We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Comfertable night at Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was Christmas party Night and we got chance to stay here, was nice and clean Room. though no hotel parking( Free ) you have to pay to hotel to park in their garage.($15.00)xtra. close to Carnegi Museium and music hall, close to all nice places you need to go. hotel shuttle service available.....

Room Tip: if you are in town, give a try....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalpesh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear kalpesh59,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with the overnight valet parking we offer. We will review your comments and suggestions with our team members in order to implement change where necessary.

Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.

Best,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

From the moment you walk into this hotel, you realize it has been updated, but still has an old feel to it. The check-in desk from the street requires you to walk up a flight of stairs. The front desk personnel were awful, extremely bland with absolutely no personality. The room walls were extremely thin and any type of noise could be heard from the room next door. Although wi-fi was free, it was horrible - terrible connection. Asked for some shaving cream hoping someone could bring it up to my room, but was informed I should come down to get it. Location is close to the University of Pittsburgh and they have a shuttle (however, you must sign up before hand and also it only leaves on the top of the hour) - that makes it extremely inconvenient if you have a meeting on the :30. Wouldn't stay here again with these problems and would find other options in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear natedawg4040,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. i assure you that your comments will be reviewed by our executive team and corrective action will be taken where necessary. We are so sorry for all of the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights. TV only had a few channels the first night and the bed was unusually terrible. Otherwise, it was clean and has a good proximity to UPMC. I took the public bus from the airport. It was a little long but cheap and easy. I like the kurig cups in the room.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank HungryClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Hungry Climber,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action where necessary.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Best,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I regularly visit Pittsburgh because my husband is a transplant patient at UPMC.. We love the convenience of the location but most of all we love the staff!! They are so friendly, helpful and very caring.. Love having the Van Service to take us back and forth to the hospital... We have always had clean rooms, helpful staff, and the restaurant/bar is wonderful! Only negative I would have to say is I personally think charging to park your car daily is a bit much especially if you never move it out of their garage.. Don't like the parking but other than that I love this hotel!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pdubb0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Pdubb0911,

First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your visits to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true “Home away from Home” hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoy the services your receive. Unfortunately, due to our urban location we do charge for the overnight valet parking we offer. However, as an option for our guests we also offer reservation packages that include parking and other amenities and can be booked via our hotel website. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the parking issues and hope that the alternative booking methods are beneficial for your next trip.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found the hotel staff excellent and very, very helpful. The location is great. Near 2 universities, botanical gardens, museums, restaurants and city park, The hotel is well maintained. clean and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is the cleanliness of a property, and our team takes great pride in keeping both our guestrooms and public areas spotless for our valued guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit for your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had a last minute trip to Pittsburgh and stayed at the HGI in Oakland. The staff could not have been nicer and the room was very well furnished. The front desk offered free shuttle service and extended parking. They recognized me as a diamond member and offered to do anything to make my stay more enjoyable.

Valet was very polite and efficient. Great job Pittsburgh HGI!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylynn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. Our team takes great pride in delivering top notch service for all of our guests and especially for our valued Hilton loyal guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Hospitably yours,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a leaky sink that water flooded the entire bathroom. The mattress was too thin, the Queen bed is more a full size bed. Too small for two people. The parking is valet, it is not convenient to get the car in and out. Never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place during your recent business trip to the area. We appreciate your feedback, and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. We appreciate the insight so we can address and resolve the issues you mentioned. We strive to ensure all of our guests have positive experiences during their stay and we failed to deliver in your case. Thank you again for your feedback and once again my apologies.

Sincerely,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $133 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing