. I usually stay in chain hotels because one knows what they will be getting when they arrive. I chose this inn because of its proximity to Carnegie Melon and the discount it afforded for the university guests. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this inn. The front desk was courteous and kind. They addressed our every need and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Although the van service ended at 8:00 PM, they allowed us to use this service beyond the time due to the circumstances of our late arrival and newness to the surroundings. The 2 bedroom suite was comfortable, had air conditioners in the living room and master bedroom, and an overhead fan in the second bedroom. I asked for a quiet room and that is exactly what they gave us--an inside room that was away from the street noise and any other elevators or entrances. The kitchen was supplied with all that you need to cook and prepare good meals. The living room had a comfortable sectional and chairs that viewed a large LCD television. The telephone had its own answering machine, which made it helpful for the business we were conducting. The exterior door locks and the additional locks on the room entrance made me feel secure. I will come back here again in the next year.

Room Tip: When making the reservation include notes for individual tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2trvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I visit Pittsburgh every year to visit friends and we always stay at the Shadyside Inn. The rooms are more like apartments with full kitchen and are always very clean and comfortable. We can walk to the shops and restaurants, which are only a few blocks away. Thanks to all the staff who were so nice and made our stay the perfect get away!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goadam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have stayed here several times never been offered a discount for Pitt, although I have mentioned I have a student at Pitt. Never will stay here again. This whole establishment needs a makeover, the buildings are old and very outdated. Halls and common areas are hot and smelly. Anyone cooks in their room you will smell it for days. Staff and housekeeping have tattoos, look shady. Do not delay on the morning of checkout, at 11am they start pounding on your door and every 15 minutes thereafter until you are ready to scream.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank labfaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadysideInnSuites, Manager at Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

We're sorry that you were unsatisfied with your most recent stay. Guests who are visiting the University of Pittsburgh are definitely eligible for a discounted rate if they request one at check-in. While we regret that the hallways were warm, with currently record-high temperatures in Pittsburgh, we focus on keeping each suite cool and comfortable. Our housekeeping policy is to not knock on doors until you have stayed past your scheduled departure time.

The Shadyside Inn's housekeeping staff is effective, trustworthy, and respectful-- skin decorations such as tattoos do not, in our experience, reflect negatively on their professional performance or the quality of their character.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I travel a lot for work and unfortunately sleep in hotel beds more than my own. Most hotels I frequent seem sterile and forgettable, but not the Shadyside Inn. I stayed here for the first time two years ago and haven't stayed anywhere else in Pittsburgh since then. All of their rooms are suites and have a small kitchen and living/dining room area. You can't beat the space you get for the price and it feels a lot like home. I have only had one small issue with a key not working but the friendly woman behind the desk took care of the problem in only a few short minutes. Clean, affordable,convenient, friendly staff...what more can you ask for?? I would recommend this hotel to anyone...and I have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentchase32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 5405 5th Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $122 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel is situated in the upscale neighborhood of Shadyside in Pittsburgh, PA. We provide comfortable, fully-furnished residential-style suites near some of the city's finest shopping and dining. You can stay for one night or many months and always receive the services of a friendly hotel in the comfort of a ready-made home. Suites feature a separate living room, full kitchen, housekeeping service, wireless internet, free off-street parking, local shuttle service, and much more. Our exquisitely central location places you within a mile of Pittsburgh's many universities, hospitals, and cultural attractions. Two blocks away are Walnut Street's fashionable shops, scrumptious restaurants and vibrant bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Shadyside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing