We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pittsburgh
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveler rating
651
410
169
66
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
651
410
169
66
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking front desk forbes avenue carnegie mellon visiting pitt shuttle service medical center convenient location within miles walking distance valet staff free shuttle checking out per day in town diane cmu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the room a month a head and when time to check in I did it on line. I suppose to get room 400. But when I got there we got room 914 on the last floor. The room was well. But we can not sleep because the noise from the HVAC was loud all night. The only disappointment is the noise. Thank you

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank sophonlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPittUnivPlace, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for recently commenting on your stay. We apologize you did not receive the room selected with digital key as our proximity to UPMC Hospitals does sometimes require our inhouse guests to stay an additional night changing the digital key rooms. We hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you again and please feel free to reach out to me personally should you need any special requests as we will try our best to get you a comparable room if the digital key room is not available! Lindsay.collier@hilton.com. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Hilton Garden Inn is a new-ish hotel in an old building. While the building’s overall design is a bit old, the owners, and staff try very hard to keep things up to date. That said, the hotel appears t tiny bit dated and will likely need to be renovated in a year or two.

The Oakland (University Neighbored) is ideal with lots of food and fun venues.

Overall, the hotel filled my needs...but

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank East-mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPittUnivPlace, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for recently commenting on our hotel. Fingers crossed, our renovation will be at the end of 2020!!! WOOHOOO!!! Thank you for commenting on our staff and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

This hotel was very clean and the staff was super friendly. The locations was excellent! It was within walking distance of food and the college campus at Carnegie Mellon where we were attending a competition.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank jwagner552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPittUnivPlace, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you for the great review! We hope your competition at Carnegie Mellon went well. Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Oakland and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Great location near multiple good restaurants and other amenities & great valet parking service always. Hotel is ten minutes or less from everything. I have stayed at this specific location many times.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank tt20202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPittUnivPlace, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you so much for staying with us when you are in Oakland. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to serving you again when you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Excellent staff! Our first experience was with the front desk staff at this hotel & she was very friendly and pleasant. Next were were greeted by the hotel valet service and were taken care of quickly. Rooms were well kept & clean. Location is close to Pitt University & South side venue.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank lauramA7047PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPittUnivPlace, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

From all of us here, THANK YOU for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and we thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. We hope to see you again when you're back in Oakland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews