We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When my wife and I arrived, she had a debilitating migraine,a nd I had food poisoning - and our three kids were running wild. the staff took immediate control, calmed my kids down, offered us lots of help, and we could not have survived without them. Kudos!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Asssitant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Matthew K:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours truly in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for business or personal travel. Located in the heart of Oakland, PA, just minutes five minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, you are in the middle of all of the businesses, hospitals and universities. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very nice and the food is good. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Collin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Collin U:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am delighted to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay and that our location provided you with the luxury of convenience. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true “Home away from Home” hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our entire team believes in going above and beyond in order to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable experience like yours.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A good solid hotel experience. No complaints. Centrally located to universities. Clean and comfortable. Nice valet service. Kind of wished there was a pool/jacuzzi. Really loved the comfortable beds and nice linens. Was hoping there was pay per view movies on the tv.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Diane N;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am delighted to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for amenities that were not offered throughout your stay; however, am very happy to hear that we met your overall expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My first impression was when we were greeted at the parking ramp. The valet staff was very helpful and friendly. Then our check-in was easy and fast and we were greeted with smiles. When we checked in our room, the maid service was awesome! The room was really clean, the Bed spread was washed. We took advantage of the shuttle, everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, this was an unexpected service but was nice to have due to all the snow. I felt bad that not everyone using this service didn't tip the drivers. It is a free service up to 3 miles. We took the package PARK, EAT and GO. This package is conveniently priced.
If you are visiting University of Pitt this is the Hotel for you. The ONLY "Con" is the comfort of their mattress on a scale of 1 to 5, 5 being the best, I would give it a 1. Even with the dial for soft to hard. It was the worst mattress I have ever slept on. To the staff at Hilton Garden Inn University Place you all were so nice, kind, and fun. Keep up the excellent customer service!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Lisa M:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered regarding the Garden Sleep System bedding package we offer. My hope is we will have the opportunity to make up for the issues you encountered and have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I unexpectedly stayed here one night in January when my flight home from Pittsburgh was canceled because of snow. As a result I checked in at around 5:00 when my business for the day was completed and was met by Chris. His name tag said something to the effect that he was new, but he was very well trained. He welcomed me, asked if I needed any information, and told me about the hotel. When I asked about convenience toiletries since I was staying overnight unexpectedly, he immediately retrieved a variety of items for me, including a toothbrush, tooth paste, hair comb, mouth wash, etc.

Later when I asked about the hotel's shuttle and whether it could take me to a restaurant that I had heard of, he immediately told me that it was within the 3 mile radius of the hotel and asked what time I wished to go.

This stay could have been very unpleasant given the circumstances, but Chris, his smile and his trainer saved it.

Room Tip: The platform that my bed was on was too large for the room as a result I whacked my knee pretty hard...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank use_2_love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear use_2_love_2_travel:

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with Chris and the entire team. Given the unfortunate circumstances of your stay due to weather delays, I am very pleased to hear we were able to provide you with a postive and hopefully memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hopefully it is not due to an unexpected delays. Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located and priced, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Their shuttle service was also terrific and their driver was most pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and the overall appearance of the hotel was neat. The only complaints are there was no way we could turn off the blower to the heat in our room so it seemed a bit noisy and made it feel a bit drafty; and the breakfast we had there was way overpriced and not worth the money (homefries were dry). These things were not a deal breaker and we would stay there again. Even the beds are adjustable to accommodate for the firmness to suit your comfort level.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear 4Guest22;

Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your current visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. We strive to be the best at what we do and I am very happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I think we enjoyed all the features the hotel had to offer - from the shuttle, to the gym, the bar and the made to order breakfast buffet in the restaurant. The Staff was extremely helpful in making it a great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 4Guest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear 4Guest22:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were team members were able to make a positive impact during your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $146 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing